We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma to your Saves list
Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Donje Celo bb | Kolocep Island, Dubrovnik 20221, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Villas Kolocep)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely clean and airy rooms, sea view was a must. Quite a steep climb and many steps to some rooms but if you need to, ask for ground floor as we did. Block 6 and 7 lower floor rooms had smashing views. Lower rooms share a verandah with three other rooms, upper rooms have private balconies. We liked the verandah and made new friends.

No tea or coffee making facilities in room, we took our own so the empty fridge was handy for milk and juice etc and medication. Tv was handy for the odd view of wimbledon.

For a three star place, the buffets were good value and varied and of decent and fresh quality. The breakfasts were super, lots of choice BUT more fruit needed such as bananas and soft fruit. Porridge was fanastic! Egg chef in the monring anda pasta station at night available.

The pool area was spotless but but a little tired. More sun loungers needed and the outside showers need a revamp. However was lovely and the views outstanding.

The rep Ivona was superb and friendly without being over bearing. Very informative and pleasant young lady. Hotel staff except one waiter were lovely and efficient. Bravo to IVO who took us on a walk and did the water aquacise - He was a star. The room cleaneers were very efficient and the bathroom was absolutely spotless on arrival, rooms being serviced every day and clean towels on request.

Poolside drinks service would have been a bonus - lots of guests mentioned this. The afternoon loud music 3pm until 5pm was not needed and totally inappropriate - many guests commented on this. A more select choice of music in the evening might have encouraged more folk to sit near the lounge bar in the gardens.

The curtained day beds and lovely near the lounge bar and had sparkly lit chandeliers each evening; very pretty to sit and sip drinks and look out to sea.

The cafes around the island are moderately priced and ok. A lunch of greek salad is only about three quid.

The island provision store is a hoot - the ladies serving are so curt - but you get used to it!

The a la carte restaurant was a refreshing change to buffet - the service and food being of quite high quality.

Over all we experieinced a relaxing and fab time; we are likely to return if it stays half board (not if it goes all inclusive as the rumours abounded) but as always, please dont spoil your island Kolcep people and Hotel owners and Thompsons by building anymore and changing things - it works superbly as it is - you have a mini paradise - please keep it that way.

Sea sox or shoes needed for sea swimming as laods of sea urchins about.

One last comment - altho the outward trip was fine, the return wait at check in was for us over an hour and twenty minutes; others waited nearly two hours! Not good - Thompsons need to sort this out and fast. Lots of grumbles as it was stiflingly hot in terminal and absolute chaos with folk worrying over missing flights - Most check in desks had an 'all flights' sign so no separating earlier flight times at check in. Very poor and a great shame to end the holiday on a bum note.

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem with walking and inclines or you get easily short of breath - this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for entrusting Thomson and us for your holiday this summer, and thank you for sharing your experience. We take your advice and comments seriously, and to that end we would like to let you know that Hotel Villas Kolocep, or from next year Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma will undergo total renovations, and we will have coffee and tea station in the rooms. We will also renovate all facilities and add new - thus new sun-loungers will await, together with a Pool Snack Bar corner.
Even though it will change to AI, we will remain a small and secluded hotel, there will be no additional rooms built and we will truly mold the renovations to fit the superb natural surroundings and to stay in tune with the flora and fauna of our lovely island.
Trust us, it will remain a mini paradise as you say, just improved!
Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope we can welcome you again to Kalamota!
Sunny regards from Kolocep,
My best,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    240
    84
    27
    8
See reviews for
56
478
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed one week on the island in May and had a splendid time.

With the bay location, the hotel offers spectacular views. Our room had everything you need for a seven day stay. There is even a small balcony where we enjoyed the sea view. Every day the room was cleaned and provided with clean towels. Really, it couldn’t be better. There was one minus for me: the room and the bathroom are small, and if you stay over a week you might start feeling uncomfortable.

The breakfast included a choice of cereals, toast, cheese and hams, scrambled and boiled eggs, sausages, all of decent quality. The black coffee was good and always fresh. There was also a Croatian pastry with feta cheese which was very delicious but it was on offer for one morning only. I enjoyed dinners too. Every evening there was fish on the menu: I like fish so it was bliss to me. I also loved the crispy calamari rings and potatoes with rosemary; the salads in local style were delicious and healthy. There was a fruit salad but if some fresh fruits were on offer it would be really good.

The staff was friendly and helpful. All guys (particularly in the restaurant) were efficient and hardworking but it would be a great advantage if they had a higher self-esteem and self-confidence. Hardly any words like ”Hello” or “How are you?” were spoken. Because they are shy or just because they don’t speak English well they did not interact with their guests. In general, the residents of the island themselves seem like modest and fairly shy people.

To reach Dubrovnik from Kolocep it takes about 30-40 minutes. If the sea is calm, the journey is really very pleasant. We went to Dubrovnik by the hotels’ boat. It leaves at 10 am. The earlier boat Jadrolinija leaves at 6.45 am which was too early for us. You don’t have to buy return tickets for the hotel’s boat as you might decide to return with Jadrolinija. It depends on what time you wish to go back to the island. We visited Dubrovnik twice and our second journey with the hotel’s boat was quite scary or exciting – depends how you take it. On departure the sea looked good. But once we left the island, it became choppy. We arrived safe but it was distressing; I didn’t feel safe for about 15 minutes.

Once arrived on Dubrovnik harbour it is easy to get to the Old Town. On our first visit to the Old City we preferred to walk. It takes about 30 minutes and need to go straight only. The walk is pleasant but as you walk along a busy road it can be quite dusty and noisy. The option is to take bus number 1A or 1B (it takes only 10 minutes and the bus stop is located on the harbour itself). If you have 15 kuna promptly for the bus ticket, the bus driver will be very grateful.

With 90 residents only, Kolocep Island itself is a fascinating place. Getting to know the island as much as you learn about it, it’s getting more and more enthralling. Here, everything is around funny numbers. There is one hotel, one shop, one (or two) restaurant, one school with one pupil, one donkey, one café …and five active churches along with eight archaeological churches sites.
The only school has one pupil. It sounds unbelievable but it’s true. The local people are too proud to give up. The pupil is 9-years old boy and he is the pride of the island: the school is still alive.

Ivona, the Thompson guide presenter in the island, is very helpful. We were lucky to have her as she has grown up here and has a huge knowledge about Kolocep. She was kind to find the key for the St. Nikola church and to open for us as the church is usually closed.

Dated to the 10th century, this is a small fascinating church located in the smallest cemetery I have ever seen. There are valuable frescoes inside dating to 11-th century which are under restoration now but we still managed to see some beautiful images. If you have a chance – have a glimpse. No much left but still worth a visit. At least you can admire the church outside. You will recognise some images of this church in paintings which are displayed in the hotel’s dining area.

On your way to St Nikola Church you will also encounter the main church of the island – St Maria. It was closed and couldn’t see much. However, you should not leave straight away. Next to the church is attached a tiny but precious museum of Parish collection. Even if you are not so passionate about history and art, go and have a look it. It is usually closed but we asked Ivona and she opened it for us. By the entrance a beautiful fragment of a sarcophagus shows the hunts of the Centaurs for a lion and lioness. It dates back to 170 to 160 BC, the period of the Roman rule. Commissioned in 15th century, the polyptych is also notable. The images are beautiful; especially of St Blaise (here he doesn’t hold a model of the city of Dubrovnik).

While you are around a sign will direct you to another church – St Anthony the Abbot. This is another tiny hidden treasure. By the right side of the entrance is the eye-catching stone ornament which presumably used to keep holy water. Again, you will recognise it in a painting in the dining area in the hotel.

The Church Holy Trinity of 15th century is another small chapel located in Donje Celo, just a minute walk from the beach. We found it on way to Ruza restaurant (a real treat). Note the northern wall of the church’s façade: a small fragment (most likely taken from older site) with pre-Romanesque Croatian ornament. Some of the churches are quite hidden but the signs will help you not to miss them.

About the beach of Kolocep, it is quite small but was kept clean and tidy. However, be beware…the sea floor is covered with sea urchins as well as with some hard objects. Not to forget - the only cash machine on the island is in the hotel, by the reception.

As a whole, we had a brilliant holiday. We had what we expected: time to relax, to explore the island and visit Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your honest and detailed comments regarding our hotel and the island itself. Tips on what to see and regarding Dubrovnik are amazing and I am sure will mean a lot to other travelers.
It truly means a lot to get feedback from our guests as we strive daily to improve all sectors of HVK. We are undergoing great changes before the next summer, and we truly hope we will have a chance to host you again.
As you traveled as a couple, I am happy to share that HVK will become Kalamota Island Resort and will be an adults' only hotel, catering to all your holiday needs.
I wish you an amazing summer,
Very best regards,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just arrived home from a wonderful weeks holiday on the beautiful island of Kolocep. I was somewhat apprehensive with it only being a three star hotel however we were pleasantly surprised.
The setting is simply idyllic. You arrive on the island via boat from Dubrovnik (23kn single), entering the small bay of Donje celo.
It is just a short walk round the bay to the Hotel where you are greeted by the incredibly friendly staff.
The rooms are in villa blocks just up from the main building of the hotel. Our room was a standard room, with a small balcony and en suite. Nothing overly extravagant but very clean worth every penny!
We were on a half board price plan so we had breakfast and dinner. Both were in a buffet style, however there is the option of eating dinner in the al a carte restaurant, though this isn't available on a Sunday and you have to book one night in advance, but definitely worth doing as food is lovely!
The breakfast buffet was brilliant, great choice of cooked and continental, though could do with more fruit!
Dinner buffet was good, with a wide range of food so there is always going to be something you will like. Also there is a pasta bar with an amazing chef who just brilliant!
The pool area was also better than I expected, however it could be a bit bigger to accommodate the number of people at the hotel. The sun loungers around the pool are somewhat limited for the amount of people at the hotel, however we could always get one in the afternoon.
The loungers and parasols on the beach you do have to pay for. It is relatively in expensive but just depends on how much you want to spend.
You can also rent sups and kayaks so you can explore the island via the sea, it takes about 2 and half hours to kayak round the island which is a must!
Finally the staff at the hotel are the best I have experienced, all are fluent in English and nothing was too much to ask of them.
All in all a wonderful holiday, made by a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Chloe,

Thank you for choosing Kolocep and Croatia for your summer holiday, and for taking the time to review and share your experience!
I hope you will keep a look out for Kalamota Island Resort for next year as we are to become an adults' only resort dedicated to our surreal nature surrounding and crystal waters and the needs of a couples' holiday!
Thank you for your comment regarding the pool and beach, we will improve on our loungers and sunbeds' count for sure, and will have more activities to choose from next year.

Hoping to welcome you again next year,
Best regards from sunny Kolocep,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I think Karen D says it all in her review it is an amazing place. If it is going 5 star, all inclusive, couples only next year, with the layout , many steps from reception to the villas, no lifts to the second and third floors in the villas, you have to be quite fit. Also the food was reasonable, but not 5 star. Dinner was from 7p.m.-9.30p.m. but by 8.30 not a lot left. My only small gripe was the fact that there were no cushions on the sunbeds. Sitting on plastic slats, was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Nearest to the Beach, Restaurant, Pool etc. Villa No 1. We had a suite with sea view, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Judith,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our hotel and share your experience with the other travelers. We value your each comment and advice, and to that end we promise to have more comfy chairs and sunbeds for next summer.
Moreover, undergoing total renovations, traveling as a couple we kindly ask you to check on us with your Thomson agent again for your summer 2014 holiday as we will be an adults' only resort.

You have our promise that we will mold our resort to fit the stunning surroundings you enjoyed so much, and we will only improve our welcome in order to try and surpass you recent stay!

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you again,
Best regards,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay, WOW, what a beautiful place. No cars, no roads, just peace and quiet. Getting to the mainland is easy, ferries run at regular intervals throughout the day, and also take you to two other islands.Hotel is very clean, food very good, staff lovely (Doris, in the al al a carte is a real sweetie), balconies are small, but why would you want to sit outside your room when everywhere you go aroud the island is peaceful and quiet? There is no set smoking area in the restaurant, which is a little unpleasant, but overall this is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: All the villas are on a fairly steep incline, but villa one is the easiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review! We relayed your greeting to Doris, and she is definitely the HVK force of the month!
We truly hope you will come back next year and let us court you with nature again!
In a totally upgraded resort we will remain dedicated to our guests and the nature of the island and the crystal clear sea.
Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma waits for you!
Until then - Thank You for entrusting us with your holiday,
Sunny regards,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon at Villas Kolocep where we had an amazing, romantic holiday in beautiful surroundings, on a lovely secluded island.

Getting to the hotel was a mini adventure on the 35 mins boat trip, where we were met by the little golf buggies who take your luggage to the hotel and by Ivona, the very friendly and efficient Thomson's rep. Check in was really easy as some of this is done on the boat ride over. We were directed to Villa Block 7 where we had a top floor room with a stunning sea view. Although described as 'basic' in other reviews, we didn't think that at all, it was small but very clean and modern. There is a free fridge and a free safe, comfy beds, air con and a TV. WIFI is a supplement (£6/day) but the signal strength is great and the connection is really quick. Whilst the bathroom was spotless, if you are on the large side you may find the shower cubicles a bit small. There is no kettle, so if you can't survive without a brew during the day, bring a travel kettle with you, we took ours but never used it. Rooms are cleaned daily by really friendly staff.

The weather during our stay was consistently hot and sunny with an average of 27 degrees, with only a bit of rain on one morning, which quickly cleared up. Do take a small brolly with you though as there is no cover from the villas to the restaurant. You might want to take a book etc with you for if the weather isn't too great, however there is a small lending library in the reception area.

The food was great and plentiful. Again other reviews have disagreed with this but we had no complaints at all. It's a self service breakfast and evening buffet with lots of choice. In the morning there is an omelette chef and in the evening a pasta chef who makes to order. The waiting on staff, including Maiden, Doris, Ivan etc were really efficient and friendly. There is an a la carte option too at no extra price, booked via reception. The bar prices are average and in the evening there is a cocktail bar with a sophisticated vibe with chandelier lit beds and seating area, where Alen will recommend a cocktail for you if you are spoilt for choice. A really nice way to round off a romantic evening looking out over the lit bay listening to the waves lapping. An evening meal at Villa Ruza has been raved about but, whilst the sunset from there is beautiful, you can see it sitting on the benches near the harbour. The food was nice but not amazing and to have 3 courses with drinks would be expensive and the quality was not really that much better than at the hotel. We recommend Villa Lovor for a bit of lunch. The menu is basic but the food is great and we recommend the greek salad (£3), drinks are cheaper than at the hotel. Again the staff are really friendly and there is a 10% discount if you are staying at the hotel.

Daytime activities may be limited for some. The hotel has a day itinerary including the usual walk, table tennis etc. There is an outside, elevated, massage area near the sea but we didn't use this. You are able to rent bikes, canoes and kayaks from just outside the hotel. We kayaked for half a day (£12) and it was a killer, but a lot of fun to see around the perimeter of the island, don't worry you can just rent one for an hour (probably more sensible), expect to get very wet! There are lots of walks around the island, a couple are well signposted but most are not and are a bit off-roady. The main walk starts opposite the harbour jetty and you can go over the the other little village and bay where there is a bar (cheap) and fish restaurant. You can carry on further to the cliffs of Placet and then trek through the woods to the elusive lighthouse, which we didn't manage to find. However the experience is really nice as you are constantly surrounded by beautiful butterflies and fruit trees. We found another walk which was far more scenic. Go past Villa Block 5 and up through the volleyball court, there is a little path leading upwards and then turn left onto the red trail. This takes you over the top of the island on a defined path where you can see all over the island and over to Dubrovnik leading out to the smallest church in the world, ever.

There is only 1 small sandy beach in front of the hotel, where you can hire beds and parasols, but we favoured a small pebbly beach which can be found by turning right through the gates of Villa Ruza. We shared a day here with a sleeping, snoring local lady. Very funny. As other reviews say, do invest in a pair of sea shoes as there are lots of Sea Urchins, or buy some from the very small shop near the harbour.

Thomson's do several excursions, we went on the Dubrovnik by Night. We recommend this as it is cooler, less busy and very atmospheric. We took the cable car (£10) to the top of the city where the views at night were lovely. We also went on the Montenegro trip which was also great but remember to get your return ferry ticket (£5) as well from the harbour ticket office, as this is not included in the Thomson package and bare in mind that it is a long day with a 6.00 am start and a 8.30 pm return. The hotel does a lunch package which you need to book the night before via the helpful reception staff. Montenegro itself was very hot and busy, but scenic.

We have no hesitation in recommending this island and hotel to everyone. If you want romance, excellent customer service, total peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then this is the place for you. If you want lots of bars and nightlife into the small hours with constant entertainment then it probably isn't. If you are thinking of going, do it now as I'm sure the prices will rocket next year when it is rumoured to be changing to an all inclusive, couples only resort. We love it and were really sad to leave, and have lots of great memories.

Room Tip: Our room was 713 which is the top of Block 7 with a sea view. Very quiet. Blocks 6 and 8 will also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Public Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. Moreover, we are thankful that you decided to entrust Thomson and us with your honeymoon!
We hope you will come back for your anniversary next year - we promise a totally renovated and upgraded hotel! (and you won't need to bring your kettle that you did not even use, you can just not use our one!)

Jokes aside, we are hoping to welcome you in an adults' only resort next year. We will include more excursions and many more activities for you.

Keep a look out for Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma through Thomson, or like us or follow us on:
https://twitter.com/VillasKolocep or
https://www.facebook.com/HotelVillasKolocep or when rains start back home visit us at http://www.kalamotaislandresort.com/

Again, thank you for staying with us,
Have a lovely Summer!
My very best,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a week on Kolocep Island and it was as beautiful and peaceful as the reviews claim with stunning vistas and lots of gorgeous secluded bays. You do need to be fit and active to access some of the bays and beaches and the stunning scenery is best viewed from the many forest trails that lead up into the hills.

The Villas Kolocep Hotel sits right on the beach but is laid out over a steep hillside so any person with walking difficulties or who is not reasonably fit will not particularly enjoy the stiff walks up to the rooms and to the restaurant and bar area from the beach. Similarly trying to maneovre a pushchair around the hotel was also quite a challenge for the three sets of parents with young children.

The layout coupled with the secluded and rural location also means that for children there is very little to occupy their minds and time and boredom will set in very quickly.

We were told that as from 2014 the hotel will only be for adults and only on an all-inclusive basis through Thomsons. This probably makes sense but the Hotel will need to up its game in terms of entertainment especially of an evening to satisfy the all-inclusive customer.

Room Tip: Villa 1 has the shortest uphill climb and rooms 106 upwards have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksandra N, Guest Relations Manager at Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with other travelers.
You are absolutely right about the maneuvering of pushchairs and we will after total renovations offer an adult-only (over 18s) property. Thank you for your comment regarding the activities and entertainment, we will definitely work on that for next season.

Finally, we truly appreciate you for entrusting us with your family's and friends' holiday this summer, and I truly hope we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

We wish you a lovely summer,
Very best & sunny regards from the Hotel Villas Kolocep team,
Aleksandra
info@hotelvillaskolocep.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma

Address: Donje Celo bb | Kolocep Island, Dubrovnik 20221, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Villas Kolocep)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalamota Island Resort, by Karisma, formerly known as Hotel Villas Kolocep, had an overall and complete renovation in 2013/2014 into an all-inclusive couples and adults (over 18) only resort. Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma is the only hotel on the island with a dense countryside of palms, orange and olive trees. Kolocep is a traffic-free island, has only 160 friendly inhabitants and 250 sunny days a year that give you a sensation of living on your own private island, only 30 minutes by boat from Dubrovnik. At Kalamota Island Resort guests are courted with nature, assisted by surroundings that provide a full experience of a well-deserved holiday. The property and staff are intertwined to stimulate all senses, pastimes and leisure pursuits. The resort is located on a beach that extends to the little village and port, offering seclusion and ample space to the guests that wish to retain their peace. Kalamota Island Resort is perfect for adults who choose to be pampered in nature. Active relaxation in intimate surroundings is what awaits the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kolocep Hotel Dubrovnik
Villas Kolocep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamota Island Resort by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.