We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Villa Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- Great Design, great location
- Incredible
view of Dubrovnik Old town, port and bay area
- Complementary "Vaporetto" boat shuttle service to the old town (it's on of the original boats from Venice, really classy)
- hotel staff is highly professional and provides a great service at any time
- Small and intimate hotel
- high class food (pricy, but worth it)
- private, rocky beach with crystal clear water

Cons:
- nothing

Summary: Just wonderful ! It is definately worth the SLH-status!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Kinski T

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the features of our rooms as well as the service during your stay. Our team constantly strives to create truly delightful and memorable experiences for each guest. It is rewarding for the team to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay and that you feel pampered at our Villa

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in 2014.

Sending you best regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    62
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
187
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Villa Dubrovnik was refurbished in 2012 and whatever they did with it made it an unforgettable hotel and whole experience for us. The outstanding things about the hotel were the staff; the edgy styling; cleanliness; the food and of course, we must not forget the motor launch.

Every room has a sea view so nobody will be disappointed. But what stood out for us was the staff. Attentive and all dressed in white uniforms, nothing was too much trouble and they were not fawning. Standout things also was the breakfast; not buffet but a full menu with waiter service.

The motor launch was fabulous. The ride into the harbour took about five minutes but what a five minutes. The captain, dressed in white uniform, cleaned the boat after every trip and it was a fantastic way to arrive and we got it back at 1130 p.m. after a fabulous meal at Club Nautica. whisked back to the hotel under the stars.

Dinner at the hotel was fantastic, large portions, beautifully prepared and with impeccable service.

What a fantastic hotel and experience. We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: We selected a Superior room - the standard one and were thoroughly pleased with it. The size was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Segalm,

Thank you for such flattering review. ! It gives me a great pride to read your wonderful feedback and we would like to thank you for choosing our Villa as your vacation place.
I was very happy to read that a combination of a fabulous hotel and faultless customer service facilitated in creating some wonderful memories for you.

We look forward to providing you with yet another wonderful experience in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had the Duke Suite (850 euro/night) for 5 nights in June 2013. Nice design, nice decor, gorgeous views over Dubrovnik. The suite is very spacious with a huge balcony with warm jacuzzi facing the Old City.
The staff in the spa and restaurant is very good. The staff in the reception is irregular, they seem to be not very professional and not attentive, but they were friendly overall.
We had water coming out from the shower on the floor of the entire bathroom all days. We asked them to fix, but they said they would need more time to fix and couldn't do during our stay.
Housekeeping was excellent, providing us extra towels to clean the bathroom, but we don't pay this amount of money to have a problem like this! Disappointing....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Limalb

Thank you very much for your kind review.
I am always glad to receive the feedback from our guests in order to increase the quality of service and stay on the highest level which we promise.
I truly regret for any inconvenience you have experienced with shower in your bathroom.
My team and I will do all to decrease that kind of situation for the future visits as well as to keep our employees professional and well trained for all situations.

We do hope to welcome you again in our Villa Dubrovnik.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Service and reception were excellent very modern great position hotel do regular transfers into town which was good. But felt a bit over priced £27 each for breakfast ummm. But staff were very helpful and always at hand if you go you must try the ATV's not provided by hotel a trip we did from a company in town brilliant such good fun.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear SusieCoops

Thank you for posting your impressions after staying with us.
I am grateful for your appreciation of the service which indeed is our biggest asset. Our aim is to be unique at each moment. Our transfer with Venetian Vaporetto boat is something which differentiates us from others and create memorable experience to each guest.

Furthermore we want to do the same with our dining experience. We want to serve our guest all the time and fulfil their wishes. From our a la carte breakfast menu, they can choose variety options from morning drinks and yoghurt bakery selections, cereals fruits, cold platters, cheese selection, to salmon and more morning surprises. The same service we aim to do with our exclusive private excursions. Upon guest’s wishes and request, our concierge service creates a trip.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to your next visit.

With my best regards,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a car rally through Europe finishing with a 5 day stay at Villa Dubrovnik. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this one is a gem. Fab staff, cool atmosphere, first class quality of interior and exterior.
Well done to the management and the team for creating a real star of a hotel & destination.............can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Moishe123

I am very happy to hear that your stay was special. Thank you very much indeed for the wonderful review. We always strive to provide a personal and engaging experience for each our guest.

We are all looking forward to your next visit.

With best wishes,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a really top class hotel located outside of the Old Town of Dubrovnik, if you are keen it is a short walk (uphill) but you have the option of taking the boat provided by the hotel or the car that leaves around every 15 minutes. The villa itself has exceptional views from all the rooms, it is a big place though so beware. The rooms are a great size, beautifully styled and the beds are really comfortable. The staff were a little slow when we were utilizing the bar and restaurant but the breakfast staff were fast and supplied us with whatever we asked for as it is not a buffet - you can still eat as much as you want but you just order it. There is an indoor pool, gym, library and a cool rooftop bar. If you are after some peace from the hustle and bustle of old town but still want to be close by this is your hotel!

Room Tip: All good rooms but the first floor views are not as good as the other floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear kazzyvege,

I would personally like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to Villa Dubrovnik.

Your valued comments and suggestions are important for us to improve our performance and ensure that all our guests leave having experienced true Villa Dubrovnik moments. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your positive feedback with the entire team. This is indeed great encouragements in our objective to continuously improve our performance and thoroughly delight our guests.

My entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to experience our Villa at its best
Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were treated to an upgrade on arrival to a huge one bedroom suite with spa that looked directly towards the old town. That was a lovely surprise! I really liked the design of this hotel and they excelled in the food department. We were never disappointed with our meals be it the sumptuous breakfast or sensational local wine we had with lunch. Marcel our waiter deserves top marks for service and friendliness. The boat and car service to the old city were handy but it's an easy walk. The only recommendations would be to provide complimentary bottled water by the pool/beach in the hotter months as per normal in Asian five star hotels and perhaps complimentary ironing since there are no irons in the rooms. All in all a wonderful stay and I recommend a treatment at the spa!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Management, General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear GPBug,

Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at Villa Dubrovnik for our guests - a truly memorable experience, combined with a seamless service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and will share your kind compliments with Marcel.
Thank you for your suggestions, we appreciate them all and will take into account.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mirna Loncar Strazicic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.