We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been marvelous if only the food had been edible and our room hadn't smelled of drains” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Could have been marvelous if only the food had been edible and our room hadn't smelled of drains”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had probably the best suite in the hotel with a fabulous view. From there on it was down hill.
The worst food I've ever encountered in what is supposed to be a luxury hotel; the chef wouldn't get a job running a down market canteen.
Drain smell in our bathroom was aweful and despite complaining (at the same time as another guest on the same floor) nothing was done about it

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    222
    79
    25
    11
See reviews for
86
407
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here from 21st to 28th September 2013 and we were looked after from the moment we got there to when we left. The room was exceptionally clean and we were provided with top class toiletries throughout the stay, along with a chocolate each every evening when the beds were turned down. The view from our room was fabulous, looking out over the Adriatic and down towards the pool.
We were on half board and the breakfast was buffet style and with enough choices available for you to have a good but different breakfast every day (including a glass of champers). The evening meals were top quality and you had a choice from 3 of starter, main and sweet courses. We took advantage of being able to swap one evening meal for an evening meal at the Victoria restaurent and that was also top quality and well worth doing.
You could eat your meals inside or outside and we took advantage of both depending on how windy it was outside. We also used the pool side bar and restaurent at the hotel which was excellent for both food and service. We can highly recommend the cheeseburger meal here, probably the best burger we've had and you actually get 2 of them.
Throughout the hotel the staff were friendly and very professional and we have nothing but praise for them, always helpful and courteous.
This hotel is also just a 10 minute walk to the old town and stradum so we walked there every evening for a stroll and drink and to take in the fabulous atmosphere.
Loved it here and would go again and would always recommend it to anyone based on our own experience.

Room Tip: We were located in the new part of the hotel so not on the road side and it was really quiet in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Chrisbrittania,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia Antipolis, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel, conveniently located just a few minutes away from the walled old city. The room was comfortable and indeed, the view is Worth the stay. The best is the large terrace overlooking the sea and from which you see the old town. Breakfast is served there and the morning light makes it superb. Sunset views are also beautiful of course. A lounge area on the terrace gives you a chance to read/work in a beautiful outdoor setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room vith a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. SundayNOLA,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you liked our hotel, service and ambience and we hope that you will stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel publicity says they 'have 131 rooms with beautiful views of Dubrovnik Old Town & Lokrum Island', we must have had the 132nd room as the view from our rather small bedroom was of the wall of the building next door, about 2 feet from our window, couldn't tell if day or night, if sun shining or not! Apart from that it is beautifully located for Old Town; breakfast good, waiters lovely.

Room Tip: If you're allocated room 217 ask to be moved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. GwenCO,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing your comment.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. Unfortunately not all rooms have a sea view.
We are glad that you had nice holidays and we hope you will come back again in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location and amenities that this hotel offered. The reception area, restaurants and bars all offer stunning views, but you would be advised to consider spending the extra on a room with a view. Our room had a view of the road running along the back of the hotel - so no 'garden views' for us. Otherwise the room was clean and well appointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear LS,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing a review.
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you liked our location.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is not our usual type of hotel and we were totally blown away by the experience. It is beautiful. Of course, the setting has much to do with it - on the cliff overlooking the harbour of the old city of Dubrovnik with luxury "yachts" and liners parked in the beautiful blue waters. We had a balcony room, 25 sq. m, and it was fantastic with windows that opened up completely to a view of the seas and trees. Enormous bed. L'Occitane toiletries, etc. etc. Every luxury and, although the room was expensive, the prices for food and drinks were not too bad. There is a beautiful pool by the sea which has a roped off area for swimming. Cocktails happy hour (or three) overlooking the beautiful gardens of the mansion Victoria. Very close to the old town, an easy walk away. I found the staff to be perfectly friendly - not in the personal way you get in a small hotel but in a professional sort of way (this is a very big hotel after all). The only problem is that with a hotel like this, you need to say in and enjoy the amenities and not go out and about all day exploring. Also, if you are going to stay here, you might as well go for broke and get a decent room, our friends had a "garden view room" and, frankly they were a little disappointed I think.

Room Tip: Pick a large sea view room. Who needs a balcony when you can open the windows up wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear MN-Melbourne-3144,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room and facilities.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The entire experience was extremely positive. We had requested two beds and were provided an upgrade once the two bed room became available. The staff at the front desk were very accomodating, calling a physician and arranging for an doctor to come to hotel. The pool area and access to the Adriatic-PRICELESS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Suz-MD2013,

Thank you for taking your time and writing this nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.