We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views & very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views & very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for anyone wanting to get away and relax, great views from everywhere, clean, great facilities and quite flashy! The breakfast is also a highlight of this hotel and the staff here always make you feel welcome. We enjoyed of stay here although a few minor things made us not rate this place as excellent.

One thing that did annoy us were the bar staff at the pool seemed more interested in talking to each other and telling each other jokes than attending to us. A couple of times on a number of different occasions I had to yell out to get some service. Also don't ever order the "selection of fine cheeses platter" from the room service menu, we were looking forward to this platter with our wines but were disappointed when we realised is was about 8 small slices of 2 types of cheese which cost us 85kn.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    413
    124
    41
    18
See reviews for
169
691
40
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Let's get the bad points out of the way first....I reported a broken safe and a broken bed on day one. We were promised both would be attended to. By the last day of the holiday neither had been attended to which was disappointing to say the least. Second, I think the rooms are dated and need an overhaul. The carpet was worn and clearly needs replacing. The bathroom is small but clean and functional. Three external pools are advertised but we found one was always locked up and we couldn't access it. I wanted a spa treatment but the two I picked were not available as two staff were on holiday so I left it in the end.

But then the good bits - location location location! Sea views from every balcony (ask for a room with views not obscured by trees); the pools are clean and the sun beds and towels plentiful. You can relax and listen to the calming sounds of the Adriatic and you can swim in its clear blue waters. The spa pool is cool and relaxing and we had it to ourselves on the last day!

What can I say about the breakfast in the hotel? Well if you eat it you won't need lunch! The choice is huge and the cooked to order omelettes a real treat. Fresh fruits; dried fruits; pastries; cakes; meats; fish; cereals with several milk choices including soya; eggs; pancakes; breads; and all served with endless supplies of coffee, tea etc. Wonderful! Staff friendly and helpful in the restaurants although I found reception staff a little less friendly and more reserved.

The regular bus service to the old town is reliable and clean. Buy a Dubrovnik Card to save on bus fares and entry to several attractions.

Don't miss the cable car ride and the war museum at the top. Very moving and well worth the visit for the museum as well as the amazing views.

A beautiful country and overall a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the fantastic location on the rocky coastline looking west towards the Elaphite islands across the crystal clear waters of the Adriatic. Although it was about 3 miles from Dubrovnik Old Town there was a local bus service that ran straight to the Pile Gate and could not have been easier.

The hotel is modern with lots of glass and marble and every room has a sea view and a balcony. There is a good sized pool with a waterside bar which was great for cocktails in the afternoon. Although there is no beach there are numerous steps down into the sea and the water was beautiful to swim in. There was the opportunity to Jet-ski and other water sports but we didn't partake, just too much else to do. There was an excellent looking Spa but again we didn't use so I can't give that an excellent.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was a wonderful feast as you would expect from a 5-star hotel. I don't doubt that any of the 4 restaurants would be great for evening meal.

Our holiday was made perfect by 2 things: first the staff - all of the staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly and we were made to feel special and very welcome from the moment we stepped inside until we left. Special mention to the 2 girls on guest relations who booked tables at restaurants and advised on road trips that really helped and also our receptionist who was able to tell us the good news that they would upgrade us to an executive suite! We absolutely loved the room, so much space and a huge patio outside as well, just marvellous.

Room Tip: We booked separately rather than go on a package trip. I'm sure you get a great deal but the tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Every room has a stunning sea view which would lift anyone as you open your curtains in the morning. The staff are very accommodating. Remember this is Croatian 5 star so not probably as high spec as you would expect but I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived here 21 June for a week's holiday to discover that somewhere along the line the booking for our daughter's single room had been lost. The hotel was fully booked and so they put us into one of their deluxe suites which was truly amazing. Two large double bedrooms, two bathrooms and a huge sitting room all surrounded by a balcony with not just table and chairs but sunbeds also. We were on the sixth floor on a corner so the view was fantastic. The staff were all very friendly, the food at the beach bar was great and the breakfast buffet selection was excellent. We ate one night at the restaurant by the pool which was lovely, very atmospheric overlooking the sea and the sunset. Unlike some other visitors we had no trouble finding sunbeds and a parasol. There are two tiers of terraces just up from the pool which suited us better as there was intermittent dappled shade from the very hot sun and the sunbeds there were never all used. A couple of tips - if you use the bus to go into the Old Town buy tickets from reception where they are slightly cheaper. And if you take the day trip to Montenegro - which is wonderful - take euros with you as they only accept this and a couple of us had trouble getting money from the ATMs there. If you like classical music there are concerts nearly every night in one church or another in the Old Town. They only last about 50 minutes and are a lovely thing to do after a meal and before a nightcap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After wanting to go to Croatia for 2 years and a many friends recommending to go and stay at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, we decided to book. We are so pleased that we took our friends advice, the hotel is lovely, the reception staff are very pleasant and helpful, our hotel room was clean and tidy (although I agree with some comments on here that it could do with being updated) and then there was our view...... We have never had such a fantastic view before, photos do not even do it justice!! It was my partners Birthday whilst we was away and after being out for the day, there was a tray and Birthday letter to him and on the plate, was a Birthday cake for him. Lapad beach is lovely, its not a very big beach but perfect for what we wanted. There is a bus right outside the hotel which only takes about 15 minutes to get to Dubrovnik town. The town is great and has lovely little restaurants and bars and I love the little side streets that make it so quirky. We walked around the city wall, although I would recommend going early morning to avoid the heat midday, great photos can be taken here of the surroundings/views around the city wall. We went on the cable cart on the last night at sunset which I was so pleased we did, again the views were just breathtaking up there, once you are up there you can relax at the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and especially Croatia itself, would love to come back one year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for a week half board and cannot rate the hotel or staff highly enough. Choice of pools or the sea, loads of terraces and beds with as many towels as you could use. We had an excellent room with a fabulous sea view, very good breakfastvwithblots of choice. Would definitely return

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.