We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lero

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Lero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 3 days in early November. Hotel very clean. Welcoming, friendly staff. Rooms very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Breakfast could be better. Easy 20 min walk to old town. Beware hoarders of cruise ship visitors in the mornings.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    144
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
139
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

There were seven of us who have just returned from an excellent weekend at Hotel Lero, The rooms are comfortable, very clean and in excellent working order. Despite it being November, we took early morning swims in a beautiful crystal clear warm sea; apparently the sea was still 21 degrees celsius. The staff were friendly and very helpful, Zorana was on reception, Goran looked after us in the bar and Tasha, the general manager gave us a Croatian history lesson just before we left on Sunday afternoon. We realised how little we knew about the painful events which followed the shelling and siege of Dubrovnic which started in December 1991! The Magellan hotel across the road provided superb and reasonably priced dinners on two nights during our 3 night stay. The walk down to the old town is fascinating with the Sesame bar worth a visit en route. If you don't fancy the 20 minute walk uphill back to the hotel, the number 4 bus will whisk you back to the hotel in five minutes. A great weekend arranged by Drive-Line and flights with BA!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely and comfortable hotel, would truly recommend it. Situated about 20 minute walk from the old town. Probably best to get a cab back as a bit hilly. Not as many shops open as it was nearing the end of the season. Went on a island trip but again as it was end of season quite difficult to find places open. Should imagine in the summer it would be buzzing! The walk around the walls in the old town, well worth doing as the views are beautiful. The taj Mahal restaurant would recommend for delicious food. We stayed for 4 nights and this was ideal. Lovely time

Room Tip: Should imagine all rooms are good, perhaps a room at back of hotel might be a bit quieter. Beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the south
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from Dubrovnik. What a fantastic place to visit. It's beautiful and we had some rain to contend with but the beauty shone through. A good time to go as I believe in the summer it would be heaving and uncomfortable. Just wander and enjoy the new vistas every time you turn a corner.
Hotel Lero is a 15 minute walk from the opld town in one direction and the port in the other direction. Local buses stop out side so you can catch those if you prefer. A good hearty breakfast saw us through until the need for a delicious Dubrovnik Ice cream took over and only 10 kuna too. It's cheap to eat and drink in the hotel especially when compared to english prices. Our best meal was probably in the restaurant over the roadMagellan. Very good 3 courses for 2 people £56 included a carafe of wine. It was excellent.
You must walk the city walls and you must catch the cable car to the top to visit the Old Fort.
You can easily travel using the shuttle bus from the airport & the no 4 bus from the old town to the hotel. Get off at the 3rd stop for Hotel Lero. Cheaper than a taxi and easy.

Room Tip: 106 has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Hotel Lero has been refurbished throughout to a very high, modern standard indeed. Its public area and reception are large bright and airy welcoming the guest inwards. The building also has an attractive, modern façade from the outside. The hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas so will appeal to those who enjoy hygienic places to stay.

The Lero is located right in the middle of Dubrovnik. That is to say it is roughly equidistant from the Old City and the new port plus Lapad. To reach both places a walk is involved and all the other reviews will mention this.

The bedrooms have a contemporary feel about them and feature modern bathroom with full shower but no bath. You will require your own bathroom toiletries since the hotel does not provide them.
The rooms feature a large hi def TV with a good selection of international channels including BBC World and CNN. Standard rooms do not have a balcony. We had a sea view standard room but there’s a busy road outside. However, the rooms are well insulated against sound and we experienced no problems with traffic noise at all.
There is a well-stocked mini bar too should you require it.

There’s free wifi throughout the hotel and in our room had a very strong signal. The network is generally very fast but at peak times in the evening there is a noticeable throttling of bandwidth due to the number of other guests using it. For those who, like me, enjoy uploading lots of photos, mornings and later in the evenings are the best times for doing so.

Meals are taken in the restaurant by reception on the ground floor. It is an attractive and inviting dining space serving buffet style food. The restaurant staff are extremely friendly, cheerful and always helpful. Drinks are served to diners from a drinks trolley. There are different selections of wines and beers each night plus soft drinks and water of course. The lady brings the trolley to your table, you select your beverages then pay at the end of the meal.

The breakfast buffet is extensive. There’s bound to be something for everyone here including hot options too. There are so many different type of tea do make sure to locate ‘black Indian’ if you’re after traditional English tea! The only small gripe is that the orange juice is watered down rather than fresh.

There’s a good choice of evening meal too for those, like us, who enjoy being on half-board. It’s the usual traditional buffet fare but generally well cooked and appetising. Picky eaters might have a few complaints but you are getting extremely good value for your money here I believe.

The hotel does have a small ‘sitting out area’ and pool but it is enclosed by four walls. Right at the end of the season, when we were there, the sun does not rise high enough in the sky for there ever to be any actual sun in that location but in high season I’m certain it does. There is always the option of sitting out at the front of the hotel in the extensive coffee bar area.

We were pleasantly surprised and impressed by this hotel. It’s delightfully clean, has great staff and feels modern. I would recommend it without hesitation. We spent a week there and loved it. The Lero has a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence displayed on the front desk demonstrating just how popular it is with many reviewers.

Room Tip: Only superior rooms have a balcony so you will need to upgrade if you require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was not expecting too much from this hotel considering how little it cost, but how wrong I was, I am very surprised that it is only rated three star.
Our room was lovely, nicely decorated and a very comfortable bed. Both the room and the en suite were spotlessly clean and quite spacious.The only negative was that it was quite noisy, being above the bar and facing a busy road.
Breakfasts were very good and offered plenty of choice and the staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We did not have dinners in the Lero, but found wonderful food at very good prices at the Magellan, just across the road. This was in contrast to the evening we were seduced by the ambience at the Old Port, where we had a terrible meal at quite a high price.
If coming from the airport get the shuttle bus, get off at Pile Gate stop and change to the number 4 bus which stops outside the hotel
All in all a very good, reasonably priced hotel just a pleasant stroll from the Old City

Room Tip: The rooms with sea views face the road, so are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I can't find fault with this hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent and the room we stayed in was lovely. Everything was always clean. In terms of location, it is a bit of a walk out of the Old Town (about 15 minutes) but in a good location for being able to have a walk and see the other parts of Dubrovnik as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lero

Also Known As:
Lero Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lero 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.