We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but has problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Komodor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Komodor to your Saves list
Hotel Komodor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Wellness & Spa
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Hotel but has problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a great week in Dubrovnic, The hotel was pleasantly situated and in general very clean. Starting with our arrival we were disappointed that we were given a Double room when we had booked a twin room due to my medical condition. The receptionist was not helpful at the time in re-arranging this. The room was comfortable, however one danger was the STEP up into the shower room/toilet in poor light this was dangerous and I nearly fell into the toilet when I did not raise my foot high enough during the night. One other problem was that if you were in the bathroom and room 204 were talking or also in their bathroom you could hear every word or sound that they made, this could be very embarrassing. The good points are that the room was very clean room 203 and the lady cleaning the rooms was always cheerful and polite.
The food in the hotel was superb cannot fault it at all, I would however suggest that they change the sweets available in the evenings and give more variety over the week, i.e ice cream/jelly/custard ect.. The idea of a buffet Dinner is great with plenty of choices.
A nice touch was the bottle of water on our table each evening, the staff were excellent and always happy to please. One major disadvantage was not having a lager seated bar area or lounge, although we sat outside on the terrace some evenings which was great, when the evenings became chilly you wanted to go inside but their was no where to sit in comfort, so we made a hasty retreat to our rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a better view but the second floor is nice. However I would not suggest room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for writing this review.

We are truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectations all the way.

Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and will help us to improve in the future.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    78
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
16
83
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great hotel friendly staff very helpful house maid Barbara a real star smiling and so cheerful,everyone is.The food and choices for breakfast and the evening meal fantanstic.The walks and scenery were wonderful cant wait to return so many sites to see and the history.really relaxed and chilled loved it.

Room Tip: Book rooms with balcony or terrace Double rooms have larger shower /bathroom than Twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.,

thank you for writing this review, it means a lot for us and it is our guidance for improvement.

We believe that your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rooms No. 117 & 118 are so damp that wet clothes never get dry there. If you suffer from asthma, you'd better not take them. Bathrooms require refurbishment. Staff is polite and helpful. Management is experienced and professional. However, they were not flexible at all to refund at least a part of the room rate when we decided to leave one day early because of the damp air in the rooms.
The beach is close. The old town is easily accessible from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 117 & 118, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very sorry that your stay in our hotel didn't meet your expectations.

We are planning hotel renovation in the near future, including these rooms you mentioned.

As far as you shorter stay, your agency (BOOKING.COM) didn't approve your request so we handled the matter the way your travel agency wanted.

We hope that you will visit us again and that you will be satisfied with your next vacation here.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great weeks stay here in late july and i must say i was impressed!
bed was comfy, there was a tv (which in reality was surplus to requirements) fresh towels every day, free beach towels at the pool side bar, toileteries black out curtains, shutters and blankets just incase you get cold!

food was good and plentiful, beer was a little overpriced however there was a supermarket literally 3 minutes walk away where you could buy it for 90p

bus stop was right next to the hotel where you could get shuttled direct to the old town (24 kuna return - well cheaper than glasgow) plety of places to eat and drink all the while you felt very safe.

location was spot on and i can see what people say about the rooms requiring a freshen up however they were clean and had a neutral decor and lets be honest you dont go on holiday to sit in the hotel room!

if there could be one down side to this hotel it had to be the strange veal concoction every night at dinner. the rest of the food was great!

Room Tip: rooms 112 to 115 are located pool side perfect if you come back and just wanna jump straight in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Your feedback is motivating us and serves us as a motivation in the future because guest satisfaction is very important to us.

Thank you again and we hope that we will have a chance to be at your services in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Komodor hotel is not situated that close to the old town of Dubrovnik ( ou need to take a 15 minute bus ride into town), but the amenities it has makes it worthwhile to stay.
A lovely outside pool and sunbathing area,and a 5 minute walk to the "beach/coast".
Buffet breakfasts are fine...and we stayed for the buffet dinners too, as worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible, for a better view out the balconied windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your stay was satisfied and we do hope that you will visit us again.
Best regards,
Spaso Bilic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently had a week's stay at this hotel - very friendly and helpful staff. I was on the first floor and Barbara looked after all the rooms - such a kind and helpful person, I am a single traveller and she made me feel very welcome - as did all the others I have to say. Loved the terrace for eating meals, all very relaxed. Wi-Fi worked a treat in the foyer/reception area but is not available throughout the rest of the hotel - not an issue for me. TV does need updating but I did not watch much - just a bit of news. Gt bus service into Dubrovnik - lots to see. Lapad area is very nice with lots going on, restaurants/bars, beaches (rocky and pebbly) and places to walk. Thoroughly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: One with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for your review.

It is always good to receive a feedback from our guests which is a great motivator for our staff and constantly work to get even better.

Thank you again and we hope that your next stay will be as enjoyable as this one was.

Best regards,

Spaso, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel!
I spent two very pleasant weeks with perfect service!
It is a charming, intimate for those who want to avoid too impersonal hotel chains!
I had the pleasure to enjoy a room with a balcony with stunning sea views, a real treat!
All the team members of the hotel is welcoming, friendly and professional.
Every morning it was a pleasure to discover a smile servers without forgetting the delicious buffet!
I think of Marko Hinko, Ian, Pasko, Boris, Zvonko, Matko, and Spaso Josko which were particularly friendly.
Special mention for Josko, the bartender, who is friendly, professional, always ready to help, charming and very funny!
Anyway, try the Hotel Komodor is to adopt!
Enjoy your stay!
Julia from Paris

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Komodor, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for your review and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Spaso Bilić, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Komodor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Komodor

Address: Masarykov Put 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Komodor 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and cozy family hotel withe the longest tradition on the Lapad peninsula and a typical example of the Mediterranean stone architecture. Dubrovnik's top pebble beaches are just a few footsteps away. Our air-conditioned rooms have charming interiors and all the necessary amenities. The first floor boasts a lovely private terrace with swimming pool. Parasols and sun beds are free of charge. The breakfast buffet,included in the rate, is served in our main restaurant offering a wide selection of local specialties and international cuisine. Lapad Bay promenade with restaurants and bars and shopping area is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The Old town is easily reached by regular bus line which gets you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Komodor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komodor Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Komodor Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Komodor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.