We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lapad

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lapad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lapad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SWEET MEMORY GIFT VOUCHER
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good hotel in nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Slightly out of town opposite the cruise liner port, convenient for the old town - walking 35 mins, local frequesnt bus 10 mins and 12kuna per trip if you prebuy tickets. Hotel staff on the efficient side of friendly. Rooms in the front block were getting better comments than the back block built into the hillside. Ours was clean and smart although it did take the whole length of our stay to work out the lighting and aircon panel.
Initially disappointed with the first impression of the evening meal buffet (we had booked half board) as the presentation of the food didnt fit with the pictures of the meals in brochures and on screen. However, all food was of good quality and hot. Also, some good bars and restaurants locally and nice to get out of an evening. The Yacht Club staff were friendly with a lovely location. Although we didnt eat there, the food looked lovely.
As we were there for a city break we were surprised to see people bathing by the pool but it turns out that being there for 3 days is more than enough time to all the things you want to do, twice, and relax. We went at the end of October and it was 29 degrees. First place I've been where I left describing it as a combined city break/ resort destination.
In the old town, shop and restaurant staff were friendly and not pushy for your custom. Local calamari very tasty and cheap if taken off the light lunch menus. Evenings a lot quieter after cruise ships had gone with a number of bars offering good quality live music - piano, jazz etc.
Overall, very pleased with hotel choice. The positive comments are well justified

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear kevin c,

I appreciate the time you have taken to post your review of Hotel Lapad.

I am thoroughly happy you enjoyed your city break and that you are very pleased with hotel choice.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    465
    102
    19
    6
See reviews for
134
796
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were upgraded to a suite as it was our honeymoon, which was fantastic. The rooms were amazing and the breakfast is one of the best I have had at a hotel. Over all a very enjoyable stay and good value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear ajsmalls,

What a wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our hotel!

We are delighted to hear you had a very enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe for your wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Lapad 2 weeks ago and while I was given a fantastic room with views of the port and of swimming pool, I found most of reception staff unfriendly...seems that if you look northern European or are of British descent, then reception staff are very welcoming and friendly. I was born in Australia but of Chinese heritage...unprofessional for a 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when making your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very well appointed hotel in a historic building in a picturesque setting opposite the harbour. We stayed in a superior room as we read that the standard rooms were a little below par, but we didn't have an opportunity to check one out. Judging by the rest of the hotel I'd be surprised if they were anything but very good. Quality finIshes , modern artwork in a sympathetically modernised building. The outdoor pool is not heated which was a bit disappointing as we visited in October. The inclusive breakfast buffet is very good with a wide selection of cooked breakfast items and healthier options. There is a very nice covered terrace overlooking the pool area which is great for morning coffee, afternoon tea, or just hanging out, with free wi-fi, and a small bar. No wi-fi in rooms though.

The only downside, which was not really an issue for us was the location. It is a 10 minute bus ride to the Old City which is where you will probably want to visit a number of times. It is a 5 minute walk to the bus stop along a fairly narrow road with no pavement on one side, and a narrow cobbled pavement with a drop into the harbour on the other side! It might be an issue for more elderly travellers. Some guests take a bus from outside the hotel going in the wrong direction for town to the end of the route (about 10 minutes) and then ride back. Bit like riding a donkey, it's OK if you're patient! Or simply take a taxi into town if you budget permits. The hotel restaurant serves lunch and dinner (not tried, but looks good). There are only a couple of restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, although there is a better choice up the hill towards Babin Kuk which is a moderate uphill walk or a couple of stops on the bus. Much more reasonable restaurants than in the Old Town

Take a trip to Montenegro on a coach, or a boat trip to the islands.

Overall a good hotel, probably better suited to adults / couples. Gay friendly. :))

Room Tip: Superior rooms are bigger. No gym/fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we enjoyed this hotel very much, staff was kind and profesional. after a 14 hour drive it was the perfect place to come to rest.
And i have never seen my boyfriend enjoy breakfast so much ever before! it was buffet. :)

Room Tip: try to book a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLapad, Guest Relations at Hotel Lapad, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear me_89,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katica

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for almost a week in October 2012 and we can't fault the hotel or the staff in any way. They bent over backwards to help us book excursions, offer advice and they really went the extra mile. I had my birthday while there and, unbeknownst to me my girlfriend had told the hotel. As a result we were upgraded to a harbour-view room (worth the extra fuss if you can get it), I received a nice message and bowl of fruit on the day, and they even arranged a cake and embarrassing sing-song at the nearby Orsan restaurant (also excellent).
The breakfasts were delicious and extensive and the bar area was a nice place to spend the evening. The location is very good, only a short bus ride away from the old town and overlooks the harbour area where the huge cruise ships dock daily.
As for advice on what to do in Dubrovnik, the old town and city walls are of course a must. We also spent a day visiting Mostar which is just across the border in Bosnia and a good way to see another, very different country. For the more adventurous, the sea kayaking being offered near the Pile Gate is a brilliant way to work off all the pizza and meat you'll have eaten! And the cliff-diving offered by these guys is a hair-raising experience!
Restaurant-wise, the afore-mentioned Orsan yacht club is very good for seafood but our favourite place by a mile was the Taj Mahal, a lovely Bosnian place in the Old City and listed on all the tourist maps.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the new building, but either way service will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just spent a week at the Hotel Lapad. It's a great base for seeing the sites of Dobrovnik.

The staff are friendly and helpful. We all arrived at 11.30 AM and check in is not until 14.00hrs. But everyone seemed to be able to check in by 1pm. We had previously upgraded to a Superior room after reading the reviews but they had forgotten so we had another 20 minute wait while the room was prepared but were still checked in before 2pm.
Lovely room and a great shower in the bathroom. We were in Room 31 which had a spectacular view of the harbour. Unfortunately we could not once connect to the wifi in the hotel from this room, although the signal showed as strong, this was using different devices. The wifi works in the bar area but can be a bit poor at times.

There were a few problems with the room. No tea and coffee facilities as advertised, nor robes and slippers. Also the hairdryer had a broken fan covering as I found out when I caught my hair in it. We informed the reception after breakfast and within 30 minutes everything was changed over or provided. They are good hairdryers too, not the awful ones you usually get in hotel bathrooms.

Breakfast and dinner had a pretty good selection of hot and cold items.

Just along from the hotel are a couple of restaurants that have great menus and are perfect for lunch if you are not in the old town.

Buy a Dubrovnik card for your bus tickets from reception and you get entry into some museums and the walls. The wall price is 70 Kuna alone so it's worth it, but be warned. A 3 day card gives you 10 bus trips, so if you take the advice from the rep to get the number 6 bus from outside the hotel right to the end of the route then jump on the first bus departing, you use 2 tickets, but it does guarantee you a seat. These buses are VERY busy.

We hired a car for 2 days to visit Montenegro and have a bit of a drive about the Dubrovnik area. Montenegro is a lovely drive with some spectacular scenery but we were a bit dissapointed when we got to the tourst destinations. Kotor was very nice but Budva was a real letdown. We hired a car from a great place two stops up on the number six right by the roundabout. he gave us a free upgrade. The price included all insurances. We recommened someone else from the hotel to use him too and when we returned the car he gave us a bottle of wine for the recommendation!

The next day we went to Cavtat which is a 30 min drive from Dubrovnik Old Town and it was great. Lots of harbour side restuarants and cafes. We went to Konavoski Dvori restaurant for lunch which is a further 20 min drive towards the Montenegro border. It's a great restaurant with a watermill and falls alongside it. Home made bread, churned butter and delicious food.

Our last night we ate at Amfora restaurant which is the other side of the harbour from the hotel. It was recommended by friends at home and lived up to it's reviews. Steaks cooked to perfection, chocolate fondant oozing deliciousness. Superb.

It was a lovely week. Would we go back, probably not as after a week you've pretty done and seen all there is but I would certainly recommend the visit and the hotel.

PS. I imagine if you go earlier in the year it's very crammed, but just at the end of the season, it's lovely with hardly anyone around the pool or on the beaches.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31 in the old wing which has plebty of room, but no wi-fi access. But the view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lapad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lapad

Address: Lapadska Obala 37, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lapad 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant building on Lapad peninsula, just a 10 minutes from the beach with views of Gruž port across.It's surrounded by the renaissance garden with palms, where gala dinners and wedding receptions take place and outdoor pool by the water front.It consists of 163 rooms, spacious superior rooms in the old traditional building and classic rooms in the 1980's block.With the beautiful setting overlooking the harbour, the warm welcome of its staff and outstanding service Hotel Lapad provides you a wonderful and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lapad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapad Hotel Dubrovnik
Lapad Dubrovnik
Hotel Lapad Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lapad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.