We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma to your Saves list
Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donje Celo bb | Kolocep Island, Dubrovnik 20221, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Villas Kolocep)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at the Kalamota Island Resort that has just been extensively refurbished by the Karisma Group. The refurb hasn't been completed yet and there were clearly some initial teething problems that the resort team had to resolve and some work still going on that was occasionally noisy. Resort staff were superb, very friendly and attentive with nothing too much trouble for them. They genuinely seemed pleased to see the guests and wanted them to enjoy their holiday. Rooms were well appointed, comfortable and kept spotless by the very efficient cleaning team. The quality of the food was excellent and the al fresco dining experience is recommended. This is very much a 'fair weather' resort and if the weather was against you during your visit it could impact severely on the holiday as there is only limited indoor accommodation for guests beyond their rooms. If you have any sort of mobility problems then this could be an issue as there are a lot of steps, some of them quite high, particularly to the higher apartment blocks. The island of Kolocep is absolutely beautiful and peaceful with lots of walks to enjoy. The resort offers a bookable boat service to and from Dubrovnik and there is also the, cheaper, regular local ferry. The times of boat transport mean that you can organise a trip to Dubrovnik very easily. Once all the refurb work has been completed this will definitely be a five star resort, particularly if the level of customer care we experienced is maintained.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Public Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, and furthermore by taking time to write a review of your stay and experience with us. KIR is our first European property and we truly hope you will stay with us and give us a chance to host you again in Kolocep as we expand in the future, or at one of our other hotels. We truly value your each suggestion and advice and can only hope you will come back to Karisma again.
Very best regards for the summer ahead of us and all the best from Kalamota!
Sincerely,
Alex
Guest Relations - KIR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    240
    84
    26
    8
See reviews for
56
477
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Returned from holiday yesterday very relaxed and rested. We had a superior room with sea view which was lovely a small room with seating and lovely large bed and nice shower room with the smallest basin we had ever seen but that's ok ! We had 2 televisions but never managed to work either no instructions for anything in room but we could have asked. The staff are excellent ,friendly and helpful and try very hard indeed . The a la carte restaurants are very nice although one wasn't ready for use it seems lots of things were not ready at the resort , all sorts of work still going on but didn't affect us until the morning there was a problem with the drains which affected the ground floor apartments but fortunately for us we were on the first floor but to their defence they sorted as quickly as possible . The seating areas are all outdoors which as the evenings are still cool was not great . The animation team were lovely but didn't really do any animating !! The pool party consisted of throwing a few inflatables in the pool and bringing round nibbles and drinks and turning the music up , how ever the man doing the aqua aerobics gave us the best laugh , unintentionally I think !! The food served at the pool bar such as paninis rolls and pizza was very nice but the buffet restaurant food was just adequate, although good service, so more and more people ate in the a la carte which made the service in there slower. It is a 30 minute boat ride to the island and on arrival the small boat over, oh dear, but a larger boat on return so hopefully that problem is no more . If you go to the main land you have to pay for boat over which I think if you are resident of hotel should be free but that's just my opinion . The outdoor bar has the most awful background music which is extremely annoying and we thought proper music or no music at all would be preferable. We met some very nice people and as it's a small resort you do tend to be in close proximity to everyone like it or not !! If you want total relaxation and to get away from it all this is the place and the views are beautiful especially from the restaurant as the end of the path as you turn left out of the hotel gorgeous sunset ! As this hotel has had a total makeover as we were there for the first week of the summer season things will get better I really hope so as the staff are all working hard to make people happy .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mrs. Yvonne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Moreover, thank you for choosing Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma as you holiday destination this season. We truly value each advice, and to that end I would like to inform you that we have sorted many of the issues you mentioned - such as TV guide, entertainment and A La Carte Service. It was our first week, but that is no excuse for sure, it is however from you that we learnt where and how to improve.
I hope we will have a chance to host and court you again at Kolocep.
Please accept our very best regards from Kolocep and all the KIR staff,
My very best,
Alex
KIR Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed for a week in may when we arrived to rain we thought the worst but that was the only rain we saw for the rest of our stay the weather was fantastic we were the first paying guests the management team and staff could not do enough for everyone they are amazing and friendly they listen to you like a friend not just a customer the rooms were very comfortable the a la carte resturants were very good it did go chilly on the nights the staff did their best even supplying blankets for anyone who said they were cold lol Dubrovnik is only a short boat trip away and is a must visit we can advise anyone to visit to enjoy this resort great setting adults only all inclusive luxury need I say go go go oh say hello to Nic a waiter in all resurants he is a credit to Karisma and should be on the management team so Boris thats a must
Thanks again Karisma but still not quite your carribean hotel but sure you will improve with age like a good wine

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Craig,
As our first guests, yes we were very excited to host you, but we would do the same at whichever time of season you came - and we can only hope you will consider us in the future as well as you holiday destination.
We relayed your greeting to NIkola, and of course Boris!
We truly hope you will keep in touch and we truly look forward to you visiting again.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!
Very best regards from Kolocep!
Sincerely,
Alex
KIR Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Kalamota Island Resort in May 2014 and we had a fantastic holiday. We did not know what to expect from the weather in Croatia, but we got lovely sunny days (barring 2 days) but the nights were cold. If you do stay here in May, take adequate clothing to bathe in the glorious sun all day and to stay warm at night.

The age range varied from early twenties to senior citizens so finding like-minded couples to share time with is very easy. The staff were very polite, efficient and professional. No task was too big or small from them. However Zeljko shone out for us as no matter how busy he was he always managed a joke or 2 and really made our holiday memorable.

The food was really good, but could have been warmer. There was a good choice for all meals for even fussy eaters like me. There is a good choice of restaurants including the Villa Ruza and Al Fresco.

The rooms were very good and cleaned daily. We were in room 614 which has excellent views and conveniently located. The shower was really good and the temperature stayed constant while in use. The TV has a lot of different channels in varied languages, but you may find you never use it.

If you like worshiping the sun, then by the pool or beach is the place for you. If you prefer to sight see, then you can either trek across the island or go on one of the several excursions available. I trekked the island and was in awe of the views I saw. I also visited Dubrovnic by getting the ferry (which takes 30 minutes). It is best to go early as it gets really busy later in the day.

Overall, this is a place I would love to go to again as I have no flaws with it what so ever. Hands down this is the best holiday I have ever been on because of the stunning scenery, things to do and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Mark,
Thank you so much for choosing Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma as your holiday spot for the beginning of the season. You were one of our first guests in the newly opened resort, and we are truly thankful for your visit, and moreover the review and time taken to write it.
The guest feedback is essential to us, as we truly mold our services by them.
We can only hope you will consider entrusting us with your holiday again, as we have plans for not only expansion at KIR which you already enjoyed, but across the Adriatic.
Please relay our very best regards to your wife too, and once again, we hope we will have a chance to welcome you again.
Please accept, on behalf of all the KIR Team, our very best regards, and rest assured Zeljko will receive your kind words.
All the best from Kalamota!
Sincerely,
Alex
KIR Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just had a wonderful relaxing holiday at this lovely hotel. Not only did we have a wonderful holiday but in was excellent value for the money.The staff add so much to making your stay at this hotel a very memorable one as they are so welcoming and attentive, nothing is to much trouble for them. The rooms are very modern and comfortable and very clean and spacious. The food on offer is of a good standard, especially the at the al a carte restaurant, but at times needs to be served a little hotter. The island itself is small but beautiful and tranquil. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and will make a return visit.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Ms. Davina,
Thank you for entrusting us with your holiday and for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us. We value your precious time, and moreover thank you for wanting to return to us. If you plan to come this season, please inform us that it is a return trip, as for next season, we have new surprises for you as we plan amazing new things in our resort, and hope you will give us a chance to host you again.
We wish you all the very best,
On behalf of the the KIR Team,
Sincerely, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Like the previous reviews from this week we had a fantastic time, yes a few teething problems but as they say they were resolved usually the same day, we had to involve the Manager with 1 problem and he sorted it, well done Boris. In a way we were lucky with the hotel only having about 150 guests as it was small and friendly, this week they will have about 250. There is a lack of seating especially at night as they use the tables and chairs for the Al Freco A La Carte and in my opinion they should use the outside area next to the restaurant and not the bar area as that only leaves the 4 Elements bar area. To me the restaurant was disappointing with limited selection and lack of cooking stations that I would have expected in a Karisma hotel, I did hear they need to expand a number of areas but it will take time, we will look forward to going back in a couple of years. The return ferry journey was far better with a proper ferry and not a booze cruise boat. The drink measures are small for an all inclusive but we felt that suited the ambience of the place as it was a couples romantic hotel, the sunsets up by the private restaurant are not to be missed. The 1 negative thing I will add is the entertainment is non existent apart from the Croatian musicians who were very good and finally thanks to the staff and other guests for making our stay 1 of the best we have had, well done.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view and got room 825 it was an impressive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Brian,
Thank you so much for choosing Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma as your holiday destination. We truly value all the guest comments and I can assure you that those that have not been already addressed, will soon ensue, as we truly strive to listen and act upon our guests' advice. The entertainment we are also working on, and we did improve the seating and restaurant offer.
We truly hope that you will consider coming back to Kolocep again,
Have a lovely summer,
Very best regards from everyone at KIR,
My best,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just coming to the end of a delightful week's holiday at this wonderful hotel. We have enjoyed it so much, we have already booked to return next year. I can honestly say, it is the best holiday for rest and relaxation I have been on and that is largely due to the wonderful location and fantastic staff at this resort. We knew there would be few teething problems, as the hotel was opening after a refurbishment and change of ownership, but the few minor issues we experienced have been dealt with so professionally and with such care, it is quite amazing. Absolutely everyone who works at the hotel, genuinely seem to want to ensure we all have a perfect stay. The food has been really good and would recommend anyone staying books the a la carte option for lunch or dinner. breakfast is also great with freshly prepared omelettes to add to the usual buffet spread. The rooms are very comfortable. Only slight problem would be the fact that the hotel is very much an al fresco experience and the evenings can be quite chilly in early May. If you book to stay here, you also have to accept the additional limitations of living on an island particularly if you want to go on organised excursions. The boat trip is about 30 mins to get to mainland to pick up your coach and obviously you may have to hang around after a long day on a coach for the next boat back for example. We would definitely recommend getting the boat over to see Dubrovnik, which is easily arranged with the regular ferry costing about £2 each way. It is easy to get the bus 1a or 1b to the old town and only takes about 10 mins. So if you want, peace and quiet, with lovely people, this is a perfect break and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view room would be worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Lynne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Moreover, we are so happy that we will be able to welcome and host you again! We just wanted to let you know that we have further plans on improving the resort for the next year season, and are so looking forward to your return!
Thank you for your comments, we will make sure that for the chilly season we have more beach blankets and pashminas to keep our dear guests warm.
We thank you for choosing Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma and look forward to your next visit!
On behalf of the whole KIR team,
Very best regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma

Address: Donje Celo bb | Kolocep Island, Dubrovnik 20221, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Villas Kolocep)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalamota Island Resort, by Karisma, formerly known as Hotel Villas Kolocep, had an overall and complete renovation in 2013/2014 into an all-inclusive couples and adults (over 18) only resort. Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma is the only hotel on the island with a dense countryside of palms, orange and olive trees. Kolocep is a traffic-free island, has only 160 friendly inhabitants and 250 sunny days a year that give you a sensation of living on your own private island, only 30 minutes by boat from Dubrovnik. At Kalamota Island Resort guests are courted with nature, assisted by surroundings that provide a full experience of a well-deserved holiday. The property and staff are intertwined to stimulate all senses, pastimes and leisure pursuits. The resort is located on a beach that extends to the little village and port, offering seclusion and ample space to the guests that wish to retain their peace. Kalamota Island Resort is perfect for adults who choose to be pampered in nature. Active relaxation in intimate surroundings is what awaits the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolocep Hotel Dubrovnik
Villas Kolocep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.