We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Save Saved
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dubrovnik at a glance
Ranked #16 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow, what a fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is not our usual type of hotel and we were totally blown away by the experience. It is beautiful. Of course, the setting has much to do with it - on the cliff overlooking the harbour of the old city of Dubrovnik with luxury "yachts" and liners parked in the beautiful blue waters. We had a balcony room, 25 sq. m, and it was fantastic with windows that opened up completely to a view of the seas and trees. Enormous bed. L'Occitane toiletries, etc. etc. Every luxury and, although the room was expensive, the prices for food and drinks were not too bad. There is a beautiful pool by the sea which has a roped off area for swimming. Cocktails happy hour (or three) overlooking the beautiful gardens of the mansion Victoria. Very close to the old town, an easy walk away. I found the staff to be perfectly friendly - not in the personal way you get in a small hotel but in a professional sort of way (this is a very big hotel after all). The only problem is that with a hotel like this, you need to say in and enjoy the amenities and not go out and about all day exploring. Also, if you are going to stay here, you might as well go for broke and get a decent room, our friends had a "garden view room" and, frankly they were a little disappointed I think.

Room Tip: Pick a large sea view room. Who needs a balcony when you can open the windows up wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear MN-Melbourne-3144,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room and facilities.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    185
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
77
344
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The entire experience was extremely positive. We had requested two beds and were provided an upgrade once the two bed room became available. The staff at the front desk were very accomodating, calling a physician and arranging for an doctor to come to hotel. The pool area and access to the Adriatic-PRICELESS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Suz-MD2013,

Thank you for taking your time and writing this nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with fantastic views over the harbour and old town. The staff are very friendly and all the public areas are lovely. The rooms for the most part are smell and many have non existent reviews. Upon complaining we were offered an upgrade for 60 euros a night! Also give the luxury fine dining experience at the Victoria Retaurant a miss very average

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Peter W,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write detaild review.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thanks Tripadviser colleagues for pointing out that you must be careful in choosing a room. We opted for one in the old part of the building and were then upgraded to a suite, so we were lucky. Our room was spacious and the huge bed was supremely comfortable. Great views from our balcony, even though the Old Town was not visible from it. Breakfast area is super, on an open air terrace, from which the Old Town COULD be seen. Breakfast was fine: service attentive. Decent coffee unless you wanted de-caff. All staff were friendly and efficient. I can see how some would be disappointed, because the hotel is in two distinct parts, but if you make sure you've chosen your room carefully you will enjoy this place. Bathing and pool area is spacious and also has a lovely view. Would definitely return.
10 minutes' walk from Old Town. Perfect.

Room Tip: Old part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. TimWoffenden,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with your room, our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a group of 7 nearly-50 year old guys on our annual trip away. The hotel is beautiful and just 10 minutes walk from the old town and all that has to offer. Service was wonderful from almost all the staff. The pool terrace at sea level is stunning. A large number of sunbeds with cushions, tables and umbrellas positioned for you by uniformed staff at your request, then followed up with drinks service at your lounger. A salt water pool on the terrace and a 3 foot drop into the sea itself to cool off. Fresh water showers to rinse off. Absolutely stunning. The access to the pool is either down many steps from level 1 or through a Bond-villain type tunnel from level 0 (the lift to this level CAN be called separately unlike another reviewer stated). The bedrooms were average I guess, nothing special, but nothing shabby either. We did not have sea view rooms with balconies, but they might have been nice if we had been spending much time in them. Breakfast each day in the main restaurant was a huge buffet and catered for every taste, with great waiter service for tea and coffee. We did not eat in the hotel any other times. Free wifi all over the hotel, including by the pool. All in all a wonderful trip and I will most likely return here with my wife instead of six other chaps ! NB We were probably amongst the youngest guests, so don't go expecting a lot of nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Eharries,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

As a number of previous reviewers have stated, this hotel is a mixed bag. The location is fantastic as it is an easy 10 minute stroll to Old Town and the views from the balconies and pool deck are amazing. This has to be one of the most beautiful pool areas I have ever seen. The pool is built into the rocks with a view over the city walls. It is absolutely breathtaking, especially at night.

The public areas are also very attractively furnished, though extremely confusing. It is nearly impossible to take the elevator directly to the pool area as only one elevator goes to that level and it cannot be called separately. Also, the restaurant and bar require elevators and long walks to reach. Once you are at the pool, you need to travel up two long flights of stairs to reach the rest rooms. It appears that the hotel was built in stages and they don't properly connect.

Finally, the rooms are hit or miss. Our first room (facing the road) was very dated with a musty smell and damp spots on the carpet. The shower also leaked horribly. The hotel did move us the next night to a sea view room and it was much brighter and fresher, so it might be worth it to specifically book a seafront room.

Overall, we believed that the uniqueness of this hotel and it's location made up for the negatives but I agree with other reviewers that I wouldn't consider this a 5 ***** property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Traveler227,


Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and giving your comment!
I am glad that we were able to give you upgrade to sea view room but also, I am sorry that room you were accommodated at first did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Dubrovnik is the only place in which I have experienced the feeling of being transported back in time, five centuries.as you enter the walled town through the medieval gates, you enter a different world; the world that the citizens of this marvelous place must have lived when this port city was the economic center of the Adriatic sea. Visiting Dubrovnik is a must.
perhaps that is why we came back again, for our fourth time to this city. And every time we go back we stay at the Argentina.
Although the hotel was built many years ago, by a croatian emigré who made a small fortune in Argentina and then came back to build an hotel in his city of birth, it has been renovated by its present owners to the best standard. Service is impecable, breakfast delicious, food at the Victoria restaurant - try the black rice - delicious.
And the view is incredible. When you open the windows and look at the sea the blue color of the water will remind you of Domenico Modugno's song Volare.....the blue di pinto di blue. Get your bathing suit and walk down the tairs to one of the prettiest swimming pools we have seen in the world. Next to the sea, it fills with water brought by the waves. Plunge into the sea - it was at 24 degrees centigrade when we were there in early september - an incredible swim.
And the hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the old town.
My wife and I promised to ourselves that we will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Matko K,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Fastbooking so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.