We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lapad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lapad to your Saves list
Hotel Lapad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 free dinner if 3 D stay
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Carluke, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“October week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Lapad for one week in October. The hotel is right next to the harbour. The exterior looks lovely and the interior does not disappoint.
We stayed in the extension, on the 7th floor and had a side view of the water.
Breakfast and dinner are buffet style although there were staff in the restaurant to take drinks orders. The food was good. There was always a good choice of fish, chicken, meat, pork etc. at dinner.
On the Saturday night there was a wedding in the hotel so we had dinner in the annex - that was ok.
The grounds and pool are fairly small but we walked to the beach at Lapad. The water was clean and not too cold.
The hotel is on the route of the number 6 bus. There is a one way system outside the hotel so to get to the Old Town by bus you had to go round the Lapad area and change bus at the terminus.
We enjoyed watching the locals fishing outside our hotel every night - some even caught some fish.
The weather was sunny and warm 6 days out of 7 so we were happy.
We really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear MoiraCarluke_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

The entire team is grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    495
    106
    21
    6
See reviews for
141
832
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel itself is in quite a good location which is about a 35 minute walk from the old town and about 20 minutes from the copacabana beach.

The room itself was clean and the room was full of modern cons and we both thought this was very good.

The staff in the hotel however were unfriendly and did not try to help give advice when asked. We asked about visiting one of the Islands and they said "mmmm not at this time of year and did not give an alternative".

The most disappointing thing was that when we arrived on the Saturday evening we had booked half board and so had dinner included. There was a wedding occurring on that night in the usual place you would have dinner and so they said we would have to eat in a different room. We were ok with eating somewhere different but when we arrived in the room it looked like a conference room for a business conference. All of the food was cold and not very tempting. We did complain at reception but the staff member didn't even acknowledge our frustration as this was a birthday weekend treat. When we ate in the correct restaurant this was better but you needed to ask for dishes to be refilled if empty since the staff were not very proactive.

Dubrovnik is a lovely city and we had a nice time but the hotel was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear FionaWilliams76,

I would like to thank you first of all for choosing to stay at the Hotel Lapad. I thank you also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on your most recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear you were not happy with the level of service offered by us. I apologize for the lack of response at the reception,.I assure you that our guests are our priority and we are here to help and advise them at any time so I really regret for the poor experience you had during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will give us a chance to welcome you again if your travel plans bring you back to Dubrovnik.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Slightly out of town opposite the cruise liner port, convenient for the old town - walking 35 mins, local frequesnt bus 10 mins and 12kuna per trip if you prebuy tickets. Hotel staff on the efficient side of friendly. Rooms in the front block were getting better comments than the back block built into the hillside. Ours was clean and smart although it did take the whole length of our stay to work out the lighting and aircon panel.
Initially disappointed with the first impression of the evening meal buffet (we had booked half board) as the presentation of the food didnt fit with the pictures of the meals in brochures and on screen. However, all food was of good quality and hot. Also, some good bars and restaurants locally and nice to get out of an evening. The Yacht Club staff were friendly with a lovely location. Although we didnt eat there, the food looked lovely.
As we were there for a city break we were surprised to see people bathing by the pool but it turns out that being there for 3 days is more than enough time to all the things you want to do, twice, and relax. We went at the end of October and it was 29 degrees. First place I've been where I left describing it as a combined city break/ resort destination.
In the old town, shop and restaurant staff were friendly and not pushy for your custom. Local calamari very tasty and cheap if taken off the light lunch menus. Evenings a lot quieter after cruise ships had gone with a number of bars offering good quality live music - piano, jazz etc.
Overall, very pleased with hotel choice. The positive comments are well justified

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kevin c,

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of Hotel Lapad.

I am thoroughly happy you enjoyed your city break and that you are very pleased with hotel choice.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were upgraded to a suite as it was our honeymoon, which was fantastic. The rooms were amazing and the breakfast is one of the best I have had at a hotel. Over all a very enjoyable stay and good value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear ajsmalls,

What a wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our hotel!

We are delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe for your wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lapad 2 weeks ago and while I was given a fantastic room with views of the port and of swimming pool, I found most of reception staff unfriendly...seems that if you look northern European or are of British descent, then reception staff are very welcoming and friendly. I was born in Australia but of Chinese heritage...unprofessional for a 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when making your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very well appointed hotel in a historic building in a picturesque setting opposite the harbour. We stayed in a superior room as we read that the standard rooms were a little below par, but we didn't have an opportunity to check one out. Judging by the rest of the hotel I'd be surprised if they were anything but very good. Quality finIshes , modern artwork in a sympathetically modernised building. The outdoor pool is not heated which was a bit disappointing as we visited in October. The inclusive breakfast buffet is very good with a wide selection of cooked breakfast items and healthier options. There is a very nice covered terrace overlooking the pool area which is great for morning coffee, afternoon tea, or just hanging out, with free wi-fi, and a small bar. No wi-fi in rooms though.

The only downside, which was not really an issue for us was the location. It is a 10 minute bus ride to the Old City which is where you will probably want to visit a number of times. It is a 5 minute walk to the bus stop along a fairly narrow road with no pavement on one side, and a narrow cobbled pavement with a drop into the harbour on the other side! It might be an issue for more elderly travellers. Some guests take a bus from outside the hotel going in the wrong direction for town to the end of the route (about 10 minutes) and then ride back. Bit like riding a donkey, it's OK if you're patient! Or simply take a taxi into town if you budget permits. The hotel restaurant serves lunch and dinner (not tried, but looks good). There are only a couple of restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, although there is a better choice up the hill towards Babin Kuk which is a moderate uphill walk or a couple of stops on the bus. Much more reasonable restaurants than in the Old Town

Take a trip to Montenegro on a coach, or a boat trip to the islands.

Overall a good hotel, probably better suited to adults / couples. Gay friendly. :))

Room Tip: Superior rooms are bigger. No gym/fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we enjoyed this hotel very much, staff was kind and profesional. after a 14 hour drive it was the perfect place to come to rest.
And i have never seen my boyfriend enjoy breakfast so much ever before! it was buffet. :)

Room Tip: try to book a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear me_89,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant building on Lapad peninsula, just a 10 minutes from the beach with views of Gruž port across.It's surrounded by the renaissance garden with palms, where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and outdoor pool by the water front.It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and classic rooms in the 1980's block.With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, the warm welcome of its staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad provides you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lapad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.