We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but very crowded.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dubrovnik Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Resort Romance
Ranked #13 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, but very crowded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there in June and the hotel was full. We liked our room, but at the breakfast was too many people so we had to stay in a line to get eggs and another food. And all tables were busy, we had to sit with an old man.
Also have to tell its not a place for quiet rest. You can hear everything what's going on outside.
Next time we will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    290
    93
    30
    16
See reviews for
107
470
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dubrovnik Palace IS out of the way. On the one hand that's a good thing because you get uninterrupted views of the Adriatic and it also means a restful night's sleep. On the other hand, it does mean you can't just 'pop out' for a meal in the old town for instance as its quite a distance away. The major plus is the local bus ends and starts its route right outside the hotel and takes you to the old town. You can buy bus tickets from reception.

I agree with some of the reviewers here on the hotel staff. Some were absolutely lovely but reception in particular could do with a personality transplant. They weren't rude but they did not smile nor welcome us which for a 5 star hotel is the least to be expected.

Back to the actual hotel, the panoramic views from the bar are amazing - the bar and it's staff were also good. Every room has a balcony and a view of the sea which is breathtaking to wake up to. The rooms are pretty small but clean and well laid out.

Breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent and the chefs and staff there were very nice, helpful and friendly.

The hotel has a really nice outdoor pool as well as a heated indoor pool and spa. There are several restaurants too.

Ignoring the reception staff I would return for a short break at the Dubrovnik Palace just to pamper myself in the spa and I would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we had a wonderful time at the hotel. we liked the position on a headland with glorious views over the sea and the islands. walking in the pine woods was great. Swimming in the sea was wonderful although the entries could have done with a regular scrub as they got slightly slippery. Contrary to other views we enjoyed being out of the old town- the bus starts right outside the hotel and it is about 15 mins into the city. we felt able to pop in and out whenever we wanted. The lifts were occasionally crowded but we only had to wait a couple of times over the 2 weeks for a second lift. The pool area was large and there were lots of loungers- yes people did put their towels out early in the day but we were always able to find somewhere easily most days and, when we couldn't, the pool attendants were happy to sort things out for us. The breakfast was ok but we weren't tempted by the evening buffet. we ate i the bistro where the freshly caught fish was delicious. The pool side restaurant was also good at lunchtime although slightly pricy. Many evenings however we walked down the hill into the small ton where there were lots of good and cheap restaurants. a whole, freshly caught sea bass for £8 was remarkable and wonderful! the rooms were clean and spacious and the views from the balcony were just fantastic. we found the staff friendly and helpful on every contact. altogether it was a great holiday and the hotel was just right for us!

Room Tip: all the rooms hav great sea views and sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We can understand most of previous reviewers' comments; however, we couldn't fault the staff, whom we found friendly and helpful at all times.
Maybe we were lucky by going out of season (and getting an upgrade), but for us it was excellent value for money: rooms large and very well-maintained, Most of all, a fantastic breakfast (nobody seems to have mentioned this recently). As the weather was vile (late October), we ate in the downstairs restaurant one evening: pleasant, but limited, and not really value for money. Excellent indoor pool and spa facilities: wife thoroughly enjoyed a massage.
Location: just about walking distance from Lapad beach; from a shopping centre (not easy to find); and from a group of very good bars in Lapad which we had seen from the bus. To get to or from the Old Town requires a taxi or bus: bus service (Route 4) very good, every 20 minutes, takes 15 mins. Having said that, I'm not sure the Excelsior or Argentina would be much better, each is a fair way out of the centre.
The view from the rooms out over the bay is superb: watch the sun setting and the cruise ships leaving and arriving.

Room Tip: Make sure you get sea-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What we liked:
- the rooms were clean
- view of amazing sunsets
What we didn't like:
- pretentious and condescending behaviour of staff, which bordered frequently on rudeness
- too far from old town. You really had to plan to go into town. Couldn't just go in for a quick lunch
- we had massages and I had waxing at spa. My massage was cut 15 mins short due to poor timing on the person waxing my legs. Yet I was still charged full price. Services were mediocre at best. Pool area was nice.
Stay at grand villa Argentina! There is no comparison - unless you like to pay $300/night to be treated poorly

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August and I have been hesitating about writing a review because I want to be fair to the hotel and staff. I was somewhat disappointed, but this is probably because our group was supposed to be at the Bellevue, but we were moved at the last minute to this property. I felt like we were victims of a bait and switch, although if were were told that this was the hotel where we'd be staying from the beginning, I probably would have been happy with it. So, my feelings are negatively colored to begin with.

The rooms are spacious, and we had a magnificent view. Wifi was great. The concierges were charming and very helpful with directions, restaurant reservations and recommendations, etc.

They advertise L'Occitane toiletries, and we got inferior products instead. (I had been looking forward to the L'Occitane hair conditioner, so this was a let-down, if you can believe it).

The elevators were very small for a hotel of this size, and at times we had to wait for another one, or had people really squeeze in - like the NYC subwy.

The breakfast was fantastic - an enormous buffet of wonderful hot and cold choices, and the service staff was pleasant and efficient. We ate all of our other meals elsewhere in Dubrovnik or Cavtat.

The location was inferior to that of the Bellevue as we had to take the bus into old town, rather than have the freedom to walk. Being the first (or last stop) was probably a plus. We really wished we were at the Bellevue when the Dubrovnik festival let out and a crushing madhouse of people were trying to get on the buses. And I admit, we could have taken a cab. Otherwise, it was OK.

Now here's the single biggest negative, and one that actually ruined my experience here, and that the hotel absolutely had the ability to prevent - THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH LOUNGE CHAIRS BY THE POOL AND THEY ALLOW PEOPLE TO LEAVE THEIR THINGS ON THE CHAIRS FOR HOURS. I moved some towels off a lounge chair, as my husband had the chair next to it for 45 minutes and said no one was there and there was not another empty chair anywhere. (Well there were plenty of people-less chairs with towels on them). The people next to my husband, who had been there even longer said that they hadn't seen the person who had reserved the chair. So wouldn't you know, about a half hour after I sat down, a guy came and demanded I get off his chair. When i said I was sorry, but he couldn't expect to reserve a chair for the entire day, he proceeded to pick the chair up with me in it, throw towels at me, etc. Are you kidding? Where was the hotel staff?
(The irony was that he and his girlfriend(?) had actually been reserving three chairs for the two of them - one had her bathing suit laid out to dry).

Anyway, I won the battle of the chair as his girlfriend calmed him down and they took off. I realize that most people would not have behaved this way, but it soured me on this hotel. Either get more chairs, or collect the towels that have been sitting there for hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

So glad we chose this hotel as the location/view truly is special and facilities are 5 star. We left our balcony door open and went to sleep each night/woke each morning to the sound of waves lapping onto the rocks. Not suitable for young children or those with mobility problems (like Dubrovnik itself). Would not like to be there when the hotel is full - probably not sufficient room for everyone to sunbathe. No such thing as a beach in Dubrovnik - just ladders into sea water by rocks. Hotel has private area by rocks with a ladder down into waist high sea (rocks under foot). Old town and its attractions are 10 min away by bus (approx £1 each trip), bus stops frequently right at hotel's front door. Do not hire a car - Dubrovnik is pedestrian only. Breakfast is good, evening meal expensive, but you might need to eat there as the menus in Dubrovnik are all identical and become boring. Food and especially service is not bad, but not 5 star. They are trying hard. In my opinion, the view and relaxing feeling of being away from the madding crowd make this hotel perfect and gloss over minor niggles.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing sea view but trees do block view in some areas. We read advice to request as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dubrovnik Old Town, situated on the peaceful Lapad peninsula lies the Dubrovnik Palace. Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.