We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice end to our holiday in Croatia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lero to your Saves list
Hotel Lero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
brisbane australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a nice end to our holiday in Croatia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here on the final leg of our wonderful Croatian holiday. The hotel has not long been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful with providing options for my husband who has a gluten free diet.The 1.7klm ( it is marked on the footpath outside the hotel) walk into Dubrovnik is very pleasant and the buses also are frequent ( about every 15 minutes) and a good option.
We loved Dubrovnik and just wish we had longer there to do more of the day trips etc. We had pre booked a 3 hour walking tour and this was fabulous - our guide was knowledgable and provided a good insight into the history etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    197
    59
    10
    7
See reviews for
55
179
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a modern hotel in a convenient location 15-20 minutes walking distance to the Old Town centre. It is located along a busy road, but we did not notice any road noise in our room. The hotel helped us arrange a private driver for our transfer from the airport. We recommend this alternative to public transit, as the airport is about 20 km out from the town centre.

We had reserved our room well in advance, but were actually a day late arriving due to a missed flight. Nevertheless, we received a warm welcome at the front desk, and immediate access to our room. We selected a large Family Room: two bedrooms connected by a foyer which contains bathroom and closet/storage area. This worked extremely well for our party (couple with adult child).

Amenities include free and fast wifi, great on-site restaurant, and a wellness centre with nice swimming pool and spa facilities.

The included breakfast is large and varied, with choices of hot and cold foods, cold cuts, cheeses and fruits. Coffee was available brewed in urns, or from single-serve bar code scanning machines that create whatever drink you want.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've booked this hotel on-line - based on a picture provided by the booking site - and expected a balcony, a glimps of the sea and a nicely furnished room. When we arrived, got the key and entered the room I thoght something must be wrong here. It was a shoe box with no balcony and not even a hint of a view. So went back to the reception and thought they've made a mistake and wanted to exchange the room. A middle aged lady at the reception however claimed that they didn't have any other room types and they didn't have rooms with sea view etc. Luckily I had my printed confirmation handy with a picture of the room to prove my sanity at least. She was shaking her head and after 3-4 minutes of staring at her pc but not saying a word to us she gave me another key to their executive floor which I was charged for to start with where the rooms were of 4* standard compared to the 3 star in the rest of the building.

A very bad experience to start with however all the rest of the stay was nice. Especially the lady at the breakfast room who overlooked the staff and the arrangements was somebody we still remember - great spirits and effortless friendliness.

The hotel is located a bit outside the old town but if you don't mind walking 20 minutes it's just fine and the walk is pleasant with nice wiews.

There is a beach nearby which partially belong to another hotel and partially is public. It was perfect for a swim.

All in all a nice hotel for the price you pay for it.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms or be aware of the difference between the standard of the upper floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the old town, so quite a good location. Fairly pricey given it's a 3 star hotel, but then again, we thought all Dubrovnik hotels seemed to be on the expensive side... It seems to be aimed more at tour groups.

The room was immaculate. We were slightly worried that our room overlooked the road side of things, but we needn't have worried about traffic noise. However the refuse collection at 6am was another matter - extremely noisy and woke us both up. Not impressed given it's a hotel and everyone would be sleeping at that time. Not the hotel's fault but I didn't pay for a room with an unwanted 6am alarm.

Breakfast was standard fare - hot and cold and all ok - but the coffee is out a machine and not great. The juices were absolutely disgusting though - watered down rubbish out a machine. Why hotels do this to their juices I really don't understand - it's not juice and it's penny pinching to a ridiculous degree.

Shame the pool isn't heated as it was too cold to swim.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I went on a weeks visit to Dubrovnik with a tour from Malta last month and stayed at the Lero.We were on half board. The breakfast was very good considering that the hotel is three star and for what we paid to have an evening meal it was really worth it. We had booked a double room ,unfortunately they gave us two single beds but after complaining to the reception the problem was sorted out. The size of the room was very comfortable with a good sized shower. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is just 15mins walk to the old town and the buses are very regular so we normally walked down and got the bus back in the evening. The pool was always clean and there is also a gym.My only complaint is that the mattresses in our room needed to be changed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked through Jet2.Com holidays and payed extra for a superior room. The room was okay, but had 2 small single beds and no balcony. It overlooked the pool so was quiet. There was a free safe and a fridge which were very welcome. We also had good free WiFi connection in the room.

The best thing about this hotel was it's location. it was a nice 20 min walk to the old town and about the same in the opposite direction to Lapad beach which was very pleasant and quiet at this time of year. You can get boat trips from the old town harbour very cheaply to other resorts and islands- we did Cavtat which was excellent. We also did an organised trip to Montenegro which was a great day but very long!

We stayed B&B at the hotel and I found the breakfast very good for my taste - I like fresh fruit and cakes/pastries. My husband found the hot food options a little more variable and sometimes had to wait for things to be replenished. The breakfast room was usually quite busy as there seemed to be a lot of coach tours during our stay. The staff worked very hard though and were all very friendly from reception to maid service.

We ate out at many different places during the week and found food and drinks to be very cheap compared to UK prices even in the old town. We ate at the Bosnian Taj Mahal restaurant which I think is part of the hotel which was a bit different but in a good way. We ate at the Magallena a few times which was excellent especially the steak! There are a few restarunts & bars towards the Lapad area too which were nice. In the old town we ate at places down the narrow side streets - all excellent. Food on offer tends to be mainly pasta, pizza and Mediterranean in style.

Overall this is a beautiful part of the world and well worth a visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for it's location alone.

Room Tip: Our room was okay - not sure what the difference is between a surerior room and the general rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Only stayed two nights here, but found the hotel location to be excellent. Short walk to the centre of Dubrovnik and the old town. Hotel was good also but meals left a lot to be desired. Did eat there the first night not very good, so went to a restaurant down the street "El Toro" for the second night and it was fantastic. Breakfast was also very basic. Would most probably stay here again - for the location. Rooms were clean and service was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lero 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.