We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good facilities, does everything ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location, good facilities, does everything ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We decided on this hotel due to its vicinity to the Dubrovnik old town gates, yet being just outside the epicentre enough to be peaceful. Also this complex has its own beach, pools etc. We made sure we had a room in the original Villa Argentina as this place has seemingly 4-5 parts to it. However all seemed in hindsight to have their pros and slight cons, but we were overall satisfied with our room choice. The room on floor 5 is actually one floor down from the street, reception is on floor 6, as this hotel is on a steep hillside overlooking the glorious Adriatic Sea and its turquoise water and the glamorous boats and ships floating by to or from the old town of this beautiful town.
The hotel's front desk staff were a bit stiff as seems to be the case with many service industry staff here. However the beach attendants, beach restaurant and cocktail bar staff we all helpful and more friendly.
Breakfast is varied and generous, including sparkling wine in the buffet........ A bit tempting! Not much to fault there.
The private beach, pool by the sea, The sunlounger terraces by the sea were all great and well served by staff. Do try o get to your sun lounger preferred location early though, we found that by 9am was enough to get a good location most days. Annoyingly though, the hotel do allow the stereotype of people booking their loungers with towels early morning.
The room was generous, similarly the bathroom, and the style was classical better class hotel. Good facilities incl. tv with plenty channels, minibar, good views, big bed, air con (though on 35 deg. C days the aircon felt a bit inadequate), clean and well serviced by housekeeping daily.
The trip to old town on foot was 10 minutes, so close enough. The views along the way were also great, as they were from the sun terraces.
The cocktail bar at Victoria Lounge in the hotel, and its restaurant outside on the beautiful high terrace, were wonderful. Cocktails every day on happy hours 6-8.30pm!
Overall, we give this a warm recommendation and 4 out of 5. A bit more effort would give it 5!!

Room Tip: Rooms in Grand Villa Argentina are on the old (original, more romantic) side, larger, most but not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mrs. Leena SK,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel.
I am very glad to see that overall you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    222
    79
    25
    11
See reviews for
86
407
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Room was a bit cramped, but swimming pool, hotel bars, and inclusive breakfast were all first rate. Front desk staff were not as friendly as I have found elsewhere, but responsive. We would recommend this hotel, but do not expect large rooms. For the price, I was expecting a room that had a bit more space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. JohnF414,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
It makes us happy to see that you would reccoment our hotel to others!

Thank you for all other comments which we will take into consideration.
In the end I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived back 2 weeks ago after spending 14 days at the Grand Villa Argentina.

The hotel is situated just outside the walls of Dubrovnik. It will take 10 minutes to walk from the hotel into Dubrovnik. 15 minutes – 20 minute walk back depending on age and fitness. However the views will entice you to stop because they are breathtaking.

We booked through Thomson holidays as the price worked out much cheaper than if we had booked the hotel, flight and transfer separately.

The hotel is tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. We found the staff pleasant friendly and very accommodating. The initial room allocated to us overlooked the street. No sea views but to be fair we didn’t pay for an upgrade as we only use the room to shower and sleep. However the room was right by where they receive deliveries and we were woken up every day at 4am. After 4 days I spoke to reception. Who instantly understood my problem, apologised and allocated me another room in the hotel with a lovely view of Dubrovnik without extra charge. Now that is what I call customer service.

The hotel boasts an indoor swimming pool and spa that we didn’t use and an outside seawater pool situated at the edge of the sea.

The gardens of the hotel are beautiful with an assortment of fir trees and shrubs. A lovely place to sit with a drink and just watch the world go by.

We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel as Dubrovnik is awash with decent restaurants and the atmosphere of the town is absolutely charming.

What defines a 5 star hotel is the attention to detail. Little thing like having fresh fruit and wine in your room on arrival and a chocolate next to your bed when they come to turn down the covers in the evening.

Our only slight criticism is the hotel allows children. Thomson holidays advertise this hotel as suitable for adults giving the impression of no children. Our first week (last week of June) no children were staying at the hotel, the place was idyllic and relaxing. But the second week there was an influx of children. I cannot say the children were badly behaved but from a week where you could hear a pin drop to children playing, it slightly took the edge off the meaning of complete relaxation. Hence the reason I am giving this hotel 4 * instead of 5* it should have.

Finally I must comment of the cleanliness of Croatia as a whole. I hired a car and travelled around the countryside and where ever we went we found the country absolutely spotless. Public toilets with hot and cold water, soap, paper towels and even toilet seat covers. No graffiti on the walls. My wife and I have never in our lives ever been to such a clean country as Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. JR_Bournemouth_UK,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
I am very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was just fantastic. The staff, the rooms, the lobby-bar and pool area were outstanding!! We would recommend it in a second. Plus, it's an easy walk to the Old City, which was very helpful!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr.PGoodmanPhiladelphia,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you have spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
We would be happy to see you coming back again and would be more than happy to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I feel like the rating of this hotel can vary greatly by the room you get. If you can opt for a room with a sea view, that would be my first suggestion. I had a fairly average room, not 5 star standard, but that didn't really bother me too because it was clean, the bed was comfortable, etc. I was on almost ground floor, street facing, and I was completely fine with everything until I don't know if it was coming from the hotel bar or from an outside location but there was a dj playing music until midnight that was so loud I literally had to take a sleeping pill to drown it out. Aside from that I think the potential is there, which is why I think it depends on the room you get. I liked the location, a quick 10 minute walk to the old city down the coast. The pool area and access to the sea was a big plus (though the pool was salt water?) and on a hot day that comes in handy. The staff were not that friendly, but they weren't rude either. The breakfast was ok, nice area to eat outside overlooking the sea and the old city. I would recommend this hotel keeping in mine the price is reasonable for the dates you were looking, but I would be specific on room requests here. I wouldn't pay a lot for this hotel, I would not call my room 5 star. But to be fair I think I would have been more generous had it not been for the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. GinaTravels18,

We are deeply sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service, but thank you for giving all comments which we will take into consideration.
In the end we are glad that you would stay with us again and we hope next time you visit us we will meet your expectations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its location and what a choice. More upmarket and expensive than we would normally choose but it was perfect. The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing but adds to its charm. We had basic rooms - no view - but who stays in their hotel rooms on summer holiday except to sleep? Breakfast was buffet style - good choice - even sparkling wine if you wanted it. The pool area was well organised and you could always get a sunbed and the attendants were very helpful. We ate in the beach bar which was good but a bit pricey but not for a five star hotel. We swam in the refreshing sea which was good and clean. Take a snorkel.
Only 5-10 min walk to the town - a wonderful city - walk the walls - but not during the hot part of the day!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrew B,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and I am glad to see that you enjoyed many things, like beach area, breakfast etc.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. We enjoyed being so near the old town (just a short walk), great sea view (we chose a superior room specially), great breakfast (ok the cooked breakfast is not the same as back home, but lots of choice of other food), sea side pool, swimming in the sea, comfortable room, good bed, gym etc. I thought the hotel was quite expensive but we used all the facilities and it was nice to be able to come back to the hotel for a rest and cool down during the day.

Room Tip: Check you have a sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. James G,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with food and services offered.
We would be more than happy to welcome you in our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.