We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Wellness & Spa
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excelent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our trip to Dubrovnik; 'pearl of the Adriatic' ; was a first for us.
We chose this destination with great care; thoroughly researched and so fully informed. Our primary reason was about the History, Historical sites and Culture. As we do enjoy discovering the unique aspects of a resort.

Whilst reading this it must be acknowledged that this resort is still in the process of recovering from the terrible Sectarian conflict that occurred around twenty years ago. Some scars are still visible.

We chose the Hotel Splendid as it appeared to be one of the smaller Hotels in the resort; as a couple we like to get to know the staff and generally find this so much easier in the smaller hotels.

The hotels communal areas were all very clean and well presented. Reception was fronted by very polite, helpful and friendly staff all under the watchful eye of Doru; who we found to be very chatty, approachable and informative. All the reception staff were eager and willing to help in any way they could whether it be providing you with your bus tickets, times of buses or other information pertinent to your request. On the whole the reception staff were exceptional.
The outdoor sea terrace and adjoining areas were serviced by Serge. This area was an extension to both the bar and Restaurant areas of the Hotel. The service for this area was usually provided by Serge a very polite, respectful, friendly and knowledgeable member of staff. He too was more than willing to spend time getting to know us.
As usual we chose half-board for this particular holiday; as we were unsure of the standard of the local eateries or indeed the availability.
The breakfast service offered a wide variety of European foods in both hot and cold varieties and appeared to meet the needs of most guests. Indeed if required any and all special dietary needs were met.
Our evening meals were again just as wonderful this was in part due to the variety of cuisine on offer; both Hot & Cold. Also present was an impressive array of desserts both delicious and local. The atmosphere in the restaurant was friendly and efficient, this was due to the two waitresses; Anka & Luce. Who ensured that the evening meal was a very smooth and enjoyable experience.

Our Hotel room in itself offered all the usual facilities. A clean and tidy bathroom with Shower combined. The double bed was very comfortable and we both had no trouble sleeping. Additional bedding was available on hand if required. The view from our balcony was spectacular; offering us a wonderful vista of the locality, surrounding Mountainous areas and sea shore. The noise from the surf which we found very soothing.

On the whole we feel very pleased with our experience at this wonderful Hotel and would recommend it to others; especially during the quieter months of the season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank for staying in our hotel and for writing this review.

Your positive comments are very important to us and we are very glad to see that.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
21
111
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what you pay for. A delightful 3 star place. The location I found to be amazing. A short 10 minute bus ride on the number 4 takes you to the Old Town and runs every 15 mins or so. I liked the fact that the hotel is in a quiet area with absolutely breathtaking views of the sea and coast line and that you could get to the town quickly and easily.

Having just spent four days here I am in love with Dubrovnik and cannot wait to return. I would return to this hotel most definitely!

The rooms were not large but more that adequate, balcony over looking the sea and the bathroom was clean and tidy, plus an amazing shower. The bed felt very soft but I certainly had no troubles sleeping. Breakfast was continental but there is something there for everyone. Toast, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and scrambled eggs with sausage and bacon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel and for writing this review.

Positive comments are very important to us and we are glad that you were satisfied with the services we provide during your stay.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unfortunately we just seemed to have a catalogue of irritants during our tour group’s stay, the worst being that it was the beginning of the season and the staff really hadn’t got it together so far as the buffet dinner went. Serving dishes were not replenished, some items disappeared rapidly, others were tepid and not properly cooked, and on a few occasions I had to request for a dessert to be replenished. The setting out is rather bizarre – the soup is as far as possible from the bread for example. We thought the house wine was most certainly not worth a whopping £20 and no tea or coffee is provided with dinner. Breakfast we had to request glasses and the butter was rock solid. To start with the showers were tepid but after this was mentioned it was rectified. There is a distinct lack of surfaces in the bathroom, the towels are rather tiny and inadequate.
On the plus side the staff are friendly and eager to please. Possibly as the season goes on these irritants could be smoothed out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review and for all the comments and suggestions which will help us to improve our services in the future.

Thank you for staying in our hotel.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location overlooking the sea with its bay. Pine forests all around, beautiful walking paths, restaurants and little tourist shops, bus stop close by. Wonderful personell, very respectful and tactful. Nice breakfast in July in an open terrace with the sea view. Sunlit, full of fresh sea air - mmmmmmm! To go to the sea you have to walk through a charming garden.We did not mind having a tiny platform to swim from, but strangely enough there were quite many families with little children too. A-la carte restaurant on top is worth a visit - beautiful setting, great service, delicious food. HB dinner buffet was lower than average quality. Tidy rooms. Quiet place for a relaxing holiday. Mostly suitable for couples. Dubrovnik UNESCO world heritage spot - a must. Lovely! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for being our guest.

we truly appreciate all the positive comments you made about our hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located on the peninsula of Lapad outside the center. Parking is easy,safe and free.
The rooms faced to the sea, are clean and cosy. To swim you have a nice hotelspot with a small beach. To go to the old center of dubrovnik use the local bus , the busstation is near the hotel; take a "Dubrovnik Card" including bus and some entrees like the walk on the walls at the hotelreception - it,s cheaper.
A nice place to stay longer and to discover the old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hotel Splendid lives up to its name.It is small and friendly, the staff are lovely and the food delicious.It does not have a pool but it is near the sea and you can swim from the rocks if you want.I was impressed by the free wifi which many hotels in England do not have and we will be returning.Dubrovnik is beautiful. Next time we will have a sea view because our room was lovely the view over the staff quarters detracted from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Splendid, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel.

We are very glad to see all the positive comments you wrote about our hotel.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Jerko Ćaleta, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Quite a basic 3 Star hotel on the outskirts of Dubrovnik , mostly catering for touring groups.
Despite the above, and that their house wine is almost undrinkable ( antifreeze springs to mind..... but ask for next category up and it's fine!!) we got rather fond of the place and it's friendly staff! No lifts and our room on 3 Rd floor but with view to die for !!!!!! Food which for us was included was so- so but would I stay again? Yes, unless I preferred to be in central Dubrovnik itself with it's fab restaurants...
In a nutshell , the Splendid is a good 3 star hotel - just use the local bus to transport you to the atmospheric Old Town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.