We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Island of Lokrum

Island of Lokrum
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 62 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

On the maps it indicates two non-FKK beaches so we headed there on one of the regular boats from the Old Port. There is no beach, even by Croatian standards. There is an area called The Rocks, which consists of a decent-sized area of flat rocks and a couple of step ladders down into the sea. Not the most comfortable of places to sunbathe and relax. There isn’t much else on Lokrum to make it worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    407
    108
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lokrum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I've ever been too, you are free to wander around, the walk to the top of the fortress is worth it despite the heat and the climb, amazing views over towards Dubrovnik and the surrounding countryside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nature, sea and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited Lokrum in August. Me and my husband had stayed in Dubrovik for a week and we wanted to see something new. I'm glad we choose Lokrum. The price for the ferry/boat wasn't bad, just some euros. Just be alert and by the cheapest one, because there are many boat trip sellers in the Old Town Harbour. (That's where the ferry leaves.)

Bring a map and lots of water if you visit Lokrum in summer. The island is quite big and even with a map (a cheep tourist one) we had trouble finding the Dead Sea. That's a very small lake inside the island but really worth swimming because of the warm and salty water.

If you like snorkeling, bring your snorkel with you. I saw some beautifully colored rocks/corals under the water that I didn't see at coast line. Be brave and take a small path to find a "beach" of your own! There are no sandy beaches (not at least that I would know) so you have to climb some rocks to be able to swim, but that's not a problem. Just choose the side of the island that is not directly to the open sea so you'll avoid waves.

There is an abandoned monastery in the middle of the island, take time to visit that too. I would have wanted some information about the site - now I just walked there besides the ruins and imagined, what it would have been like to live there, separeted from the other world.

If Dubrovnik is getting too crouded and city-like for you, visit here to have some peaceful time in the nature.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent a lovely day on Lokrum after catching the taxi boat from the main port in Dubrovnik which goes very half hour or so in high season. Tickets were 50 kuna for a return trip and entry to the island.
Spent a good few hours exploring the island, climbing the steep hill to the ruins of the fort and exploring the monastery and botanical gardens. The gardens are well worth a look-some amazing plants and cacti there. The island is also home to wild peacocks, which are so used to humans they allow you to get really close to them. We spent the afternoon lazing on the rocks by the sea, cooling off by jumping into the sea every now and again. The waves can be pretty big but there are ladders drilled into the rocks to help you get in and out. There a several cafe bars which also serve food, we brought a little picnic so we didn't try the food but the beer is good and cold!
Would highly recommend for a day trip or even an afternoon as it's very easy and quick to get to.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtinë, null, Kosovo
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very attractive place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went there in May 2012 with my friends and we had great time there. The view was amazing. Lots of places that was worth visiting. The prices weren't that high.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island of Lokrum also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Island of Lokrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island of Lokrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.