We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Villa Argentina to your Saves list
Grand Villa Argentina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
uk london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great hotel.
Within 10 min walking distance to the old city.
Rooms are comfortable and quiet.
We had a sea view room so had a great view of all the yachts going by/stowed and also Lokrum island.
Breakfast is superb.
Cannot fault!

We did a couple of day trips to Montenegro and Mostar in Bosnia. I personally thought the Mostar trip was excellent and much better than Montenegro.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your impresions about your stay in our hotel!
We are glad that you were satisfied with your room and breakfast.
We hope that we would have opportunuty to welcome you in our hotel again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    224
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
87
413
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

No doubt it is the best option in Dubrovnik for hot weather visitors who appreciate a private access to the sea ( which is here very rare ) and on short easy walking distance into the walled town ( 10 minutes ). The complex has charm, style, location, view and private sea access, it is important to book a sea view. If you are going for a standard room try & get the 7th floor which is first floor at street level.

From our experience was that this establishment is perfect for couples, a nice and quiet atmosphere even when fully booked. There are some beautiful terraced gardens which provide shade & tranquillity but are very underused, possibly because there is no direct access by the lift only stairs.

There are reviews on here that suggest the staff are unfriendly. What I like about this hotel and in Croatia in general is that the service isn't false and overly gushing I thought the staff were really kind and helpful.

A negative is if you are visiting the Hotel & Dubrovnik for the first time the brochures do not prepare you for the steps. If you had mobility issues then some parts of the hotel such as the gardens and bathing platform were difficult to access. The only other gripe was with the hotel management, I could not work out their relationship with staff. We had some thunderstorms on evening and had planned to eat on the terrace restaurant. Before the rain started front of house staff started rushing about clearing seat cushions set tables etc. to protect them from the storm & continued serving they worked so hard. When they had made things safe two additional staff (I presume management) came to help. One of them just seemed to walk about for an hour in which time they served 2 cups of coffee and delayed a waiter because they needed instructions to help serving a desert. During the walking they slipped twice on the wet floor but did nothing to protect colleagues by making the floor safe. This was also reflected in the level of consistency in service e.g. at breakfast if one had coffee and the other had tea sometimes you just got hot milk and on other occasion hot & cold milk.

These are minor gripes as the front of house staff were great.

The hotel is great. Friendly staff, great location, beautiful views, great beach, great breakfast and evening meals, and a nice clean room.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, 7th floor for a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you were satisfied with our hotel location, setting and tranqility which is really special.
Also, it is nice to hear that you recognized our employees as kind and helpful.
I remember thunderstorm night and know everything you wrote about. As you saw the wind was extremely strong and thunderstorm was aproaching quickly. In the end it was not so bed as we thought it would be, but we had to help to our employees which was a good move in my opinion. Maybe it was not completely professional and procedural, but we all help each other when possible. I would call it force Majeure. I remember that I slipped twice but it was the floor that were my shoes which were not suitable for rain.
We truly hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We've just returned from a week's holiday with our twin toddlers and spent the whole time wishing we'd come earlier during life before children as it would have been perfect. The setting is stunning. It's a grand, eclectic building, cascading down into the sea,

The rooms are nice enough. Not five star flash but definitely fine. There was a problem with the bathroom smelling of raw sewage though, which I think was due to the rain.


We ate at the Caravalle restaurant every night where the food was excellent. At the beach restaurant it's another story. We ordered the sea food pasta on the first day and it was basically sea food dumped in a load of cream. No herbs, no seasoning even. Just bland, lazy and amateur and definitely nothing to do with Thierry who oversees the cooking at the Caravelle and the Victoria restaurant which which was excellent.

Another good thing about this place is the staff. There are a reviews on here that suggest the staff are unfriendly. What I like about this hotel and in Croatia in general is that the service isn't false and overly gushing as you'd find in countries such as the US. I thought the staff were really kind and helpful without being obsequious.

This place is perfect for people travelling without kids. Which is just my kind of hotel except I'd brought my twin toddlers. Whilst the staff went out of their way to accommodate our toddlers it's not ideal for young kids. The pool area is too dangerous as the edge of the pool is a sheer drop into the sea. The terrace has gaps under the fencing with sheer drops underneath. The windows in the rooms start at floor level have railings wide enough for little people to slip through. This hotel was a bit of a death trap for toddlers which is may be a good thing as it's all the better for being peaceful and child free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you liked the setting of the hotel!
Thank you for giving comments about the restaurants we will check together with Cheff the offer and quality in beach restaurant.
It is nice to hear that you commented and recognized our staff kindness.
I have to agree with you that it takes a lot of care for small children especially in the beach area as sea is immediately deep.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice hotel(s?), but a bit overpriced and overrated. It was very warm, and the air conditioning did not work as well as one would expect, which is inexcusable at those prices. Beautiful location, it's a couple of old villas joined by a modern addition. The modern part is extremely unattractive from the exterior but adds a lot to the package, particularly the large covered sea-view terrace where breakfast is served, which offers stunning views of Lokrum Island, the Adriatic and the old walled city. We spent some of our most relaxing moments in Dubrovnik on the breakfast terrace and at the hotel "beach" and pool area. The service was mixed. The waiters at breakfast were respectful but a bit overworked. The two women who sat at the concierge desk in the lobby were wonderful: extremely attentive, warm, friendly, down-to-earth and very helpful. We were traveling alone and needed help figuring out how we were going to get to Split and Zagreb after our week in Dubrovnik; they would research ferry and train schedules for us and send elaborate notes in perfect English. The men at the front desk (i.e. reception staff) were considerably less friendly and accommodating, and were frankly a bit the sales clerks one sometimes finds in highly exclusive shops who think it's their prerogative to assume a superior air. I would certainly recommend the hotel and return, but would advise the management to look into the air conditioning and the reception staff's attitude, and also try to cut down, if possible, on the large tour groups who left the lobby cluttered with their luggage for nearly an entire day on two occasions during our week there last month.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with our your opinion about our hotel!
Regarding the air conditioning it would be helpful for us to know which parts were not conditioned well.
It is nice to hear that guestrelations girls were helpful. Regarding the reception staff thank you for giving us comment so we can take the action for improving.
For the luggage we do hope that we would find a better solution in the future so that all our guests are satisfied.
We are glad that you would reccomend us and truly we hope that you will visit us agian.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in the actual main building of the Villa Argentina. I did study other reviews and believe that this is of importance in relation to the "comfort" factor. The Grand Villa Argentina is a 5 star rated establishment and is accordingly expensive, especially in high season. Is it worth it ?, solely based upon my short two night stay - my answer is yes, most definitely. Our main reason for choosing the G.V.A. was the proximity to the old town - perfect - a 10 minute walk.
Secondly, I had noted the "beach" & bathing facilities. A high score on this part, note that sandy beaches are not to be expected in this part of the Adriatic, they are relatively seldom.
We were met with a courteous correctness upon check - in. I believe that this "correctness" can be, mistakenly, experiencied as being aloof. I could not find any fault with the staff in reception, in fact their response to my asking to pay for an upgrade, was to grant one without charge, find a room which was instantly available (this was relatively early morning) and then send a staff member across to the car park, to carry my cases up to the room. Top score on all points. So lets be finicky in finding something to complain about - Breakfast - there is a too small selection of tea! Lunch at the beach restaurant - I do not agree with the current French Chef and his lacking use of herbs, the pasta was somewhat tasteless! note that we once ate lunch on the breakfast terrace and both the pasta and Ceasar salad was much better there - do they have different Chefs/kitchens ? The waiter-staff on the both lunches are very friendly - again high score. The room was, as expected, very clean and as befitting - nice touch with the evening chocolate/turn-down. If it is of any importance (for the ladies?) the supplied bathroom toiletries are from L`occitane. The beach staff were quick in rendering extra sun-shades, towels etc. The indoor pool, showers etc. were kept spotless. There is, in short, practically nothing to complain of. A small annoyance that some guests go to the pool in the early morning, before breakfast, solely in order to reserve sun beds by placing towels upon them, selfish ignorance, but this is not the fault of the hotel! My experience was that this establishment is perfect for couples, a nice and quiet atmosphere even when fully booked. To sum up - I can honestly recommend a stay at the Grand Villa Argentina.

Room Tip: Try for the main building, with sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing detailed review about our hotel!
I am glad that you recognized our front desk, restaurant and beach area employees.
Thank you for giving comments about food too, acually it would be good for us to know which pasta you had and to check it.
It is very nice to hear that you would reccomend us and we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. Food and drink very expensive for what you get. Rooms are nice and with good views but air conditioning leaves a lot to be desired.

Only problem was; in general staff were not very friendly and on a number of occasions just ignored us if we asked for a drink or a coffee at breakfast or lunch.

Was six of us staying here and there was some queries on check in and the reception staff could not have been less helpful if they tried.

Given this is supposed to be a 5* hotel, a few basic customer service lessons would go a long way. Only exception was a girl who served us cocktails in the Victoria bar who was very friendly and nice and was tipped accordingly. Her older colleagues could learn a thing or 2 from her and make more tips in the process!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
I have to say that I am sorry to hear that you perceived our staff as unfriendly. In the other hand I am glad that you were satisfied with our young employee in Lounge bar and that you recognized her smile and friendliness.

If you decide to visit us again please contact us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is actually a complex of several old very nicely refurbished mansions, interconnected by a modern structure and all sharing the public areas and services.
They segmented the market from Villa Glavic's low rate rooms to the upscale Villa Orsula's with rate differences of around 3 to 1. This unusual rate gap makes the selection of a room very important because its easy to get confused and disappointed from their rate segmentation : they market the different Villas as different hotels ( although they indivate that they all share the areas of the whole complex ). For reasons I cannot understand, along the road in the city of Dubrovnik you can find a sign signaling Hotel Villa Orsula and another signaling in the same direction as Villa Argentina, both beeing a different wing of a same hotel called Grand Villa Argentina.
Said this, the complex is beautiful. Its location is stunning. Cascading from lobby level 6 to the sea level 0 along several terraces of gardens, bars, restaurants and a fantastic sunbathing seashore area with pool.
The two restaurants plus the beach one, serve excellent fare, specially the gourmet Victoria restaurant with its vine pergola terrace overlooking Dubrovnik.
The breakfast buffet is OK and served in another outdoor modern terrace on level 4 with an unparaleled view of the sea, Lokrum island and the walled city.
WIFI is complimentary in the whole complex. Unreliable in the rooms with speeds under 0,7 mb/s but replaceble with a cable connection that works very well. WIFI in public areas is OK.
The Spa and indoor pool are nice but the gym is a little small in space considering the size of the complex.
We had a good sized room in Villa Orsula, with modern tasteful furnishings, with an oversized bathroom and excellent AC.
it is very important to book a sea view room.
No doubt it is the best option in Dubrovnik for hot weather visitors who apreciate a private access to the sea ( which is here very rare ) and on short easy walking distance into the walled town ( 10 minutes ). The complex has charm, style, location, view and private sea access, all of which none other hotel in Dubrovnik has.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
As you wrote yes we do have 5 buildings in the same location and many room types. We separated villas and hotel and markt them differntly in order to help our guests understand better when they book a room.
We are glad to hear that you liked our restaurants, gardens and outside swimming pool area.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Escapio, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Villa Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.