We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Pearl

Save Saved
You added Hostel Pearl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Pearl
Ivana Kukuljevica 8, Pile, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Ballina, Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hostel was fab! Luca the owner couldn't have been more accommodating. It was late when we arrived so he came back the next morning to tell us all about the Old Town and give recommendations of what to do, where to eat etc He even booked our bus to Sarajevo for us, Our private double room was like staying in a hotel, would recommend to anyone and would have stayed longer if possible. Perfect location also, literally less than 5 min walk from Old Town and bus stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days. While the location was great, the manager was the most annoying child I've ever met. Made us move rooms, and woke us up at the crack of dawn twice to tell us that another hotel guest was there and to move rooms. Shower did not drain and flooded every time, and even after calling him and writing him a note to fix it did not answer, or do anything about it. Had the housekeeper open up our door three times without any notification- and this was at
8am! Great location but avoid the child Luca at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostelpearl, Manager at Hostel Pearl, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sarah,I was knocking on the door at 10.30 AM ( You told me that You didnt now that check-out time is at 10 AM ) and I just wanted to tell You that You can stay a little bit longer.You were so angry without the reason cause You wrote that You called me,but its not true.I asked You if its everything OK....And You were pretending like You own the whole world but You are just 20.Its not OK to write false review.You didnt say even "thank you" cause I found Your passport.Thanks anyway!!

Kind regards
Luca
Hostel Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Luca and Marinawere the most amazing hosts! we checked in to our air-conditioned,comfortable private double room and once we had settled in and relaxed after a hot bus trip from Split, we heade back down to the office to finalize our payment and ask for some suggestions on restaurant/ things to do, etc. everything Luca recommended was spot on! Especially the small cove/ beach that was 30 m from our door! Perfect for an afternoon swim :) We had the most fantastic time in Dubrovnik thanks to Hostel Pearl and the amazing hosts who felt like family by the time we had checked out.
Thank you again Luca and Marina!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here as part of an Eastern European roadtrip and this was a great call. As a traveller who isnt massively demanding but still wants reasonable amenities this was perfect. Dubrovnik is not a cheap place for accommodation so this had everything I needed for a very reasonable price.
The staff here virtually made it their mission to ensure I knew where to go for the best value food and drink, but without ever being intrusive. (As an aside, once your accommodation is sorted you can find food for most budgets in Dubrovnik). Getting into old town is incredibly easy, and close, and without the steep prices. If youre after a better value alternative for pricey Dubrovnik accommodation, I'd say look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I looked at 3 different options and finally chose Hostel Pearl.I am so happy I did.This was by far the best hostel I have ever been at.Luca,the manager was amazing and very very helpful,the room was massive with a seaview and I was walking distance from beaches,the old town and public transport.You cant even call this value for money as this was one of my best experiences across all price ranges.You will not make a mistake staying here.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my friends stayed in Pearl in January 2013.Some of us were little bit sceptic but it turned out as a smart choice :) It was clean,located very close to the Old town,nice rooms and a boy working there will recommend you restaurant or anything you need...totally recommending :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostelpearl, Manager at Hostel Pearl, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Liz,we tried to contact You,we even sent You an e-mail but there is no answer.We found smartphone under the sofa(Deluxe apartment-level 2) and we are pretty sure that it belongs to You,cause we checked contacts.Its Iphone 5,black cover with black bumper and mirror look anti scratch protection.Please,If You see this,send us Your adress and we will sent You Iphone via DHL,Fedex etc. Kind regards from Dubrovnik

Luka Pusic
Hostel Pearl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pearl

Address: Ivana Kukuljevica 8, Pile, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 359 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTEL PEARL is top located property in the historic part in city center of Dubrovnik only 80 metres from Stradun-Placa (historical main street) and 30 metres from Pile Beach. Our Hostel is just step from restaurants, galleries, historical monuments, numerous cafes, bars, clubs and amazing sightseeing points (Lovrijenac Fort, Gradac Park, Cable Car-Mountain Srđ). Pile Bus Station, Post office, mini market are just 40-60 metres away from our property. Airport pick-up service is available upon request. We can also facilitate scooter, motorbike, car, speed boats and jet ski rental for the best prices and the latest models. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.