We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great and charming place! Argentina, Orso and Sheherezade combined!
Nice and cozy room in Argentina even dough normal size and amenities. Charming and great beach, restaurant and terrace. Also nice food. In summer you can enjoy the view to the Old Town. There is a good restaurant at villa Orso. Sheherezade is spectacular. We were guests there but saw almost everything it has. It is quite close to the Old Town. A bit strange is that parking is usually charged daily. Finnaly, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Voyagepreneur,

Thank you for stayin in Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room, food and our restaurants.
Sincerely we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    223
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
87
411
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel as a splendid location, just under 10 minutes walking to the old town of Dubrovnik. Own seafront pool and rocky beach. Rooms tend to be very small and need refurbishing. Rooms in the old Villa part of the hotel are larger and have own terrasse. Staff is helpful, sometimes lacking friendliness. Bathrooms have sometimes nasty smell.

Room Tip: Choose larger rooms in old Villa part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear SWGolfer,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you liked ambience, we will take in consideration comment regarding room.

We hope that you will stay with us again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Knowing that Dubrovnik dates back to their ancient city walls yet is only 10 years old, you'd think the htoels would be the same. You would, most definitely be wrong. The Argentina is a beautiful hotel with old world charm with its lobby and modern terraces overlooking the Adriatic sea. I stayed at this hotel with a group of travel agents traveling together with Brendan Tours when we were upgraded and lucky enough to be in this lovely hotel.
The location is a 10 minutes walk to the old city gates ( down hill, but watch that return walk in the opposite direction) The hotel is in a convenient location. There are few shops surrounding the hotel, but once inside the city gates, plenty of excellent restaurants and shops.
I highly recommend this hotle for your stay in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Try to request a room facing to pool and sea. The view of the old city is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mrs. Basbgirl55,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and hopefully you will come back again as we would be more than happy to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from 4 nights at this wonderful hotel, we have the most amazing views out to sea and to the old town. It was very clean and the staff were very helpful. there was a very good choice for breakfast. Superb location for the old town. Would only choose this hotel when we go back because it had the best location and views.

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor. best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Brownteam,

Thank you for stayin in Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our facilities.
Sincerely we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The outlook, surrounds, access to the water are all fantastic. The ambience is just great. The looks are just a little too old style and heavy for my liking and small. A few others have said the same thing..the rooms need a refresh but location, aspect and surrounds were just great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
I am glad that you liked ambience, we will take in consideration comment regarding room.

We hope that you will stay with us again

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

To put in context, we had been traveling for two months throughout the Balkans staying in hotels ranging from $80/night to $600/night. This was by far our favourite.
What we loved:
- daily brunch with champagne overlooking amazing view. The food was mediocre but view made up for it.
- the pool area - Croatia does not have amazing sand beaches; the majority if their coastline is rock so if u come here with expectations of an amazing sandy beach you will be disappointed. How ever we loved lying in our beach chairs with an amazing view of Dubrovnik old town. Also loved the little nooks around the beach area so that you could feel like you were off on your own if u chose to.
- proximity to old town is unbeatable. Far enough away that you aren't swimming with boats, but close enough it's an easy walk.
What we didn't like:
- the service was very mediocre. You always had to ask. For example, I drink tea with breakfast and we always felt like we had to chase people down to get a tea. Wish they had just had a self serve area.
- concierge was awful and virtually useless. How ever when I went to front desk so that they could make a dinner reservation for us they were extremely helpful. Issue was mainly with concierge and restaurants.
- rooms are nothing special and lack view due to layout of hotel. The rest if the hotel makes up for it tho...
We spent our days enjoying a leisurely brunch followed by a swim/relaxing around the pool followed by a walk into town for an afternoon latte or gelato people watching in one of the gorgeous squares followed by another swim and watching the sunset over Dubrovnik town before heading back into town for a late dinner and drinks. We stayed for almost two weeks and I could have stayed longer.
We also stayed briefly at Dubrovnik palace hotel and there was no comparison. The palace was too pretentious and too far from the old town. See review...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write such detaild review.
I am glad that we were your favourite hotel.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

OK, so we were very lucky to get a free upgrade to the best room in the Hotel (if you can get room 614 it's a must for the view and a nice quiet older side of the hotel - and thanks again to the desk folk) but even without that, the breakfasts are superb in a great setting, and you are far enough removed from the bustle of Dubrovnik proper - just a nice stroll from the Old Town. October was a great time to go and we were lucky with the weather. Very helpful concierge staff, nice range facilities, pools (indoor and out) very pretty and unspoilt location. Superb holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the older part of the hotel - recommend 614.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us again and if you do please put a request for room in Villa Argentina so we can ensure your accommodation there.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.