We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A class act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Orsula

Save Saved
You added Villa Orsula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Orsula
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Frana Supila, Dubrovnik 20 000 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location 10 minutes walk from Dubrovnik itself and yet offering stunning sea views in a quiet position. The Victoria restaurant offers an excellent breakfast and dinner and the rooms are well appointed. However storage space for clothes is limited. All the staff are unfailingly helpful and friendly. The hotel private "beach" is actually a platform beside the sea so there is no sand and access is via steep stairs so not suitable for children or the elderly with mobility constraints. It is expensive to stay at Villa Orsula but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are the only ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaOrsulaConcierge, Villa Orsula Concierge at Villa Orsula, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a nice review obout our Villa Orsula.
We are very glad to hear that you liked your stay with us. It's our concern to make our guests staying enjoyable as possible, from first contact until the end of their stay.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again in near future.
Wishing you all the best, with kind regards!
Sincerely yours,
Adila Hebib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is attached to the Grand Hotel Argentina, but it feels like a boutique hotel in every way. The rooms are marvellous, and the suites are even better. Incredible views of the sea and the old city walls. Service was impeccable - actually, better than perfect if such a thing is possible. Breakfasts were outstanding.

It's about a ten minute walk to the old city of Dubrovnik, and a beach club is literally minutes away. The pool area at Grand Hotel Argentina was lovely, though towels were scarce.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Villa Orsula for 5 nights in September 2012. The drive from the airport was a pleasant one (30 mins) with a surprisingly friendly and chatty taxi driver.

The general Grand Villa Argentina reception area was bright and the floor-to-ceiling windows gave us a brilliant view of the Adriatic Sea and Lokrum Island. Check-in was quick and hassle-free. Upon walking into the Villa Orsula wing of the hotel we were warmly greeted by our concierge Adila Hebib, who proved to be an amazing guide during our entire stay. It’s not often you become friends with hotel staff but Adila was such an approachable and genuinely caring character that we couldn’t help but develop a bond with her.

Our room was fully renovated and had the most breathtaking view of the Old Town – we even had a small terrace on which we watched the sun set every evening, while guests dined in the upmarket Victoria Restaurant below. Complimentary fruit and macarons were replenished daily and the room amenities were luxurious and modern.

Breakfast is served on a private terrace for Villa Orsula guests and the view is beyond words – the Old Town with boats and cruise liners dotted along the coast was a truly spectacular sight. Our waiter every morning was Miro, and he welcomed us every morning with a smile and went out of his way to cater for our every need. Again, most staff are super attentive and always happy to have a chat and offer advice.

The pool area is the pièce de résistance of the whole complex. The beds and umbrellas are plentiful and scattered along various levels and rocky outposts for those who like to live on the edge (literally!). The pool is there for those who prefer it, but the sea is the star of the show. Access to the water is quick and easy and the water is crystal clear and refreshing. However, the one thing I must mention is that the pool boys are completely ignorant of guest's needs and seem to prefer playing with their phones, smoking cigarettes and staring into the abyss. They will not help you find a bed or bring towels unless you ask, and only wander around the pool sporadically - so if you want to order a drink its best you get up and let them know.

The hotel is a true 10 minute walk to the Old Town and even at over 6 months pregnant I was able to make it up and down with no problems – even multiple times a day!

In a nutshell, GVA Villa Orsula is a premium location in Dubrovnik and we would definitely come back again. It would be nice though if Villa Orsula has its own reception/check-in area (that may be something for the managers to dwell on?!). A special thank you once again to Adila for making our stay even more special – you are a gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

What an outstanding way to kick off our holiday this year with Villa Orsula in the coastal town of Dubrovnik. The reservation manager of the hotel group was very attentive and had already arranged for pickup when we stepped out of the airport. A sign of things to come.....

We were dropped off at the Villa Argentina hotel lobby as Villa Orsula does not have its own hotel reception area. Check-in was efficient and immediately following our check-in, the hotel manager showed us our way to Villa Orsula, which was connected with an indoor passage. At first, we were a bit concerned having seen the condition of Villa Argentina (a bit old and boring) but the manager kept reassuring us that "we would see the difference" (perhaps having seen the expression on our face!?). And finally we saw the difference.

Villa Orsula was a historic architecture built in 1939 but recently re-constructed and remodeled in 2011 by the hotel group. It was probably a mansion owned by someone rich. The hotel only has 13 rooms but that's the beauty of it - nice, quiet and exclusive; exclusive when it comes to its swimming area, lounge, garden etc.

The moment we stepped out onto the balcony, we were immediately greeted by a stunning view of the Dubrovnik old town and the Adriatic Sea. I definitely won't get bored waking up to this view everyday!

Service here was excellent. There were complimentary fruit, macarons and bottled water waiting in our room every day. There was an outdoor lounge and restaurant in the courtyard garden right behind the hotel, where breakfast is served every morning till 11:30am.

Swimming in Dubrovnik is a must for all tourists. There is a small swimming area exclusively reserved for hotel guests. The indoor swimming pool from the neighboring Villa Argentina is also an option.

Last but not least, the location. The hotel is conveniently located on the Frana Supila facing the beach. Walking to the old town takes approximately 10 minutes with other attractions also within walking distance. Needless to say, we will love to come back for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were picked up from the airport in a Merc and that seemed to set the tone of the holiday.We were upgraded to Villa Orsula.The room was very well appointed with the large headboard of the enormous bed forming the room divide from the wardrobe and dressing areas which led onto the very large and luxurious bathroom.Beautiful fittings and luxury fabrics were used throughout.
The hotel is in a fantastic position ,right on the Adriatic coast......2 strides from the swimming pool and down steps into the beautifully clear warm sea,and about a 10 minute stroll to stunning Dubrovnik town.
Food at lunch was ok in the hotel but only 10 minutes walk if you want to eat elsewhere.Evening meals at the Victoria Restaurant fantastic.Beautifully cooked food,great service and seating overlooking the sea and the old town.
An amazing place....can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We arrived at the hotel at the tail end of our holiday in Croatia, after staying in a variety of hotels and pensions, and were immediately impressed by the service, friendliness and location of the hotel. We stayed in Hotel Orsula.

We were upgraded to a suite, as it was our wedding anniversary, without requesting this and left a complimentary bottle of wine and congratulatory welcome letter. The suite was lovely and the decor inkeeping with the architecture of the building. There was a lovely balcony circling the room with views of Dubrovnik old town.

The hotel offers a pool and sunbathing area, again with a beautiful view of Dubrovnik old town, perfect for relaxing and chilling.

We also ate in the Victoria restaurant on the night of our anniversary and had a fabulous meal with lovely service.

  • Liked — The location and amazing views
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Orsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orsula

Address: 14 Frana Supila, Dubrovnik 20 000 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Orsula 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This five-star boutique hotel is a successor of a traditional Mediterranean villa, built in 1939. Secluded by its seafront gardens, the hotel enjoys private beach and spectacular views of the Adriatic and Dubrovnik city walls - just doorsteps away. Vintage elegance of its 11 rooms and 2 suites gives all the modern comforts and an intimate atmosphere.The cornerstone of this secluded enclave is highly-personal service, with some special touches such as a la carte breakfast on the summer terrace of Victoria gourmet restaurant, luxury cosmetics, and a small library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Orsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Orsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.