We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of facilities, room and food quality a little variable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Club Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lots of facilities, room and food quality a little variable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Valamar Club in Mid-October, and enjoyed a pretty decent holiday at this "new build-style" (but actually slightly tired) 3-star hotel, which is situated in Babin Kuk in amongst a large estate of 3 or 4 other Valamar hotels (including the higher-rated Lacroma and President, whose facilities guests are apparently allowed to use although this doesn't seem to be widely advertised).

The hotel is about an hour or so from the airport, so the transfers are fairly pain-free (although it is a little further than Dubrovnik's old town). The location itself is reasonable - although it's a bus ride (or very long walk) into the old town, the hotel is situated near a reasonable (at least by Dubrovnik's limited standards) pebble beach ("Copacabana"), a short walk (up a steep hill, admittedly) to the bus stop (15 mins or so to the Pile gate of the old town), and with a small shopping precinct (with some bars and travel agency outlets) nearby. The reception staff are generally helpful and speak good English, and you can buy bus tickets from the small shop in the hotel (definitely recommend this as the price is lower than buying on the bus).

We had a room at the front of the hotel (it's planned and laid out bizarrely badly - the shape of the hotel would allow nearly every room to have a sea view, yet because the main corridor is situated on the sea side of the hotel, about half the rooms on each floor face out into the car park). The room itself was perfunctory, but fine for a 3-star, although the bath was exceptionally small (really only for midgets!) and quite deep, meaning that if you used the shower it was a BIG step to get out. I would say, however, that the room was kept extremely clean by housekeeping throughout our stay.

The main issue with our room was noisiness. Like a lot of inexpensive hotels built 20+ years ago for package holiday business, it feels a bit like it's been built very much "on the cheap". Thin walls, thinly glazed patio doors. You'll hear people talking (not even shouting) outside, and if, like us, you had the misfortune to be in a room next door to a noisily amorous couple, expect to be kept awake by moaning, squelching and bed thumping for half the night. This was, I think, especially bad due to having a (locked) adjoining door to the next room - try to get a room without this if you can.

We didn't use the facilities in other hotels (I was keen to have a go in one of the gyms) but we did use the pool (which was pretty good & large for a 3-star hotel, if a little chilly in October), poolside area (not the prettiest but again, pretty good, and open, so it catches the sun most of the day), table tennis tables, indoor and outdoor bar (again, both pretty good and average prices for Dubrovnik).

Food was up-and-down. Our first night experience was pretty horrific - a virtual fight for tables as a number of package trips descended all at the same time, we ended up sitting at a grubby table and having a pretty noisy, unpleasant dinner. The experience generally improved through the week, though.

Good mealtime tips - the smaller dining room (turn left as you descend the stairs) and the outside areas are generally more pleasant to eat (the canteen-like accoustics and large size of the other dining area make it noisy and at times unpleasant). The food from the "live cooking" hot plates can be very inconsistent - some fish was excellent, but I also had some very tough meat and a tuna steak that was bone-dry. The freshly made pizzas and salads are all very good, however. The hotel is "all-inclusive light", which means that drinks (including reasonable lager and mediocre but drinkable red and white wine) are available for free throughout meal times. We found this to be an excellent cost-saver.

All in all, I guess you'd think this review is more negative than positive, but this hotel does have some very good points and we did get it very cheaply, so for the price (under £500pp for a week, including flights, out-of-season) I was actually very happy with it, really. If you can afford it I might consider upgrading to one of the nearby 4-star Valamar properties, however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our on-going task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
We are glad that you consider to choose one of Valamar four star hotels for your next stay in Dubrovnik.
Kind regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    180
    86
    31
    11
See reviews for
133
162
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
antalya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

we had fantastic holiday, very nice hotel more than 3 star. Staff is very good. Especially suzanna our housekeeper always smiling and very polite. Breakfast is very good. Too much choıce on buffe. Nice pool wiev and beach wiev from our room. We prefer to come summer season next time. Also the receptionist girl who wrote post card for me. thank you very much for your help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for sending your valuable review on Valamar club Dubrovnik hotel, and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are very happy to read your positive impressions from your holiday in Dubrovnik.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grankulla, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a rejuvenating one week stay outside of Dubrovnik, a new destination for us. We chose Valamar Club for two reasons: (1) the ebooker agent got us a sizable discount as we were booking on line and (2) it had tennis courts. Unfortunately, all of the courts were taken all of the time by the Dubrovnik International Open organizers. This was very unfortunate. Also, the hotel was crawling with a wild combination of very aged French and young tennis players. The latter was very loud in the evening (the comment about the large dining room being acoustically very bad is absolutely true. While the second, smaller dining room is better for conversation, it has major ventilation problems...) The hotel itself is a very low 3*. It is going to have to make some major adjustments to its rooms very soon, in my opinion. The shower curtain was mildewed, repairs (to two doors in the room) had been shoddily done. The TV was not working (later fixed). Beds rather comfortable but linens not so. Food also very much in the low 3* category. Lots and lots of cabbage--too bad as with the gorgeous climate, we were expecting more Mediterranean.

Room Tip: It will pay to upgrade to a sea view, as we did. We were told that all rooms were the same size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. We are glad to inform you that new hotel investments are being planned for year 2013 and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, when you will fully enjoy your stay.
Kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Am currently staying here and writing this before breakfast! The views from the hotel are stunning - mountains lie across the peninsula as huge cruise ships saunter past. Definitely try and get a sea view - we were given one as a matter of course, off season advantages. The food is pretty good - 'live chefs'ccoming meat, pasta and pizza in front of you. Great selection of salad and traditional Croat and European fare. The swimming pool is huge and well worth a wintery(ish) swim - although still expect sunburn! There are shops on site but head past the nearby campsite and you'll find a cheaper supermarket with a better range. Would be good if there was a fridge and tea and coffee facilities in the room (and an English language movie channel) but thus is life. The number 6 bus takes you close to the hotel from town - just remember to ask the driver for the Valamar and you'll be fine. Overall a cracking hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we had a wonderful holiday in croatia and the hotel had everything for one needs food was great as was pool area plenty of sun beds beach was so near plenty to do we will come back to stay here again.i will also recommend to all family and friends the room we changed next day because we booked a balcony none available when we arrived

Room Tip: make sure u get a room with a view sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel, it's staff and location are excellent and I have already recommended it to friends and family. The room was clean,the food was good and the hotel facilities superb. I booked on the 'all inclusive light' which as other reviewers have stated entitles you to 3 meals a day plus drinks either alcoholic or soft with your dinner and evening meals. I have stayed at other hotels on the same basis before and I haven't been overly impressed and I had decided that if necessary I would eat off site if the food was bad or mediocre. It was a pleasant surprise therefore to find it was nothing of the sort- it was fresh,plentiful and always well presented and the chefs and waiters and waitresses worked tirelessly and efficiently. Othe reviewers have commented that it get's busy and it does at peak times , my suggestion is to get in very early as the dining rooms fill up quickly.

All in all very satisfied with this hotel and it's amenities and all of it's hard working staff

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We took an allocated on arrival deal for the first time and all we knew was that we were 3 star half board...on arrival we were taken to the Valamar Club and, to our surprise, were informed that we would be semi inclusive which meant 3 meals per day plus drinks with meals..

The room was basic and smelled quite musty but was spotlessly clean and remained so during the week (thank you Maja), The hotel itself was typically Croatian (we half expected to see the little boy from The Shining cycling down the long wide corridors!). This is not a criticism as the facilties were excellent. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed a pre dinner drink every night in the Lobby bar in the company of either Toni or Suzana. The food was plentiful and varied although not exceptional.

The weather was perfect and Dubrovnik is just a 12 kuna bus ride away(The no 6 bus was an experience!). The bus runs to 1:30 in the morning for anyone wanting to have a night in Dubrovnik which is well worth it as the crowds diminish at night.

We took the water taxi to Cavtat which is a pretty, sophisticated little town and well worth a visit,

All in all, an excellent value holiday with no complaints

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
We appreciate your nice words s about the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms and be sure that I will pass forward your compliments to Maja, Suzana and Tonči.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Club Dubrovnik is the only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town. This hotel puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Club Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.