We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel for economical luxury in Dubrovnik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Lero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect hotel for economical luxury in Dubrovnik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a second-timer in Dubrovnik, I wanted this time a hotel outside the hotel region (Lapad or Babin Kuk), but still economically, at a walking distance to Stari grad. Hotel Lero was a really good choice. The hotel is clean and well taken care of and the service was all in all polite, not too pleasing, however, as the hotel is big, the service is not always very personal.
The room I had was located on the 4th floor, it was relatively big and had a balcony with a table and two chairs. There was lot of room for luggage. The toilet with shower and bath was also pretty large. Wifi-connection worked without any problem. The breakfast buffet included not only "the continental basics" (tea, coffee, cheese, ham, juice, eggs, croissant...) but also "something more" (salami, pudding, fruit compote...). There is also a bus stop very near Lero with connections to Stari grad (line 4) and to Dubrovnik Bus station (line 7).
In the same building, there is a Bosnian restaurant Taj Mahal. I can highly recommend it. The food they serve is absolutely great. Taj Mahal has another restaurant with a different menu in Stari grad but it is naturally more crowded one. However, the food was as good in both restaurants. Another excellent restaurant near Lero is Magellan (just a little walk towards Stari grad). The prizes there are very moderate compared to many similar or even less ambitious places in Stari grad, but quality of the food and service is far more better. They have a beautiful view outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    144
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
139
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 Days in Dubrovnik before going to Lopud. Nice Hotel, 15minutes Walk from old Town. Nice poolarea, Nice helpful Staff. Nice breakfast buffet. Easy to get to ferry and from airport. Resturant located outside Magellan also nice food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everything from minute we arrived was first class porter insisted he take all luggage. Large room 5th floor with a view room 563. Great range for breakfast. Ate one dinner at hotel one next door at Tajmahal perfect prices better than in old town. Bus 4 pick up and stops within 70 meters 12 kuna each way.
I cannot go past this place if we come back. We hired a car and parked it there for two days before heading north. Linen towels changed daily very quiet tour groups come into breakfast room but perfectly quiet at night good airconditioning wifi strong signal but very slow some emails fail to open and send due to server speed issue. Wifi is free good pool we did not use many others did, fine inside outside bar off main entry very convenient.
Should be rated 4 star. We have travelled in many european countries in the last 12 years and this hotel is in our top 5.
We are a retired couple mid 60 age.

Room Tip: Ask for 5 floor front room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been staying at Hotel Lero for last 3 days and have 1more day before we leave, while Lero is rated 3 star it's service is far better than that, the Gentleman who checked us in was very efficient and explained the ways to get to Old Dubrovnik thoroughly and his explanation of whereabouts of pool, breakfast room ETC was very professionally done, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the head waiter in the Dining area is very very efficient in all that he does and all along has a great personality with it
We would stay here again without doubt and wouldn't hesitate to tell others to do the same

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have had a week in this hotel and was more than pleasantly surprised. My room had a beautiful ocean view and had recently been very stylishly refurbished. The hotel has a nice very clean pool area, in fact the standards of cleanliness were very high throughout all areas of the hotel. breakfast was excellent although often busy around 8am with lots of tour parties. I was attending a conference at the IUC university centre just outside the old town and it was a pleasant 10 min coastal walk. I highly reccomend this hotel to any one attending Dubrovnik University or the IUC. It is good value, clean, great views, great breakfast and if you dont fancy walking the bus stop is right outside! Very nice. I will be using this hotel every year.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed there 3 times in the last few months( first me and my wife, then my two sisters, finally my son, his wife and three children). The desk staff is exceptionally helpful and very professional. Rooms are not cramped, beds are firm and supportive and the satellite TV has both CNN and BBC (as well as Italian, German, Turkish, and other language channels. The rooms are clean and housekeeping service is excellent. Parking is available on site. Breakfast is very solid with only one complaint-the coffee machine is incapable of producing a decent cup of coffee (the hotel bar, on the other hand does). The hotel is a short walk to the old town. There is no shuttle service. There appear to be no special services available for children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good hotel in a great location, only 20mins walk from the old town and within walking distance to the beach. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day with fresh towels and bedding provided. There was plenty of choice in the breakfast buffet with cooked breakfasts, fresh fruits, cold meats, cereals, yoghurts and croissants all available. The pool area was always clean and the only downside was that the gym was being refurbished while we were there. A new restaurant was opening next door to the hotel and there were another 2 just a couple of minutes walk away along with an excellent bakery so there's no need to walk to the old town if you're a bit tired. All in all a good hotel and a great city, if you're looking for a good value hotel in Dubrovnik then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lero 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.