We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Villa Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'd like to think that my review is as refined, quiet, and beautifully minimal as this hotel. I wanted to mark my 60th birthday with something special, Villa Dubrovnik was that something special. You are reading this because you are considering going there - consider no more - just go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear JoVicRob,
We feel that in luxury hospitality there is no such reward, or better motivation than to receive a guest review like yours. We wholeheartedly thank you for giving us such acclaim. We only hope that we will be able to repeat our hospitality to you for many more times.
Until than our entire team is sending you warm regards!
Respectfully yours,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    67
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
211
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tivat, Montenegro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

best hotel we have stayed in, great service and friendly staff. Awesome location. Great pool and spa service. We stayed in the roman suite, it was huge!!! Even had a hot tub in the lounge. Staff went the extra mile helping us out during our stay as they knew i was proposing to my girlfriend. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Gonadman,
It is always so flattering to hear that our hotel could contribute to all life experiences of our guests, like yours. We are very grateful for your glorification of our staff and their personal contribution. The aim of our entire team is to strive to provide the very best of hospitality. We trust to be doing so consistently for many years.
We look forward to welcome you again in our Villa.
Sincerely yours,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Everything was superb from the design of the hotel, the restaurant, night drinks on the sky bar rooftop, the beautiful riviera boat bringing you to the old town, lovely service.
We enjoyed a lot this experience. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Anne C,
Thank you so much for really flattering review. All Villa Dubrovnik Team is proud to hear you enyojed your holidays with us. We are delighted that we successfully fulfilled all of your expectations.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again in the nearest future.
Respectfully yours,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It's hard to imagine a lovelier place to stay in Dubrovnik. Villa Dubrovnik's impressive position offers the most wonderful views of the bay and the old town, particularly at sunset. We enjoyed 'retreating' back to the hotel at the end of each day, away from the tourist hordes, to enjoy the private (rocky) beach, the views and other facilities. This fantastic property is only let down by its patchy service. For the prices they charge, particularly in the restaurants, the service was too often haphazard. One evening in the restaurant it was particularly bad; when we complained the waiter told us that 'management' were expecting a quiet evening and sent some of the staff home. It turned out to be busier than they expected but the restaurant wasn't even half full. A real shame as these sorts of experiences can really take the shine off a place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear TheVoyager79,
It was such a great pleasure to have you with us in Villa Dubrovnik. Also we thank you for your kind review.
We have no doubt that your next visit will be flawless and will exceed your expectations.
Gratefully yours,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at Villa Dubrovnik this summer and while it was a suitable hotel. I would say it does not meet five star expectations at all. We were traveling for two weeks and chose to ‘spurge’ the last five days and stay at a higher end hotel and were disappointed time and time again. Looking back, we received far better service at the 3-star hotels in other cities than we did here. Especially since I brought these issues up to the General Manager and nothing was done about it since she was on maternity leave. All we received was excuses and an apology.

1. Limited Excursions: My friend and I were looking for some mid-price daily excursions during our stay. The front desk associates were very educated and informed on the custom excursions they had available, ($1,000 and upward) however when we asked for some other options at a lower price point the associates could no longer help us. We asked about the kayaking trips we saw people on each day or some larger group boat option to go around the islands and a lower price point and they simply said “no these are the only options we have for you, unless you are looking for a more customized journey. Regardless of what my friend and I chose to do during the day the staff should have been accommodating to our requests, instead of being rude and telling us we would have to go into town to figure something out. Plus, if they really didn’t know the least they could have done was Google it for us

2. Wi-Fi Service: One of the reasons we chose to stay at Villa Dubrovnik was because we knew not every place offers reliable internet access. We needed internet and the Wi-Fi in the hotel never worked. I realize it must be an issue since the hotel had three different networks installed; however, the issue was not resolved, we were simply given the passwords for all three networks and told they were ‘looking into it.” It was extremely frustrating every day to not be able to do the things we needed to do.. The hotel should not advertise Wi-Fi services until they have improved this amenity.

3. Overbooked Spa: One of the days we were there, we had poor weather. So I had called the day before to book a pedicure and vanilla massage for myself and a 60 minute massage for my friend. Upon my arrival I was told that my massage was going to be cut short due to the massage therapist needing to attend to another guest at a certain time since they were overbooked. This was unheard of to me! And rude! The therapist seemed quite nice and obviously felt bad cutting my time short (She was actually quite wonderful); however, this situation should have never occurred. Furthermore, my friend was given a massage by a young gentleman who wouldn’t listen to his comments. He has a few back issues and was trying to let the gentleman know about them but he seemed to not care and would just push and rub wherever he felt like it. We have our doubts about the guy even being trained in massage as he blatantly disregarded his notes about back pain. I spoke with several women about this in the relaxation room and the overall sentiment was disappointment on the poor service. You should never overbook the spa – it is not fair to your patrons.

4. Service at breakfast: We chose to have breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it was the worst service we had received anywhere in our travels this summer. We waited for 32 minutes before even receiving a menu, even when we asked a young woman for one. Then after waiving to the waiter when we were ready to order it took another 12 minute for him to attend to us. We asked for a second cappuccino and had to remind the server of it twice. We saw two families come to the restaurant, be fully served, enjoy their breakfast and depart while we continued to wait

5. Basic items in the room: We were quite confused by a few things in the room...

Each day when the maids serviced the rooms, we never were given a new bar or second bar of soap. Even when it was apparent after day 3, we were running very low on soap. Soap is a basic amenity in any bathroom and during our five night stay we never received new soap.

Additionally, the glassware was never cleaned, but simply placed in the cabinet with the remains of our cocktails from the evening before – so every night I would have to wash the glassware with bar soap in the bathroom and use our hand towels to dry them in order to have a fresh glass for our wine or cocktails before dinner. The maids should always provide clean glassware to the room.

6. The boat transfer from old town: We saw that there was a warning on the boat information sheet that if the weather is poor the van will run instead. However, on our last night (after being unable to take the boat during our whole trip due to it needing routine maintenance) we waiting on the pier for the boat at 8:00PM. It wasn’t there so we continued to wait along with another couple. The weather was perfectly nice out and the water calm. Eventually, we ended up having to walk home to the hotel on our last night in town because the boat never showed. Upon the arrival to the hotel we were told that since the water was rough at the hotel, the van was sent instead. This seems to make sense, however there was no one to inform us of that on the pier that the van was sent instead of the boat. No system was in place to inform the guests of the hotel that the transportation option had changed. I feel it is the duty of the hotel to train associates to walk down to the pier and see if there are guests waiting because we, to the best of our ability and knowledge, were following the instructions given. The weather was fine and so we waited for the boat for a long time. For this to be the final incident we experienced in Croatia as the close of our vacation was frustrating and disappointing. And on top of this, the manager who we spoke with on the return to the hotel was defensive and aggressive. He didn’t take any ownership of the situation and didn’t seem to understand why we were upset since there was a van sent. He did not seem to think it was his job or the duty of the hotel to inform the guests when and if their options for getting home at night had changed. We planned on taking the 8PM boat and didn’t actually return to the hotel until about 10PM since we waited for an hour and then had to walk home – all this before having to depart at 4:30AM for a flight the next morning. This was inexcusable.

Overall, we were extremely disappointed with the stay and will not return to the hotel on our next visit While the views from each room are beautiful, the service needs help. I am sure you can find similar views in other hotels -- with far better service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ms. Erin;
Thank you very much for your email. We truly appreciate it. We have already received your feedback and have been working on it since July 2012. In fact, we have already replied to you before, and addressed your comments to our entire team. Your comments have been a centrepiece of our Service Improvement Program for several times. We believe that next time you will surely recognize improvements in all those areas which you have kindly mentioned.
I look forward to be meeting you in person on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Villa Dubrovnik has THE most fabulous setting and it was bliss to board the classy teak boat back to our accommodation after mooching around Dubrovnik in the mornings. (Avoid it from midday onwards as it felt like about 3000 cruise ships had descended and numbered flags were being waved frantically in every corner of the city walls!
Our stay at the Villa was an anniversary treat - it is expensive and - as such - the owners should realise that it is detail, detail, detail that makes these sort of places unforgettable. The shower was really rubbish - instead of enjoying it, I spent most of the time trying to direct the spray without soaking the floor! A complimentary bottle of water on arrival was never replenished (such a minimal niggle but would have stopped me feeling hard done by). We've been used to fruit bowls when staying in luxury hotels - always a nice touch and inexpensive to provide, but not apparent at Villa Dubrovnik. We ate out most of the time as restaurant/bar was VERY expensive. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Shame about the lacking in detail really ...
Dubrovnik is truly beautiful and should not be missed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Perfectionists15,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always nice to hear guests’ feedback, which helps us improve our services. We are taking measures to correct guestroom’s shower heads, and we hope the result of our refurbishment will meet the needs of the most demanding travellers. Similarly, we will improve our daily complimentary offer to our guests, as we believe it is the key to our guest satisfaction.
I do hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again next year.
Sincerely,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Villa Dubrovnik for three nights. It is a very nice place, the location is excellent and the service is very good. It takes you 5 minutes to walk to the Old Town and you have a great view of the Old Town from the hotel terrace. The rooms are spacy and the food in the hotel is excellent.
It was windy during our stay, and therefore we could not use the boat taking hotel guests from the hotel to the Old Town. It must be a marvellous (and short) trip when the weather is good.
The hotel has a pool and access to the water for people who prefer to swim there.
When you arrive you are offered spa for two - but it is what they call a diamond treat, which means that they put you in one of these moving, massage chairs. Its a joke. But the actual spa is very good and have a wide range of offers.
Hotel breakfast is from a menu and it takes some time to get what you ordered. Consider to ask for the same breakfast, but to your room in the morning, and you don't have to wait.

Room Tip: All ttre rooms looked good, but I believe some of them have a view of the Old Town. Try to get one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VD_General_Manager, Assistant General Manager at Villa Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear JanickeHS,
Thank you so much for sharing your nice experience in Villa Dubrovnik with all of our future guests! We are really delighted that we successfully fulfil your needs and expectations during your holidays in Villa Dubrovnik!
We appreciate your opinion, and we are taking appropriate measures to improve in areas you mentioned. Perhaps, next time you visit us, we are rather confident that your stay with us will be near perfect one.
Sincerely,
Matina Durovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dubrovnik

Address: Vlaha Bukovca 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#2 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Dubrovnik, Croatian most exclusive hotel introducing an unprecedented level of luxury and style to one of the world's most famous cities.It is only few minutes away from the fortified beauty of the Old City of Dubrovnik. With spectacular views of the Old City and Island of Lokrum, Villa Dubrovnik welcomes you with luxurious accommodation of 56 sea-view residences. Soothe yourself with personalized treatments of the Villa Spa wellness club and discover excitements of Vaporetto speedboat transfers to the Old City of Dubrovnik and back. Everything is meticulously crafted to ensure the privacy and comfort of your stay. Dubrovnik's most elegant 5-star hotel invites you to share its unique Romance forever experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.