We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lapad to your Saves list
Hotel Lapad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE dinner if 3 d stay
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife, daughter and I have just returned from a week's stay in this hotel. It is a lovely hotel - clean comfortable and friendly. The rooms we had were ideal with small balconies. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. I would like to give the hotel 5 stars in every category but I have 2 niggles.

The food was good and plentiful with lost of choice with the exception of the desserts. On a number of evenings they nearly ran out and staff were trying to find alternatives.

We like to relax after our evening meal but not in our bedrooms. There are no comfortable chairs in the bar and no lounge, so we had to sit round a table or go to our rooms.

A good hotel which with one or two improvements could be a great hotel. It very nearly is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    596
    125
    23
    8
See reviews for
171
996
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and did not know what to expect. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are modernand well maintained we had booked a room with a sea view, however the balcony only had place for 1 chair. The hotel is located just outside of the city center in a rather quiet harbor. The nr 6 bus to the city stops just outside of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After staying right in the Old Town, we upgraded from an apartment rental to Hotel Lapad and couldn't have been happier with it. It's situated right behind a bus stop and the bus only takes 5-10min to get back to town. The staff are friendly and the pool and facilities are really clean. The 'included' breakfasts and one dinner were surprisingly good for 'included' food - usually if it's part of your deal, the food is awful, and this was some of the better food we had in Croatia. As for the room, it was really comfy, the bed was the best sleep we'd had in weeks, and the bathroom was to die for. They kindly upgraded us for free so we were staying in an awesome room, but I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Note to family travellers like us though - we were in the minority. They were very family-friendly but most of the clients were older with no children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the week commencing 15 September 2013. This is a very good hotel, which is clean and comfortable. It is situated on the Gruz harbour. All the staff, with one exception, were very helpful and friendly, especially when it was raining! It is well located for Lapad beach and the restaurants that go with it. Bedroom was of a good size but, as others have mentioned, the bathroom had a glass wall, so don't be shy. The lady who cleaned our room was lovely and always cheerful.
We stayed B&B. The breakfasts were excellent with a huge variety.
There were a couple of issues which stopped me giving the hotel full marks. The pool area is fairly small for a hotel of this size. I regret to say that towels were on sunbeds very early in the morning and it was difficult to find any spare beds if you wanted a relax in the afternoon. The pool was freezing cold and only for the brave or foolish.
We had to queue for a table at breakfast one morning, which is a first for us. It makes you wonder whether the size of the hotel has outgrown the breakfast room. There were not any tables outside on the sunny days.
On to other things the hotel cannot control.
The road outside the hotel is narrow and one way and can be a bit uncomfortable to walk along as the traffic is very close. There are not any pavements, the pedestrian parts are marked by faded white lines. Be careful. Our experience was that Croatians view speed limits as minima and not maxima. On this point, you can walk to the Old City. It's about 2 miles and takes approximately 45 minutes. However, it is along busy roads and once again can be uncomfortable as buses whizz by you almost within touching distance at some parts of the route.
The Old City is beautiful, but best visited late afternoon and at night. The cruise ships disgorge thousands of people into the City in the mornings. At least you can count the number of cruise ships in the harbour from the hotel. If there are more than 3, do not go into the City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good modern hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor with a small balcony(only room for 1 chair) with a lovely side view of the cruise ships moored at Gruz Harbour. The room was fairly spacious, clean with a very comfortable bed and it was lovely and quiet for a good nights sleep. The reception staff were generally helpful and pleasant and the housekeeping ladies friendly but the breakfast staff seemed distant and not very friendly.The lighting switching in the rooms needed a little working out and due to having to change lifts to get to or from the 8th floor involved a bit of a trek.Bus no.6 stop few minutes walk from the hotel going to central Dubrovnik and stops outside the hotel on the one way street outside the hotel on return. Lovely area to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were very helpful at the Lapad, and the pool area was very inviting. Excellent musical entertainment provided by MR PETAR. Good cocktails also... We were upgraded to an extremely futuristic looking bedroom, which we appreciated -- there were many shiny metal light switches which connected to various lights around the room in ways we couldn't entirely fathom. Also a high-tech walk-in shower which the previous guest had obviously enjoyed very much, as water from it kept the carpet on the way into the bathroom squelchy for the duration of our stay there. Otherwise a very nice, clean, well-furnished room. A good location, ten minutes' walk to Lapad beach and ten minutes the other way to catch the Jadrolinja ferries to the Elaphiti islands. Good stuff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Venny C,

We appreciate your comments about very helpful staff, excellent musical entertainment and good cocktails.
It's lovely to read you enjoyed your stay overall in our room with modern design.
We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the carpet.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

With best regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel largely due to the very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were however disappointed.
First the positives:
It is a very attractive hotel and well located.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel was clean and well kept.
Negatives:
We paid extra for a room with a limited sea view. It was a very limited sea view. We could only just see the sea from the room although the view was better from the balcony.
We were half board with a buffet in the evening. The food choice was limited and not very hot.
The evening entertainment consisted of a trio who played an amazing variety of music not very well.
There was heavy rain one morning. Many guests wanted to sit in the bar area but were unable to as there want enough room for everyone.
While we did enjoy our holiday it is very unlikely that we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony which is big enough to sit two people comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jane26813,

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review regarding your recent stay.
All your comments are appreciated, positive and negative ones.
We are pleased you consider our hotel is very attractive, well located,well kept and clean
with friendly and helpful staff.
We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with the limited view from your room and that food and evening entertainment didn't meet your expectations.
All the rooms, apart superior ones in the front building have a side sea view not direct one.
In case you change your mind and decide to return we suggest you to book a superior room that has direct pool and sea view, but doesn't have a balcony.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Katica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lapad is situated in an elegant building by the waterfront on Lapad peninsula, just 10 minutes from the nearest beach with views of Gruz port across. It is surrounded by the renaissance garden where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and has heated outdoor pool. It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and comfortable classic rooms in the 1980's block. With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, warm welcome of its helpful staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad ensures you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lapad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.