We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved IT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Save Saved
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dubrovnik at a glance
Ranked #15 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved IT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located on the coast to the south of the old city. Hence the views of the old city from the pool terrace are amazing.
Staff are mostly friendly and helpful, the breakfast on the terrace was excellent and the lunch at the beach bar a stand out. The staff at the Beach bar are exceptional. The hotel is a little dated in parts but largely we were very happy. There is access into the sea at the pool terrace which is ideal.
The only down side was that the life guard was useless- spent the whole time we were there was spent on his phone and when there was a big sea, he still paid no attention to the safety of guests.
Certainly a good location and while the rooms are not spectacular, we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Molly0902,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We will investigate situation with lifeguard as safety of our guests is very important to us.
We hope that you will be our guest again in near future!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    196
    70
    24
    9
See reviews for
85
367
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in a double superior room with balcony and sea view in the main hotel. Room was a good size had a comfortable bed and decent sized bathroom. Shower was over the bath though and the fitment meant you could not use it hands free.Efficient air conditioning. Good sized balcony and what a view! Great breakfast buffet and sitting out on the lovely terrace with the fabulous view each morning was a highlight of the stay. We were on the 5th floor and due to the hillside location this meant we were one floor above the restaurant terrace- so for a more private balcony with even better view you would need a 7th floor room. Reception was at floor 6 level. Beautifully located swimming pool right on the edge of the sea. Although it was very busy when we used the pool area the very helpful attendant found beds and umbrella for us.The pool was very quiet- probably because as it is fed with sea water it was very cold! Ladder access made swimming in the sea an option but it did get a bit choppy due to the passing boats. No tea/coffee facilities in the room and the mini bar prices were high. A small bottle of water cost 25 Kuna in the room but only 5 Kuna in the supermarket. It was a 10 minute walk to the town along a fairly busy road but it is one way traffic and there is a safe walkway. Along the way is the Excelsior Hotel which had an ATM on the outside wall near the entrance, a pastry/bread shop, a news stand which also sold water, drinks and ice cream and a restaurant. Right near the entrance to the old town was a well stocked supermarket with a good choice of wines. All in all a wonderful and stress free stay.

Room Tip: 5th floor although has sea view does look out across the restaurant terrace so a higher floor would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. SussexRovers,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Grand Villa Argentina is a beautiful hotel with a lovely staff. I recently honeymooned there. Any questions or requests we had were immediately attended to. Our room was not the best, but we didn't pay for the best so I had no complaints. It was clean and big enough and that's what we were looking for as we spent very little time there. The bed was comfortable enough, but definitely not on the same level that I've seen in other 5* hotels. The pool and the rest of the grounds/gardens are beautiful and we literally found something new every day while walking around. The view of Old Town and Lokrum island is incredible. Breakfast was very good, my husband especially enjoyed it. We ate at the Victoria restaurant one night and somehow snagged the best seat in the house, the food was delicious, the view unbelievable. FYI, there is an indoor pool and hot tub that we found nice to enjoy for a few minutes after a long day in the sun, and NO ONE was ever there. The walk to/from Old Town was not strenuous as some have indicated... possibly could be a little difficult if you are elderly or disabled, otherwise, the way back is slightly uphill but nothing compared to many other cities I've visited. I can't wait to be back some day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lovefood1118,

Thank you for staying in Grand Villa Argentina and writing such aa nice review about our hotel!
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your honeymoon in our hotel and we hope you celebrate many more in our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I admit I was a little nervous when arriving at the hotel thinking it may be a bit dated as some reviews had mentioned the old style decor and I was worried it could be old and stuffy. Well what a great surprise. The location of the hotel is unbeatable. Our 6 and 9 year olds easily walked into the old town, even in the heat. The gardens surrounding the hotel are magnificent and the pool area is a real treat with the option to swim in the sea water pool or dive into the ocean. The views from nearly everywhere are sublime.

Rooms are kept spotless, amenities first class and I actually enjoyed the older style decor - it had a personality that many hotels lack these days when they are all perfect and clinical. We had an interconnecting kids room and it worked well. The staff were always friendly and helpful everywhere in the hotel.

Loved the bar near Victoria restaurant - brilliant view and surrounds.

Dinner was nice and had lots to choose from. The kitchen kindly altered the odd meal for our children's taste. Also really enjoyed the local wine and appreciated the suggestion to try it from our waiter. The only criticism would have to be the hot areas of the breakfast buffet. Pancakes & French toast were stiff as a board and the bacon was soaked in oil. Not a major problem but an improvement would probably be appreciated by future guests.

Thanks for a great stay and I hope to be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Steelo41,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
I am hlad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked two nights for myself and a group of 12 friends, on arrival 3 of us were offered rooms which had virtually no natural light and faced a wall, on complaint to reception we were told that there no alternatives, after further complaint and the threat to leave we were offered rooms in the annex across the road.

my own room was in the roof up six flights of stairs with no lift, on initial inspection the decoration of the room was adequate but certainly not 4 or 5 star, and it had tiny windows with very little natural light.

Add to this the lack of water pressure in the bathroom and only one light over the sink, i think i have every right to complain.

but this afternoon was the final straw, i attempted to turn on the bathroom light switch and it fell away from the wall to expose bare live wires.

on a service point found the staff at breakfast very unresponsive and slow given that there were so few guest there at the time we were there.

I generally wouldn't rate it better than a 3 star at best and certainly not worth over £200.00 per night B&B

I think the management need to pay more attention to detail and maintenance.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Ian P,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration. We hope that you will stay with us again and if you do please put a request for sea room in hotel Argentina so we can ensure you best accommodation.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really loved this place though it was insanely overpriced ($475/night). The views are probably it's strongest selling point. The rooms are decent but nothing spectacular. We stayed in a room that was detached from the hotel, actually on the other side of the street and up some long stairs. I'd stay there again but would want to be in the main hotel itself. The staff were friendly, particularly the reception and bellmen. The food and service at the restaurant are a bit above average for Croatia but horrifying when compared to the rest of the luxury travel world. If you want to stay in a luxury hotel in Dubrovnik, this is a great option particularly because of it's location and views (they're absolutely world class). Personally though, I find Dubrovnik to be way overpriced for what it really has to offer as a whole and the locals simply don't appreciate tourism beyond what money they can make in the short-term. If you have to go to Dubrovnik, Argentina should be in your top 3 choices for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Jason A,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again and if you do please put a request to stay in the hotel so we can ensure your accommodation there and not in villa Glavic.

Have a nice day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just had a lovely week at the Grand Villa Argentina. Beautiful hotel in a stunning
location. Disappointed at amount of steps down to the pool when we got there but soon discovered the lift went down to pool level. Plenty of sun beds,very helpful pool attendants.
Room comfortable, shame there is only a few balconies as the hotel is built into a cliff.
Dining area has exquisite views of the Adriatic. Buffet breakfast very good----lots of choice.
We were half board but most guests seemed to be on a bed and breakfast basis so,
consequently the dining area lacked a little atmosphere at dinner. Food waiter service, very good!!!! All staff very attentive and helpful.
Dubrovnik is a lovely place,lots to see and do. Had a boat trip to Cavtat,well worth the 40 minute
sail. Plenty of places to watch the world go by!!!!
All in all a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very comfortable 704.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear FrancknChris,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.