We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, nice hotel, in need of some updating here and there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Dubrovnik Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Paris
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, nice hotel, in need of some updating here and there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As I write this review, the hotel is closing for 6 months of modernization work, and imho this is probably a good thing. The views from the hotel are amazing, their pool/spa area is beautiful and the staff are friendly and accommodating. I was there for a conference - the facilities are good and the catering was perfectly adequate. As it was right at the end of the season, the restaurants were closed except for providing us with breakfast, so I cannot pass comment on their normal restaurant fare or service, but I would imagine it to be in keeping with the generally high standard of the place. The rooms are relatively small - especially as I just noticed that they position themselves as a 5* establishment - but they do all have their own very private balcony. The bathrooms are a good size and will definitely benefit from some modernisation. The hotel is about 10 mins by car/bus from the old city which is a shame as it is far enough that you won't want to walk it (and anyway, not a very attractive walk), so one does feel a bit "out of touch". However, the old city is beautiful and you can eat well there and wander well for a while.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    335
    106
    35
    16
See reviews for
127
543
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as a short break and it was wonderful, check in and reception services throughout was fine, staff are lovely and very helpful, room was fine but we paid for superior room, view was wonderful but would say standard room would be just as good but a bit smaller, breakfast is okay, we ate in the restaurant near the pool , bit pricey but food and service very good, the location of the hotel is wonderful the view is stunning, we watched the sunset each night sat on our comfy sunbeds next to the very calm and stunningly clean and beautiful sea, sea in fact was a bit nippy for a swim in October but okay after a few minutes, we went on 23rd Of October and the weather was lovely {did not see one cloud} the hotel was quiet when we visited and we would recommend visiting at this time as we imagine in summer the hotel is very busy. We used the spa and it was excellent. There is a public bus stop outside the hotel and such got us to the old town in about 15 minutes, so don’t use a taxi for visiting town. All in all would highly recommend this hotel, it was ideal for us as a couple and for the first time in 15 years we had not one reason to complain about anything, and even when our toilet seat became loose in our room it was fixed in 15 minutes!! Hotel is very clean in all areas, rooms are a bit boring and could do with some bling but believe me that is a very minor grumble, however the views, the sunsets, the Croatian people and the old town will make you wish to come back again and leave you with many thoughts of return. If you’re visiting Dubrovnik it’s wonderful, so clean, and so beautiful and with this review hopefully you can tell we fell in absolute love with the place, if you want something different, do what we did and chill by the sea at this lovely hotel during the day and visit the old town in the evening, so romantic. There is plenty to do and see for people whom want to be a bit more active than us, so it ticks all the boxes for a great holiday!!

Room Tip: Use the bus outside the hotel - in the old town on the main street turn left after the fortuna cafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed in this hotel as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. we stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. it is an amazing hotel. we felt like princesses throughout our stay. everything was done to perfection. could not find any fault in the hotel while we holidayed there. Breakfast was amazing every morning so much to choose from . variety of food catered to everyone's liking. stunning views from the hotel. always deck chairs available by the pool with complementary towels. bed sheets turned down at night time with chocolates left on pillow. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of October. It was our first trip to Croatia. We arrived an hour before check in time and we did have to wait for our room to be prepared but the room was an excellent size, very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had expected to dine out and around the Old City but infact enjoyed the variation and the service so much that we dined at the al la carte restaurant on the four evenings we stayed. The views from the rooms, from the poolside and the restuarants are just stunning and the sunsets are fantastic. The service was excellent. Being a diver, I used the Blue Planet PADI Dive Centre located within the hotel premises and I can fully recommend both the hotel and dive centre. The hotel is in an exceptional location and at the end of a regular bus route into the Old City, meaning that residents can easily access restaurants and activities within the Old City. The outdoor pool and facilities were excellent. We were not aware that there was an indoor pool which I would have used on the one day of stormy weather had I known.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having never visited Croatia before, I'd done some research for a really good hotel near to Dubrovnik. As members of tripadvisor had mentioned the no. 4 bus picking up right outside the hotel, we chose this hotel as the photos of the hotel on the Internet looked amazing. We weren't disappointed. After the taxi dropped us off & we walked into Reception, the view through the large windows was amazing! However when we entered our bedroom, we were disappointed. Despite requesting a high level room, there was a large pine tree right in front of our balcony obstructing the view. We went back to Reception & requested another room. Although this had a lovely view of the Elaphite Islands, it was in the shade. Eventually after looking at a third room, we were happy. This was on level 9, not far from Reception. When you sat up in bed you felt you were on a cruise ship as you looked straight out to sea to the Lighthouse & Islands. What a view! The staff were so friendly & efficient & the food was very good. The location of the hotel made it for us. The bathrooms could do with an update & this is in hand over the winter months.

Room Tip: Request a room on level 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

What was not to like about this hotel! Amazing views, lovely rooms, and the #4 Bus right outside the door that runs every 10 minutes to Old Town Dubrovnik. Although we did not use either the indoor or outdoor pool several in our group did use the indoor pool and enjoyed the ability to relax and unwind after a long day sightseeing. We choose to sit in the bar and enjoy relaxing enjoying the views of the Elaphite Islands while sipping a drink. (see pictures attached). We did eat in their upscale restaurant which was excellent. Service was first rate. If we are ever in Dubrovnik again we would make sure we stay here again.

This hotel is unique in that Reception is on the top floor so to get to your rooms you have to press the down button. Took a little bit to get use to but with such amazing views it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights in this hotel, and was lucky enough to be upgraded to an executive suite. The hotel was gorgeous, pool area was fabulous. All of the staff were pleasant, friendly and professional, with the slight exception of the staff of the swim-up bar who made no effort to be friendly or even interact beyond shoving a menu at us and waiting impatiently for us to order.
We ate in the Masalina Tavern - great food and great service. They were very busy but very attentive and apologised for any waiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dubrovnik Old Town, situated on the peaceful Lapad peninsula lies the Dubrovnik Palace. Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.