We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Well run hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for 3 nights as a city but would have liked to have stayed longer. It was in a lovely position with perfect sea views even from our room. We went into Dubrovnik twice a day on the bus which ran regularly and was only a 15 minute trip. Tickets could also be purchased from the reception. The rooms were clean and well appointed as were the bathrooms. Breakfast was excellent served buffet style on the terrace with an excellent sea view. I did miss the freshly cooked doughnuts that I have had in other hotels in this region. We would love to return for a week or more take advantage of the "beach area" ( a concrete area with plenty of sun loungers ) typical of this coastline. This comes highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    184
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
82
245
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent 4 nights on a short break and had a room with beautiful views. In October it was fairly quiet which suited us. I hadn't realised when booking that this is a resort with 3 hotels and shared facilities . That may have put me off but then we would have missed a gem. Well located out of town with excellent bus links. Staff were very helpful at all times. Breakfast overlooking the sea was lovely, food and views. Restaurant a little expensive but then we found they all were.

Room Tip: Check where building may be going on around the hotel. It started just as we left and on one side th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent weekend in this hotel. Staff very pleasant and helpful especially Darko at reception, always smiling. Nice terrace to sit out for breakfast and fantastic view from there and also from our room. Buses to and from old town every ten minutes or so, buy your tickets from hotel you get a discount.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

staff quite helpful but we had quite a wait before we were allowed into our room. The room was nice with a lovely view over the sea and the islands. Prices in the mini bar were ridiculous so we bought our own wine and water which was much cheaper. aperitif bar situated in reception was a joke!!! cocktail bar served "cocktails" in heavy glass tumblers with no fruit, cherries etc. Breakfast quite good in the main restaurant with a wide selection to suit all tastes. Excellent smaller a la carte restaurant downstairs adjacent to the main hotel. Good bus service, every ten mins to the town and old town virtually outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely position with its own "beach" allowing swimming in the sea. A short walk from a series of bars and restaurants and across a park to a lovely restaurant called Dubrava, some shops and bars. Nice breakfast but didn't try other restaurants as seemed expensive. Friendly staff, great bus service to the old town, recommend the Dubrovnik card. Good for transport and the city walls which give stunning views.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view balcony, higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great base for exploring Dubrovnik.
Friendly and attentive staff.
Nice rooms with very efficient maid service.
Great breakfast buffet. Only detail stopping it getting 5 stars was the coffee.
Good bar area even out of season.
Cannot comment on Spa as we didn't have time to use it.
Would definitely come back here again.

Some building work just started adjacent to hotel......

Bus terminates just 1 minutes walk from hotel so there is always one waiting to take you into Dubrovnik where it stops just outside the old City walls.
Can also get boat back from old town as they return from there to the main harbour.

Great restaurant close to this City stop.

The City walls walk, is an absolute must though there are a lot of steps which may not suit some.

Cable car is good though best views are from the cross, not the station itself and possibly even better views are available from road to airport.

3 island cruise is good though the beach on Lopud was a big disappointment. Touted as the 2nd best in Croatia by some, the bay iself is beautiful with shallow waters way out but the litter surrounding the beach, wasps and lack of service in the hippy type cafe/bar ruins its natural beauty. Dont bother trecking there.

Botanical gardens on this island may well have been something 25 years ago but like the 'Grand Hotel', its seen better days.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churt, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I (age 65) have just returned from a 4 night late October break at Hotel Neptun. The weather was great (sunny and 24C). In summary, the hotel (and the resort in general) were great value and gave us everything we needed.

We stayed in Room 413 which had a small balcony (two chairs and small table) and glorious sea views. Lovely place for a drink as the sun sets while watching both large ships and small boats coming in and out of port. The room was clean and well appointed with a safe, TV and minibar. Decorations, furniture and carpet are a little dated but this was a minor quibble.

Breakfast was buffet style with a large choice. As the weather was so nice we were able to eat outside on the huge restaurant balcony, again with lovely sea views. We did have a fixed price evening meal in the same restaurant (called Mediterraneo I think) - I wouldn't recommend this as it was a little 'canteen like' and you would be better to eat in one of the other a la carte restaurants on site. Our mistake.

The hotel is situated on a peninsular away from the main Dubrovnik metropolis. This seemed to be an advantage as you are away from the crowds but it only takes 10-15 minutes by bus to the old town with the bus leaving from more or less outside the hotel every 10 minutes (buy your tkts from reception, it's cheaper than buying on the bus).

The staff were all very professional and spoke extremely good English. They were not at all overbearing but were very helpful and very ready with a smile. Our cleaning lady always gave us a cheery 'good morning'.

We packed a lot into our three days (tours of the old town and walls, all day 3 island boat trip and all day coach tour to Montenegro) so did not use the hotel facilities such as the spa, pool and bars so cannot comment in detail. However, everything looked very nice.

Overall, we were absolutely delighted with Hotel Neptun and would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded seaside hotel surrounded by nature with panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands. Only a short ride to the majestic Old Town of Dubrovnik. All restaurants and beach bar have open air terraces only a few meters from the coast line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Neptun Hotel
Hotel Neptun Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.