We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from room and reception/ bar/ lounge area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great views from room and reception/ bar/ lounge area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel apart from a few niggles:
1. I prefer a walk- in shower, rather than having to clamber into the bath first.
2. The breakfast was a little disappointing for a 5 star hotel. The juice dispensers were topped up from (long life?) cartons in front of guests. Could jugs be prepared in the kitchens?
The bacon looked very fatty, the sausages looked like small frankfurters and the potatoes were cold. No beans or mushrooms.
On day one my 'vegetarian' omelette was prepared in the same pan and using the same implement as for ham omelettes. Eek! Having pointed this out to the manageress, this was rectified the next day.
The yogurts were a little basic. I prefer creamy Greek yogurt.
I like a pot of coffee rather than to have to keep asking for a top-up.
One long moan? I suppose so, but having stayed in a number of 5
star hotels, I'm offering this as helpful advice so standards can be raised.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    347
    107
    36
    16
See reviews for
130
552
32
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The main thing to recommend this hotel is the spectacular view which you're greeted with upon entry, however, the excitement is short lived as if your experience is anything like our's you'll be met by a stoney face receptionist who demands passports and tell you sit down 'over there' while she checks to see if your room is ready. No offer of even a glass of water after a 16 hours journey. No 'you're welcome to Dubrovnik'. She has a real prison officer feel about her.
The bedroom is narrow, dated and the carpet is stained, though the staff do keep it very clean and work very hard. I hope they are paid in accordance with the ridiculous price of the hotel. The balcony which all the rooms have is large but there are no sun loungers, just uncomfortable seats and you're overlooked also the view, at least on the 2nd floor, is obstructed..
I found the hotel relations person extremely helpful and lovely as were some of the serving staff in the morning, but at night was a different story, again cold and abrupt and a couple of them were very rude, it's as if they're being forced to be there against their will and have nothing but distain for the guests, the food had been cooked for hours and was dreadful.
It is not a 4 star hotel, maybe a 3 star, but certainly with 5 star prices. Two coffees - over 7 euros. Lunch for two - almost 80 with two glasses of wine and the desert never came nor did the smoothie and no apologie.
This holiday was five years in the making and we went to great care to pick a hotel based on good reviews on Trip advisor which hasn't let us down in the past, but this time it was alarmingly off. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for four days on a holiday that we had won and our first impressions were wow!.. The view is out of this world, anywhere in the hotel the view is just amazing! The hotel is spotless, modern and gives off a good vibe. We were on the third floor of the hotel, i would say that third floor and above gets the best views. Our room was massive with a big king size bed, you could easily fit four people into it! It included a television, mini bar, hairdryer and safe. It was cleaned daily and if you wanted fresh towels everyday you only had to put your dirty towels in the bathtub. We always came back to a chocolate on our pillow each night we were there which was a nice touch. The buffet breakfast was average, there were more than enough choice. Fresh omelettes and fried eggs to order. The bacon and sausage let it down a bit though, Fatty bacon and little hot-dog sausages, not nice. There were breads, pastries, fruit, salad, cheeses and hams, assortments of cereals, nuts and berries. We never ate at any of the restaurants so i cant comment on those. The pools and Jacuzzi were nice both indoor and outdoor. The spa was so relaxing, it smells so nice! we went up in our robes and slippers and had a relaxing swim with steam room and sauna for a while. The gym looked good too, all up to date weight and cardio machines. I will definitely be returning to Dubrovnik Palace one day just to see the view again! Its so chilled out and staff can't do enough for you! (Little tip - if you are smoker, the bar in reception area sells cigarettes as i know there isn't a little shop in the hotel)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Several friends and family had recommended we stay at the Dubrovnik Palace and had spoken so highly about it I'd started to think it all sounded too good to be true! However, I've now joined the club - I would definitely stay at the hotel again. The room was ample in size with lots of storage space, and each room has its own private balcony (see if you can stay on the 6th floor or above for the best views). There is a real variety of places to sit outside and enjoy the views whilst soaking up the sun, so despite the week getting busier during our stay we didn't feel like we were on top of other people at any point. There is a range of restaurants and bars on site, as well as a comprehensive room service menu. The location is great, the nearest town is a 10-15 minute stroll down the hill and the bus to the centre of Dubrovnik/the Old Town departs from outside the hotel and takes 15 minutes to get into town - it also runs until midnight which was helpful! Having spent some time in the Old Town I would definitely chose this hotel again rather than somewhere more central, as you get the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A large modern hotel that offers great swimming pools inside and out, a nice spa, good a la carte restaurant on the beach or the general restaurant where we suggest you go for the chef's prepared dish of your choice.
Service is first class, with nice bars, a very helpful travel agency, a diving school, small shops for basic needs as well as clothes and jewelry.
The bus stops just in front of the hotel (end of the line) so you get a seat and it takes 15 minutes to get to the centre of Dubrovnik. Bus service is very punctual, clean and runs 3 times/hour from early morning to late at night.
Swimming in the sea is possible and the hotel is situated at the end of a cul de sac so very peaceful.
Highly recommended and enjoyable with beautiful views from all the rooms. we suggest a higher floor to maximise the sea outlook.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I didn't want to leave the hotel! Truly an amazing experience all around and staying here made our trip one of the best we've ever been on. We are a family with 2 boys ages 11 and 14, they were occupied the entire stay with the outdoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, outdoor beach area, indoor pool/jacuzzi, weight room. I can't wait to go back when the Adriatric is warmer so our kids can enjoy snorkeling right from the hotel. Staff were excellent, especially the Maitre'D in the breakfast room. Breakfast was out of this world delicious, buffet with omelette station and so much variety of pastries/fruits/cereals/hot foods to choose from-no need to eat the rest of the day! Our room had a sea view, I couldn't stop staring out the balcony each moment, small islands and lighthouse made for rest/relaxation. Hotel is 1st stop on city bus route which takes you directly to Old City and you can buy tickets at the front desk (cheaper than on the bus). Services were a bit pricey (spa treatments, other 2 restaurants) but well worth the cost for the convenience and total ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I accept that I cannot blame the hotel management for the behaviour of hotel guests but management should really have stopped "The Tribe" of uncouth, loud, inconsiderate and ignorant Americans who took over the outdoor swimming pool and unbelievably drank to excess and smoked continually actually in the pool for 2 consecutive afternoons. Not a pleasant experience for considerate guests. I do so wish they would stay in their own country.

Apart from this incident, The Palace was a well run organisation, with pleasant and helpful staff. They even managed to book an emergency dental appointment for my wife on a Sunday morning. Something that could never happen in the UK.

The only negative comment I would make about the hotel facilities was the lack of a coffe shop style facility that served tea/ coffee/gateaux/pastrries etc and simple snacks such as burgers, and sandwiches.
The hotel is also well suited for the No 4 bus with a terminus at The Old Town and the other just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dubrovnik Old Town, situated on the peaceful Lapad peninsula lies the Dubrovnik Palace. Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.