We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at wonderful hotel in dubrovnik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Save Saved
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“great stay at wonderful hotel in dubrovnik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

just returned from a 3 day stay at Grand Villa. The hotel was great, we had room on 6th floor with sea view - i would recommend that you upgrade to sea view - totally worth it!! rooms were spacious and clean. the products were lovely too and getting chocolates on our pillow every night was a nice touch. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice. We used the pool or sea every day and the staff were very attentive. We didnt eat at the hotel as plenty of nice restaurants in Dubrovnik which is only a 10 minute walk away. I would certainly come back and would recommend to anyone to come here when you visit dubrovnik. felt very spoilt and sad to leave such a beautiful place :)

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Grand Villa Argentina hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    165
    67
    23
    9
See reviews for
69
313
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel indeed has a great views, garden and chef! Food was absolutely amazing! Victoria bar is a very nice spot!

We booked the terrace for the wedding dinner but the hotel decided very early in the day on their own that because of the weather we will have it in a very dull conference room. The weather turned out to be lovely in the afternoon and we were very disappointed to be eating inside. Especially that year earlier, when we were paying our deposit we were told in case of rain party would be still outside but in a roofed area. We were assured that they will have accurate weather forecast, and once the weather is nice the party will be held outside.

Serving the dinner took so long that we didn't manage to do everything that was planed for the party as the music had to stop around 12.30 am. We were also not asked if we want the sparkler in the wedding cake - we got it and it spoiled the cake for us. The wedding banquet manager did not ask us - assumed. Few small requests we had- like putting the water for guest on the tables, she ignored. She also didn't ask us/ show us how things will be set in the conference room we did not take into account to have our arty at all.

The room was disappointing (not a 5*hotel room): the size (there was no room to hang the wedding dress or to pose to the preparation photos), the curtain was ripped and we were not asked if we want our bed in petals (which we find really tacky), but we got it and very early (8pm?) in the evening so it was not possible to go to the room for a quick rest during the wedding party without sitting or stepping on them. The bed was very uncomfortable and felt a bit broken from using.

Few things got missing from us and our guest during the wedding party (small gifts and sun glasses). Also the wedding cake was not offered to us after the party was finished (we got the sample we tasted few days before but not the actual cake).

Breakfast in the hotel does not offer good coffee. The choice of food is very limited.

It was a shock to the system after staying in a much nicer 3* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nice but certainly not 5star . We have stayed in 5 star hotels , ie Park Hyatt , Sydney , Peninsula Hotel Bangkok and Villa Argentina is not of this class . We stayed in room 218 , not paying extra for a sea view . We were almost below ground level and when we drew back the curtain , looked out onto a rock wall about 2feet away !! Couldn't even see what the weather was doing . Am sure sea view rooms are very different ? Our mistake !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Alyson W,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing a review. We are aware of room 218 not having sea view. I am sure if you stayed in a room with sea view, you would enjoy much more!

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but hopefully you will come back and enjoy in better room next time you visit us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The location and view from this hotel are the two best features of this hotel. We had a lovely room with a great balcony and stunning views, but I'm afraid that's as good as it got. This hotel does not match other five star hotels. Breakfast was okay, but certainly doesn't match other five stars, just little things would make all the difference; eggs cooked to order; freshly squeezed orange juice; better quality cereals; a new toaster and staff who all looked as if they actually wanted to be there! The killer for us was the noise, particularly late evening into the evening. This hotel and others obviously host functions, which you would expect as a key business for most hotels, but we didn't expect the chest crushingly level of noise we experienced one evening, accompanied by shouting and swearing at 1.30am and a rendition of happy birthday! We're not kill joys but if we'd wanted to experience a nightclub atmosphere we'd have gone to one. If the music doesn't prevent you from sleeping the fireworks around midnight will. They were lovely the first night, the second time they were losing their appeal and by the third night I'd well and truly had enough. To sum up the hotel is in a great location well within easy walking distance of the old city, which is stunning, but if you're used to five stars this hotel will fall short and certainly if you're looking for peace and tranquility late and into the small hours this hotel can't guarantee it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great level walk to the old walled town. Fantastic pool that is right next to the Adriatic sea. The rooms were clean and had a nice feel to it. The hotel also had a beauty parlour, spa, sauna and steam room - all welcome after a day walking around the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 6 - the same level as reception so that your sea view is not obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Argentina on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Argentina. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a sea facing room with balcony and the view was fantastic. Breakfast taken out on the terrace looked across the bay to the Old City of Dubrovnik, simply stunning. Choice of breakfast was excellent, our room was clean, large and comfortable with a lovely kitted out bathroom. The hotel overall was immaculate. We found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and when we did have a problem with our toilet seat, it was replaced within about half-hour. Try getting that at home! We used the swimming pool and the beachside pool. Eating at the hotel is not cheap but the food was good. We had a really wonderful holiday in Dubrovnik, helped very much by this lovely hotel. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea-view, ours was a corner suite, so not obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Argentina on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Argentina . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel (May 2013) and held our wedding reception there. We'll start with the few positives..... The hotel is lucky to have such a beautiful view and garden facilities and these are it's main saving graces and the only thing that is anywhere near 5 star.
The Victoria terrace restaurant has been newly renovated and is lovely. During our wedding reception our guests were blown away with the setting. We were all very happy with the quality of our wedding meal. The staff serving us were helpful and attentive. Especially our bar-man later in the evening.

The Room.... First impressions.....a waft of old, must and a bathroom that you wouldn't even expect in a 2 star hotel! The bathroom stank of sewage and the décor was discoloured, and very dated. The hotel did try to solve it.....but frankly a quick spray of air freshener, just didn't do the job! Believe it or not.... the bad odour did not go away for the whole of our visit.This was particularly unpleasant when trying to get ready for my wedding in the room I found myself apologising to my bridesmaids for the awful smell!!! As soon as we were shown our room we asked to be moved due to the smell. We we shown a room of a lesser standard - smaller and poorer sea view ....of a tree! We were told to, "Hurry up and decide", if we wanted to change rooms. This isn't service that is expected from a 5 star hotel and I was appalled!

The Staff - The reception staff were cold,unwelcoming and didn't want to be bothered to assist guests. They gave short, sharp and uninterested responses to questions. When visiting the pool area, we were looking forward to sunbathing. There were a lack of sun beds set out for guests on a lovely sunny day - when we asked if 2 extra sunbeds could be put out we were told no, even though many were stacked in clear view, behind the member of staff - who was busy texting on his phone and smoking!

Facilities - The gym...what gym? it resembles a home made gym with few pieces of equipment (4 machines!) However, the 'sports massage' is to be praised.

The Bill - As we held our wedding reception here we had a large bill to pay. This was expected....however when we asked for the bill it was in Kuna rather than euros. The hotel had previously quoted prices in euros and this made checking the bill impossible, which was very annoying when paying such a large amount of money.
The bill was grouped together with VAT and TAXs added here there and everywhere. It was not itemised at all just bundled together into random amounts. We paid the bill but did not feel confident that it was correct and would warn people to try and pay as you go rather than expecting an understandable bill at the end of your stay.

This hotel is lucky to have the location and sea view, if it did not have this it really would be a hotel of horrors! I would not recommend it to anyone. My mother and father also stayed there and agree that it is a really poor hotel, how they class themselves as a top hotel I do not know. For the earlier part of our week's stay we were at The Hilton...... That is somewhere I would recommend!
Stay away from room 736!
We have read a few manager responses on here....and we'd like to use the hotel manager's words to explain our view...'when paying for a Ferrari we don't expect a clapped out old banger.'

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.