We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great base to have in Dubrovnik!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Wellness & Spa
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great base to have in Dubrovnik!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We told the staff at Hotel Splendid that we'd recommend their hotel: that's what we're now doing! We stayed from May 22nd to June 2nd (sorry we're a bit late posting this!).

We chose the hotel because it looked small and intimate, where we would not just be a number, insignificant to the staff. How right we were. They couldn't have been more helpful, polite and friendly, whether at the main desk, in the dining room, in the bar, or cleaning our room. There is no lift, but the receptionist offered to carry our cases up to our room. This was well equipped with a comfortable bed, desk and chairs, en suite, air con., etc. and the balcony (for which we had paid extra through Balkan Holidays) gave us a stunning view down the coast.
The food (breakfast and evening meals) was self-service. We always had plenty to eat and certainly plenty of choices. Perhaps they need to be a little bit more imaginative with the desserts. We used the bar area and the terrace, which were well appointed. It's a hotel, so you pay a bit more for your drinks - but you're on holiday, aren't you?!
We found it was also a great base for getting into Dubrovnik old town, with the bus stopping up almost outside. When we arranged excursions (Mostar and Montenegro), we were picked up from/near the hotel.
We spoke to a couple who were staying at the nearby 5 star hotel and they felt they were paying too much for what they were getting and that they were just a number there. Croatia and especially Dubrovnik has been through a traumatic war. It is amazing what they have achieved and rebuilt in only a few years. We both felt that we were important to the staff at Hotel Splendid; we would go back again and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

Thank you for being our guest, your positive thoughts are very much appreciated.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    94
    43
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
105
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Gorgeous location and views, close to bus stop to old town and to park ( right behind Dubrovnik palace) with stunning views on sea
However: no elevator and no help to take luggage to rooms, overall poor service, they make you pay chairs and towels for little beach in front of the hotel, rooms badly need renovation with scratches on walls all over the place, poorly lit bathroom with no ventilation and worn out bad sheets and blankets

Room Tip: Avoid first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are we sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and we will keep in mind all suggestions during hotel renovation.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Splendid Hotel from 1st July for a week, the location is wonderful, the staff are friendly and the hotel is clean, but it does need some refurbishment, it is very dated.
In the brochure it says the bus stop to the old town is just outside the hotel, what it doesn't tell you is that you either have to climb 60 steps or walk up a steep pathway to get to it. There are a lot of steps around the hotel and with no lift is not suitable for anyone with limited mobility.
Also in brochure it does tell you there is a charge for sunbeds on the hotel's 'private beach', what it doesnt tell you is that there are no other sunbeds around the hotel, to hire a sunbed and umbrella costs around £10 per day, so take that into account when budgeting for your holiday, and if you are not a 'child lover' stay away from the beach (which is all rocks) from 4.p.m. and weekends when it seems a lot of the local children invade it, so in fact it is not a beach just for hotel patrons
The food is basic and there is not much choice, that could be because when we were staying a lot of the residents only stayed bed and breakfast.
The drinks in the hotel are very expensive, four times dearer than down on the strip. £5 for a single Bacardi and Coke and on average £20 for a bottle of wine
If we went back to Dubrovnik we would not be staying at the Splendid.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 118 and 119 unless you want to hear the sound of tennis balls all day and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are very sorry we didn't meet your expectations but we'll definitely keep in mind all the suggestions you wrote when we renovate our hotel.

Thank you for being our guest.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have just spent a week here and thought that for a 3* hotel it was a good price. The views whilst having breakfast are breaktaking and the quiet location was great for us. We found that all the hotel staff were helpful and courteous, and the room and public areas kept clean. However, I would say that a lick of paint would improve the overall look of the hotel. Yes you do get charged for sunbeds and umbrellas at the Hotel and Lapad Beach (100kns for the day at Lapad, didn't use the hotel ones so don't know their price) but as we were there to explore the area we only spent 2 days on the beach so for us it didn't work out too expensive. Prices varies from restaurant to restaurant depending on location. If you are on a buget try one off of the main street, but if you want to splash out and have a great view then try a beach front one! Its a great place to visit, the Old Town plus the islands are great excursions, the people are welcoming and overall it was a fantastic holiday destination!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for being our guest and for taking time to write this review about the services you enjoyed in hotel Splendid.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Kindest regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In spite of a great location this stay was a disappointment. My personal low were the spiders and webs in the room but you can take your pick from the diluted milk at breakfast, the mildew in the ceilings and having to pay kn70 for a declining chair on the private beach. Compare this with the Villa Dvor hotel we stayed at the night before and you'll understand our let-down.

Room Tip: Just look for a better option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. /Mr.,

thank you for your effort to write a detailed description about hotel Splendid services.

Your comments and suggestions are very important to us as a guidance to improve in the future.

Thank you for staying in our hotel.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Expecting another 'so-so' package holiday, we were immediately taken by the view from the balcony as we were shown to our room. Lapad bay is a small inlet just around the corner from Dubrovnik Old Town and is reminiscent of the Italian Venetian and Adriatic coasts.

The hotel Splendid sports a modest three stars which it surpasses with an assault on any preconceptions you arrived with. The staff are friendly without being imposing, the accommodation is clean and tidy with breathtaking views, the food is varied and delicious - well ahead of the 'Costa Norm'.

Sporting a small sandy beach and two rocky water frontages, a peaceful day can be spent wondering just how Croatia has stayed off the beaten track for so long!

We travelled in early June while the schools were still working so had the best of the weather and a peaceful stay. It's true to say though that Lapad is not designed for the youngest travellers with a lack of adventurous activities or night clubs but for those of us of a slightly more sedate disposition but not yet ready for a knitting holiday, it boasts a perfect balance of bars, evening promenades, lovely restaurants and live music which wafts across the bay towards the hotel.

Needing to always highlight a downside - the pricing policy of the hotel bars and lunchtime snacks desperately needs reviewing with a small beer costing as much as four times that charged in local bars! That said, their was no objection to us bringing-in from the local supermarket for our 'private evening quaffing'.

All-in-all a brilliant find and one we would have no hesitation recommending.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view but worth checking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review and your detailed description of all the services in hotel Splendid.

Your comments and suggestions will help us to improve our services in the future.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our trip to Dubrovnik; 'pearl of the Adriatic' ; was a first for us.
We chose this destination with great care; thoroughly researched and so fully informed. Our primary reason was about the History, Historical sites and Culture. As we do enjoy discovering the unique aspects of a resort.

Whilst reading this it must be acknowledged that this resort is still in the process of recovering from the terrible Sectarian conflict that occurred around twenty years ago. Some scars are still visible.

We chose the Hotel Splendid as it appeared to be one of the smaller Hotels in the resort; as a couple we like to get to know the staff and generally find this so much easier in the smaller hotels.

The hotels communal areas were all very clean and well presented. Reception was fronted by very polite, helpful and friendly staff all under the watchful eye of Doru; who we found to be very chatty, approachable and informative. All the reception staff were eager and willing to help in any way they could whether it be providing you with your bus tickets, times of buses or other information pertinent to your request. On the whole the reception staff were exceptional.
The outdoor sea terrace and adjoining areas were serviced by Serge. This area was an extension to both the bar and Restaurant areas of the Hotel. The service for this area was usually provided by Serge a very polite, respectful, friendly and knowledgeable member of staff. He too was more than willing to spend time getting to know us.
As usual we chose half-board for this particular holiday; as we were unsure of the standard of the local eateries or indeed the availability.
The breakfast service offered a wide variety of European foods in both hot and cold varieties and appeared to meet the needs of most guests. Indeed if required any and all special dietary needs were met.
Our evening meals were again just as wonderful this was in part due to the variety of cuisine on offer; both Hot & Cold. Also present was an impressive array of desserts both delicious and local. The atmosphere in the restaurant was friendly and efficient, this was due to the two waitresses; Anka & Luce. Who ensured that the evening meal was a very smooth and enjoyable experience.

Our Hotel room in itself offered all the usual facilities. A clean and tidy bathroom with Shower combined. The double bed was very comfortable and we both had no trouble sleeping. Additional bedding was available on hand if required. The view from our balcony was spectacular; offering us a wonderful vista of the locality, surrounding Mountainous areas and sea shore. The noise from the surf which we found very soothing.

On the whole we feel very pleased with our experience at this wonderful Hotel and would recommend it to others; especially during the quieter months of the season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank for staying in our hotel and for writing this review.

Your positive comments are very important to us and we are very glad to see that.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.