We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“me and gusta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gusta Me

Gusta Me
Hvarska bb, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 20 420-013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
735 reviews 735 reviews
504 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“me and gusta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

the restaurant gusta me had a wedding party the day i arrived it looked like people were having fun so on my last night i called in after a visit in the old town i asked if i could have a night cap no food it was late, the staff were friendly and the service great i had 2 gin and tonics ,nice music just sat and looked at the harbour and city walls what away to end the trip i wish i went in earlier

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    64
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Saramand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a lovely evening there. The meal was excellent
And the staff was very friendly. Good meal and a very high standard.
I would highly recommend it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank You for taking Your time to write this review and for Your recommendation for our restaurant.


Sincerely yours, Team 'Gusta me'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definetely worth leaving the safety of the old town walls for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having walked passed this everyday during my stay in Dubrovnik on the way to the old town from the Hotel Excelsior, I thought I must try this place at least once. It is slightly out of the way of the old town and I can imagine people not bothering to walk up the hill but this place is certainly worth it.

Location is beautiful and with a table at the front of the terrance you have a fantastic view town over the boats in the old harbour. Service was excellent and very friendly. But the food is the reason i'm giving this place an 'Excellent' it was simply excellent. Beautifully presented, fresh ingredients, perfectly cooked and a sauce that was a little more complex than your average Croatian restaurant ... very very good.

This is not your usual run of the mill eatery, it really is a cut above the rest!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are very grateful for Your review.
Hope that Your description will inspire more tourist to take a look up, when they find them selves on the East gate of Dubrovnik's old town. So they can also enjoy our scenic view and our effort with the food & service.


Sincerely yours, Team 'Gusta me'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found this little 'jewel' on the outskirts of the Old Town, and ended up visiting several times during our weeks stay in Dubrovnik. Very good food - especially the Lava Cake - delicious! Service and staff! especially the Owner, very efficient, friendly and helpful. Restaurant had a very modern, but cosy ambience .Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A restaurant which ticks all the boxes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you're feeling a bit hungry and looking for somewhere to relax, enjoy the world go by whilst overlooking the beautiful harbour and walls of the Old City then already things are looking good. Better still, if you're looking for an interesting selection of delicious dishes, sumptuous desserts (like a chocolate fondant oozing with chocolate or a delicious panna cotta with berries), friendly and welcoming service, reasonably-priced food and also the chance to try local and home-made dishes and liquors, this is most definitely the place to go to.

Having struggled to find good food and service at fair prices we were delighted with "Gusta Me" (recommended by fellow travellers - thank you soooo much for that!). We went there a number of times (enjoying the sun outside in the day and the warmth inside by night) and tried out a range of the food on offer including healthy and yummy "meals from the wok". On our last night, we chose the 3-course "chef's menu" (of which there two choices: meat or fish/seafood - both came with the option of having wines selected or not). Both options were fantastic and each dish was beautifully cooked, I especially loved the ham and mozzarella stuffed squid which was tender and tasty. To be fair, it was the best meal of our visit to Dubrovnik!

The owner (Damir) and staff were just so friendly that you couldn't help but enjoy the atmosphere and all the restaurant had on offer. The quince jelly and walnut liquor (made by Damir's mum) were fantastic and we really did feel we were getting a taste of the area, its people and its cuisine. It was surprising to find out that it was their first year of being in business....considering what they already have achieved and have on offer.

If you happen to visit Dubrovnik, just look up to the left when you come out of the East Gate (Ploce Gate) of the Old City and you will find "Gusta Me" - a restaurant that knows its onions :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustame D, Manager at Gusta Me, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank You very much for this detail review,
and Your will to eloquently describe our restaurant. You were the closest to describe what we aspire to, and hope to get from our guest in the future. We sincerely hope that You will decide to visit Dubrovnik once more, so we can welcome You again and discuss our progress...



Sincerely yours, Team 'Gusta me'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusta Me also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Gusta Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusta Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.