We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good basic 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Splendid

Save Saved
You added Hotel Splendid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Wellness & Spa
Ranked #36 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“a good basic 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Quite a basic 3 Star hotel on the outskirts of Dubrovnik , mostly catering for touring groups.
Despite the above, and that their house wine is almost undrinkable ( antifreeze springs to mind..... but ask for next category up and it's fine!!) we got rather fond of the place and it's friendly staff! No lifts and our room on 3 Rd floor but with view to die for !!!!!! Food which for us was included was so- so but would I stay again? Yes, unless I preferred to be in central Dubrovnik itself with it's fab restaurants...
In a nutshell , the Splendid is a good 3 star hotel - just use the local bus to transport you to the atmospheric Old Town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    94
    43
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
105
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The two of us stayed only 1night , but what a wonderful place clean , awesome location for beach and the people at check in couldn't be any nicer ,Great service ,can't wait to go back .Dubrovnik Croatia blessed are you that live there !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have just returned from this hotel and i have nothing but praise for all of the staff they are really friendly and can't do enough for you.The food is fantastic for a 3 star and the price you pay for holiday and lot's of people on here moaning about the cat's at the hotel well for me that was the best bit all the tiny kittens playing around you on the terrace.A good value holiday would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. Located next to the sea with a great view and beach and large swimming area. The room was in need of thorough cleaning. The aircondition worked and was quiet. The breakfast buffet is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel and staff are lovely, everything spotlessly clean which was pleasing. However we did wonder how a hotel without a pool has got three stars.? We were informed that we could use the pool at the sister hotel Uvala for a charge of 50 kunar per day but decided not to waste our money after we looked at it. There are 42 steps from the road down to the front entrance or a very steep slope so beware if you have walking difficulties because there are no lifts and the brochures do not mention this or the lack of a pool. Also the beach area is reached by steps and the pebbles are very sharp to walk on so take some protective footwear with you- we didn't and it will cost you about 50 kunar to buy some locally. The breakfasts- if you must have a full english you will be dissapointed.!We swayed towards the continental side after the first day and always found enough to eat. Salads in the evening were delicious and the hot dishes were also good. Desert was always cake,cake or sliced pineapple-ok if you like it or you could ask for ice cream. The coffee needs to be experimented with mixing your own. The best way to make it we found was to use a spoonful of dry coffee and just fill the cup with the hot milk from the machine-it was drinkable that way.!
On the whole it wasn't a bad holiday but like i said, how does it rate three stars without a pool? I'm glad i didn't take any children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Traveled with a group of 14 female friends for a long weekend. The hotel was in an excellent position with a beautiful view of the coast. There was a bus stop just outside the hotel with a bus running into the old town every 15 minutes. The food was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel but the restaurant was over run with cats! The only downside of this hotel was the male waiting staff. Although some of them were OK there were a few that were very creepy and pushy! One waiter in at least his 50' propositioned one of our party who was sitting on her own and was insistent that she meet with him after his shift, something which she clearly did not want. The same staff could clearly be seen looking up at the bedroom windows every evening hoping to catch a glimpse! The other thing to be aware of is that this hotel does not have twin rooms although we had booked them, double beds for everyone! I would recommend this hotel for people looking to explore the city and not wanting to spend too much time in their hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First trip to Croatia and we were not disappointed.
Lovely hotel - room with patio overlooking the opposite coastline - wonderful.
Food - catering for every taste and Lucy even spoiled us with ice-cream and butter with our bread from the fourth night!
Staff were all great - from reception 'Good Morning', to Peter the Restaurant Manager, not forgetting Lucy our waitress.
Location brilliant - very quiet and bed comfortable so slept well everynight - even through a thunderstorm! Bus stop outside the hotel door - just 15 mins into Dubrovnik.
Recommend the 3 Island boat trip - lovely unspoilt Islands, as well as trip to Cavtat a must - we walked round both penninsulas - did get tangled up in Hotel Croatia and ended up walking through the hotel to get back to Cavtat - better signage here would have been good!
Beach bar at hotel gave good service - what can be better than lying in the sunshine, reading a good book and drinking a cold beer!
Would certainly recommend the Hotel Splendid and would love to return.

Sally and Roy

Room Tip: Believe all had sea views and do not think any are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: Masarykov Put 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Splendid 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a picturesque Mediterranean garden leading down to a private beach, the Splendid hotel is a perfect getaway for couples who want to take a break from everyday life and spend some romantic time together. It is situated in beautiful Lapad Bay. A bus leaves every 15 minutes for Dubrovnik's historical quarter. The Lapad Bay promenade with many shops, restaurants and cafe bars as well as large shopping mall are within walking distance from the hotel. The bright and airy double rooms with pleasantly decorated interiors and air-conditioning open onto balconies boasting stunning sea views. Single rooms are with balcony and park view. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian cuisine in the indoor and outdoor restaurant and have a refreshing cocktail on the romantic terrace overlooking the Lapad Bay. The complimentary breakfast as well as dinner are served in buffet style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Splendid Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.