We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth searching out...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azur Dubrovnik

Azur Dubrovnik
Pobijana 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
+385 20 324 806
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 273 restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth searching out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It took some searching but we found this little restaurant tucked in a corner of the old city. There was not much of a sign other than the name and hours painted on a non-descript doorway. Food was great – a very interesting fusion of mediterranean and asian. Prawns with cashews was spicy but delicious, as was seared tuna. The least favourite item was the meatballs. Everything else was excellent. The owner served us and was friendly and warm, recommending a great local wine which he served by the glass. If you arrive early, as we did, and the restaurant is not open yet, a few steps further is a small doorway in the city wall that leads to a bar overlooking the Adriatic on the outside of the wall. A great place for an aperitif. FYI, the owner of Azur told us that he will be closed from now until April 2014, when he is re-opening with an expanded restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    180
    54
    20
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“V tasty Asian / Med fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A funky little restaurant tucked away in Dubrovnik old town - with a great vibe. Very friendly, attentive waiter who talked through the menu and the different beers. Had an awesome cashew nut & prawn salad - and wasabi salmon parcels. A refreshing change from the pizza / pasta / grill restaurants on the main strip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Surprising on a number of levels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Who would have thought that a restaurant of 3 months on a street corner with outside seating only would be No 2 on Trip Advisor? Well the food surprised us too with a liking for chilli, a mix of mediterranean and Asian cooking and a range of food that would serve you for snacking, lunch or a dinner.

Friendly, intimate place with great service. We loved it. They are planning to move inside when they have refurbished the building we sat outside... it can only get better. I am confident of that. Well worth trying, we really enjoyed it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Azur restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This little restaurant is hidden behind the cathedral in old town, up stairs and a little walkway and we had a delightful meal there with many Asian and Mediterranean flavours. It was most reasonably priced, and we made a reservation because it is small and popular

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Croatian Asian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I accidentally came across this restaurant while wondering the back streets of Dubrovnik Old Town. I had really been craving some quality Asian food, since I have been on a trip through Europe for 4 months and when I saw that this little hidden gem offers Mediterranean food with an Asian twist I could not resist. The food was amazing and it is all made fresh as you order it, which for me is really important. The staff were really friendly and entertaining. As I was told, two brothers opened this restaurant after they had spent many years in China - both born and raised in Dubrovnik. It was nice to see that they brough their wordly experiences into a small town like Dubrovnik!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azur Dubrovnik also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Azur Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.