We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lapad

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lapad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SWEET MEMORY GIFT VOUCHER
Ranked #11 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Sheffield, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

The hotel was what we expected and more. The size of the room was adequate as we didn't spend too much time in it - why would you when there is so much more to see and do? It was spotless and the maids were always pleasant. We had a little garden terrace instead of a balcony which was lovely and plenty big enough for 2 people.
I can understand why some people have commented on the lack of privacy in the bathrooms due to the glass walls, however for us this wasn't a problem.
The breakfasts were more than adequate with something to please everyone.
The bus service into town was better than most bus services in the UK. The stop was just 5 minutes walk along the harbour from the Hotel.
We can recommend the restaurant at The Hotel Zagreb which is situated on the pedestrianised walk to Lapad beach. Also the food at the Orsan Yacht Club is good. Turn left out of the hotel and follow the road around the sea. The Yacht club is on your right, the tables all look out over the water and the moored boats.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    448
    92
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
747
28
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of July. The location was ideal, overlooking the harbour where the cruise ships were moored, a 40 minute walk to the old city, 15 minute walk to Lapad Bay beach and 10 minute walk to a pedestrianised area with cafes, bars and restaurants (for evening drinks!).

Hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly, everything was brand new. Room had a small balcony but you could get two chairs on it (contrary to previous reviews that said balconies were only big enough for one person!). Pool was good, and always plenty of sunloungers if you reserved one at breakfast, but there always seemed to be a few available at other times of the day as well. Beach is close enough to go there if no room left around the pool.

Only disappointment was the breakfast - no bacon (fried ham instead), luke-warm eggs, and luke-warm hot dog type sausages. I have never been to a hotel before where I had to resort to eating a continental breakfast. Dinner on the other hand has probably above average for a buffet style dinner. As long as you got a hot plate, the food was quite nice and hot enough. Desserts were amazing!

Overall, this was one of the best holidays we have had and I think the fact we stayed in this hotel added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

What an excellent hotel. Friendly staff. Rooms extremely clean and comfortable. Cannot say one bad word about this hotel. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

good spot in old building spruced to good shape with views of gruz harbour - and the mammoth cruise ships it keeps afloat ... Easy local bus ride (no 6 or 9) to old town goes from outside hotel, takes abt 15 mins.. well appointed, fairly priced. pleasure to relax by pool but you have to chuck a towel on a lounger by breakfast (and a very good breakfast it is too, plenty to choose from). our room was two lifts and a bit of a walk but all refurbished to exclnt standard. can't vouch for meals other than breakfast buffet as we went out to eat but when we returned those dining poolside were being entertained by a dj playing Footloose. curt unsmiling service but that's how it goes in croatia - a bit of sternness never killed anyone.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I spent a week at the Lapad with our friends. We all had a wonderful time. The rooms were lovely and and the beds were very comfortable. I have never stayed in such a quiet hotel. I especially loved the shower. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. I can't wait to return to the Lapad and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

The Hotel Lapad, is one of the plushest hotels I have ever stayed in and should be upgraded to a 4*. I thought the rooms were a good size, although I was in the newer part of the building and I believe these are slightly larger than the ones facing the front. I didn’t have a problem with the glass doors in the bathroom, there is a frosted glass door that can be pulled across to separate the dressing area and bathroom from the bedroom if you wish but in our room you couldn’t actually see into the bathroom from the bedroom.

I must admit the dining room staff do look like they are about to commit suicide, however the front staff and bar staff are very helpful and try to accommodate where they can.

We had towels with us, however I did notice that there was a stall renting towels in the morning if you needed them, therefore I assume that they have listened to the comments of the previous poster below.

There is a fast speed internet connetion in the room, and a TV with BBC world news and MTV. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom that actually works, and full toiletries toped up every day including moisturiser, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap.

This is a luxury hotel close to Dubrovnik and good value for money. I paid £112 per night through hotels.co.uk. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or week away.

A walk along Dubrovnik walls is a must, although go later in the evening when it is cooler because there are lots of steps up and down. Visit Dubrovnik at night, when the walls and streets are lit up. And an absolute must after an evening meal in Dubrovnik is to visit one of the two cliff top bars entered through the walls on the south side.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I had not put a review on earlier but looking back at some recent reviews felt compelled to add one. We could not believe our luck when we arrived at Lapad after dropping people off at various other rather drab looking hotels. The room was amazing, ultra modern with views over the harbour. Food was more than adequate, lots of choice and good when considering that the Croatians are not renowned for their cuisine as far as I am aware. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. Not the place for those who want to party all night but peaceful and relaxing. Recommend trip to Mostar - amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant building on Lapad peninsula, just a 10 minutes from the beach with views of Gruž port across.It's surrounded by the renaissance garden with palms, where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and outdoor pool by the water front.It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and classic rooms in the 1980's block.With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, the warm welcome of its staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad provides you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lapad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.