We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, although expensive. Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Villa Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, although expensive. Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent rooms, although whilst they all technically have a sea view, any beyond number 05 on each floor( eg 106+. 206+, etc) have limited views due to the trees outside the window! - but a minor gripe. Rooms are large with balcony, good air-con, good bathrooms. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is served to you, but you can have almost whatever you want, and plenty of it. Boat transfer to the Old Town is great, but will not go if the sea is too choppy - but then they take you by mini-bus instead. Good swimming off the hotel's own terraced rock area (sun beds, drinks and food). Great indoor pool with outdoor sunbeds. Great location by the sea, overlooking the Old Town. Overall, a very good, albeit expensive, hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for anything from 01-05 on each floor (eg 101-105, 201-205 etc) and preferably the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Claverdon_traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. I truly appreciate it and for pointing out our advantages which differentiate us from others. Such uniqueness remains in guest’s memories for a long time. We really put an effort in providing excellent customer service and a great product to our guests to create an amazing experience for them.

We are looking forward to your next visit and opportunity to rate us on Trip Advisor with the highest score.

Best regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    71
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
50
228
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Dubrovnik for four nights. Dubrovnik was our first stop in Croatia and this beautiful property set the tone and a very nigh standard for the rest of our trip!

The room (306) was modern, spacious and comfortable, with a frontal view to the sea. Comfortable bathroom as well, great terry towels and excellent Bulgary amenities (which were only replaced upon request, however)

Breakfast is a la carte. Food was good and the dining room staff is gracious and accommodating.

We used the vaporetto and the shuttle van to go to town, though we walked most of the times. Can't beat the location, so close to town and yet removed enough to make you feel relaxed, far from the noise and hustle.

Overall, terrific experience. Our only negative observation would be the reception staff - those ladies are unfriendly and unhelpful! Especially when compared to the dining room, pool and beach staff who were always gracious and helpful.

We will highly recommend Villa Dubrovnik to our friends. Thanks for a terrific stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Karina K,

Our main goal is to accommodate all the wishes of our guests and deliver the service they are looking for.

I truly appreciate your feedback and for pointing out our weak areas, departments which need immediate improvements. We recently had few comments. We are carefully analyzing each and every comment. We detected which persons were not acting adequate to our standards and we did immediate changes. Special attention was stressed additionally to my team.

I apologise one more time for any inconvenience caused and believe that this experience will not deter you to come back and enjoy our villa at the best because at the end you comment that you liked it.

Looking forward to personally welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights through a Luxurylink deal and got an executive level room that included one dinner, breakfast every morning and a welcoming cocktail. Oddly no one at reception acknowledged our package, a practice we are accustomed to and we received no welcoming cocktail but we did get a credit on our bill. Our room was on the second floor facing the Lokum island and a beautiful view of the bay and the wonderful town. As others have said, lovely hotel that had its pros and cons. None of the amenities (soap, etc) was replaced unless we asked. The shower is very awkward and requires a bit of maneuvering to use. Ar least once we soaked the floor and prayed we didn't cause a flood. Placement of the TV was'nt too bad despite the other comments about this but we had bad reception in the beginning that improved. We never made use of the boat into town but we tried. Poor weather prevented it. The walk is about 15 minutes to/from the hotel and we quite enjoyed it. We walked it at all times of day. The food was very nice but pricey. We are lunch and dinner a few times in town and going there to explore is a must! Best times are very early or late afternoon. Be prepared for masses of people when there is a cruise ship in town. Service at the hotel was generally good. Everyone was polite and spoke reasonable English. The beach is actually chairs placed on flat slabs of rock, almost in the water but far enough away that even a high tide doesn't affect sunbathing. Getting in the cold but beautiful water requires one to carefully climb down some stairs that go right into the sea and then leaping into the water. The pool is inside but the doors open to the outside where there are comfortable lounge chairs. The spa offers many services, we found the massage a bit disappointing but admit to being a massage snob. Overall we loved Dubrovnik and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear frtsam2la,

Thank you very much for your honest opinion. I am very happy to hear you would recommend our Villa. We always welcome the positive and negative comments from our guests so we can make the bad better and the good best. I am glad to hear that overall our service met your expectations, and we will do our best that the next time you visit us it will even exceed them. As I had promised you when we met, we carefully reviewed all your comments and are already taking actions to improve all the mentioned areas as much as possible. We do hope you will visit us again very soon and have the chance to take a boat ride with our hand-made Italian Villa Vaporetto.

Kind Regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You will be wowed by the magnificence of this modern property. It's in a nice location about 1km out from the old town, with fantastic views of the old town. It's about a 1km walk to the old town otherwise you can take the hotel boat to the old city, or minivan during bad weather. We stayed in room 418 - we were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a suite which was very unexpected but much appreciated as we were travelling with our nine year old son. This is a 6 star property which is an extravagance but you will feel good being there. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that but rooms and common areas are truly amazing. Staff very helpful. Only comment would be that the location does not have close by shops for incidentals - for this you must go to the old town. It was not a problem as you can pickup some things and bring them back with you from the old town. Thanks for an amazing 3 nights Villa Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: Book and pay up-front for a better room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear yoyo2603

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Villa. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we highly appreciate your comments on our decor and our staff.
We have always strived for the hotel itself and our customer service to capture the essence of our Romance forever experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon and also offer you the delights of our cuisine.

Best regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a fantastic week at the Villa Dubrovnik. The hotel is great, the weather was almost perfect and its a very relaxing hotel to spend your time in.

We arrived at nearly 2am due to a delayed flight and were checked in efficiently and were soon in our rooms and sleeping. We were in room 205 which is a good choice - the low numbers of each floor are in the wing without trees in front and away from the bar and restaurant. We overlooked the sunbathing area by the pool and had a fantastic view of the Adriatic Sea. There were some hugely expensive yachts berthed there and the odd cruise ship arrived and moored up. The setting of the hotel is fantastic and the view makes it even more special.

The rooms are clean and comfortable but are quite modest for a 5* hotel. The light switches like in many hotels never seemed logical and the TV was awkwardly placed in the middle of the room (what's wrong with the wall - surely most people staying here won't be watching Croatian TV?). The wardrobe doors were a pain as if one is open you can't get in the other part of the wardrobe or the safe. The bathroom is well equipped with Bvlgari toiletries although it does have glass walls which need to be covered by the curtain for any level of privacy.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel which is especially useful near the pool. In the room somehow it just didn't seem to work which was quite frustrating ( the room seemed to be in between the beach router and the hotel one and we ended up in a dead spot).

The food was very good. As others have mentioned breakfast is not a buffet and you get to chose as much as you want from a menu. At €30 per person it's quite expensive and unless you chose a number of items you are unlikely to feel you have had good value. The sauce on the eggs benedict was water thin so low marks to the chef on duty that morning. We had lunch most days by the pool and always really enjoyed it - salads were good, burger was great and had a tuna wrap too. All were a reasonable price. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. The menu is not vast but had some delicious dishes on it and a good choice of local wines - the light rose wines were our favourite on the holiday.

We didn't try the spa but the gym was fine - one of each of the usual pieces of equipment and a plasma TV on the wall to reduce the boredom! The indoor pool (which is arguably outdoor too when they open the doors to the patio area) was nice but rarely used. It was a little on the cool side but nice to cool off after sunbathing.

The vaporetto boat was a real touch of class and was absolutely genuine from Venice. You felt very special arriving in the Old Twon or back at he hotel whilst on board. The real frustration is knowing when it's running - especially on the way back. Even relatively flat seas are too much for it so when you are waiting for your trip back to the hotel at quarter past the hour you really don't know whether it will turn up - and if it doesn't you don't have time to run to the place where the mini bus runs from instead. You really need to have the hotels number with you and phone them to know how you can get back. Having said than the walk back is about 15 minutes and is a very pleasant walk with great views.

The staff throughout the hotel are great and really make sure you have a great time. All of them appear to be locals but speak perfect English.

So overall we have had a great holiday at Villa Dubrovnik and in the end does deserve a 5 rating despite its number of flaws. The hotel does need to be careful though as a 5* hotel does need to be close to perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Neale1810

Thank you very much for your candid feedback.
It is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with remarkable service and anticipate your needs. Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve in our Villa for our guests

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for our honeymoon, the hotel is beautiful and rooms have an amazing sea view, although reception staff were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful which ruined the experience a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Emilyg1986

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Unfortunately we were disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations. Our aim is always to provide the best of the best and go above it.
I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments, so that any issues may be addressed accordingly. We do hope you will reconsider and return again our Villa. Looking forward to it!


Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

An altogether lovely experience, enhanced by being so close to a wonderful old town. Staff got the tone just right; food was very good indeed; views across to the island from the bedrooms and the various terraces were stupendous (with oligarchs' yachts and the occasional cruise liner to gawp at on some days); plenty of shade available under two lovely pine trees; nicest indoor pool we've ever used (plus access straight into the sea); the bedroom combined stylish modernity, comfort, and hot-weather practicality admirably. Amazing to realise that the hotel was originally built in the 1960s (I think) - though refurbished to wonderful effect very recently. Of course, that doesn't come cheap!

Tip: well worth paying for the hotel's own airport transfer both ways: a Mercedes with their own driver.

Although everyone just loves the vaporetto (and it is great fun when operating), be warned: the staff will tell you what a mistake its purchase was, since it was designed for the calm of the Venice lagoon, and the service is suspended whenever there is even a slight swell. That's no problem if you want to go TO the old town, since the hotel runs a minibus instead. But we hung around the quayside for a while in the old town one evening, waiting to return, but unaware that the minibus had replaced the boat. Make sure you have the hotel's phone number, so that you can phone up to check. (Amazingly, the boat is berthed many miles away, in the fjord on the far side of Dubrovnik, rather than in the old town's harbour; and it takes two to three hours a day - and a lot of fuel - to get it to and from the hotel!)

Room Tip: Low numbers on each floor seem especially quiet, as they are well away from the bar and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear JohnWoodford

Thank you again for the wonderful comments on our decor and service, which we are always delighted to hear.

Our Vaporetto transfer is something unique which we offer to our guests on a daily base. It is a Venice lagoon and designed for the calm sea, and it is true that it depends on the weather.
During the check in procedure each guest receives its time schedule and the phone number in the case it suddenly stops to call the hotel to confirm the minibus replacement.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to welcome you back soon in our Villa.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.