We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pucic Palace to your Saves list
The Pucic Palace
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Od Puca 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MARCH LAST WEEK SPECIAL
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely hotel. Our room was on a corner overlooking the square where there was a farmers market each morning that disappeared at lunchtime. Double glazing stopped any early market noise. As Dubrovnik is full of cruise people during the day it was wonderful to have a mid town oasis to retreat to. Great breakfast and comfy bed. They could have provided more than one bottle of water for our two night stay. A bit pricey but no other choice in the old town. It was my husbands birthday and they picked that up from his passport and gave him a lovely present. Very impressive.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    47
    11
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
123
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to stay within the walled city, this is for sure the best place. Other than hostels and B&B inns I have not come across any other hotel. Since there is no car traffic allowed inside the old town, you will be picked up by a porter just outside the main city gate. You then just stroll along and arrive at the beautiful place 5 or so minutes later. The location is perfect. You are in the middle of the hustle and bustle of this intriguing medieval city. The staff at the reception is knowledgeable and friendly. They gave me excellent dinner and lunch recommendations (Posat, Rosario). They also have their own wine bar and two restaurants. I tried all of these places. They were impeccable. The service on the terrace, where you'll have breakfast, is a bit inattentive and slow. The staff does not appear to be too motivated, but that adds to the charm of the place. When you think of the hardship that these inhabitants had to go through during the war, you just don't want to come down too hard on them. We are so spoilt as Western tourists in general, we cannot even fathom how difficult and frightening that time must have been for everybody back then. The rooms and associated amenities may not quite be what you would be used to from staying at 5* hotels in other parts of the world. However, this should not prevent you from staying there. It's the overall experience that counts. Yes, it is expensive, but well worth it in my opinion.
If you are a foodie, try the oysters from Ston and the Black Risotto. These are typical and/or unique dishes from Croatia. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: This is the type of hotel where you can ask the concierge to show you a couple of rooms, if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A small boutique hotel in the heart of historic dubrovnik.Touted as one of the best hôtels in Dubrovnik it lived up to our expectation. The decor is historic and comfortable the bathroom had a large copper bath. There is a lot of attention to detail in the furnishing of these rooms. The hotel could benefit from having some brochures about local attractions or tours but this is a minor detail

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location inside the walled city, but rooms are tiny - really just a bed and a TV in a EUR400/night room.

We only had one evening in Dubrovnik so I'm glad we stayed in the city, but if you had more time I would recommend staying outside to get more choice and better accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in an equally beautiful building right in the heart of beautiful (though crowded) Dubrovnik. Our welcome was good and our very comfortable room, at the front, on the third floor, had splendid views above the square and out over towards the cathedral. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. One slight disappointment was the hotel's Defne restaurant where we decided to eat as we had not arrived until early evening. Though the food was ok the atmosphere, compared to the vibrant feel of the city outside, felt somewhat dreary. The entrance was flanked by a wobbly, folding room screen above which hung lines of washing. When people finished their meals the tables and chairs weren't tidied but left rather scattered about. But I hugely enjoyed my stay in what is, literally, a palace in the best location in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Definitely the best location ever: inside the walled town near all the touristic attractions .Helpful staff, good breakfast, clean room, wonderful toiletries.I would highly recommend it. The hotel has a beach club ,free of any charge within walking distance.

Room Tip: the best ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Deuseana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Pucic Palace on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you had wonderful stay in our hotel and that you liked it so much.
Thank you once again for choosing hotel Pucic Palace for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely yours,
Mirjana Kovačević
sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Hotel Zagreb in Lapad where the service was exemplary. As a treat for our last night we moved to this hotel. The building is beautiful as are the rooms but at €500 per night I don't expect to be having an argument about whether or not I placed a drinks order. At these prices everything should be flawless. It wasn't and I'm not happy. Service needs to be improved by a considerable margin. Waiting staff were rude, unfriendly and incompetent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Address: Od Puca 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pucic Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.