We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with the infrastructure..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 hotels in Dubrovnik
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with the infrastructure..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

... located a couple of kilometers from the Old Town.
Swimming pool, wifi and a nice view from the rooms (at 7th floor) with balcony towards the sea (ask for a room on that side!). Excellent breakfast!)
Bars and restaurants in the neigbouring street and the okay beach is only 200 meters away.
Good service level. Only minus: No czech beer in the lobbybar...
However, you may have your beer and lunch 'homemade style' at the informal cafeteria on the south side of the beach. The lady is growing the mint leaves for the Mojito in their back yard!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    261
    93
    22
    14
See reviews for
80
290
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was clean when we arrived and the staff friendly. However the cleaning of our rooms did deteriorate as the week went by and we weren't left toiletries every day.

The beds were comfortable and the room spacious which was necessary as with no drawers, we had to live out of our suitcases for the week. It was only on the day we were leaving that we saw some of the other rooms had a couple of drawers! Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been very welcome too.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so it was necessary to hire a car. The beach was appalling with lots of debris and dog mess.

The food was a little disappointing as there were no local dishes to try.

The gym was very disappointing as there were only two treadmills and two bikes that were working and despite reporting that the other two bits of equipment were broken, nothing was done.

I loved Dubrovnik but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with drawers and a sea/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from The Grand Hotel Park and thought it was really good. Good location - just a 2 minute walk from the beach which was very small. Bus stop for the bus into the old town of Dubrovnik was just a 2 minute walk. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel but it was a good size, very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job each day. There were two pools at the hotel. Breakfast and dinner were both buffet style with plenty of choice catering for all tastes. Happy Hour between 6 and 7 was a welcome treat just before dinner. There is a spa at the hotel but I felt it was too expensive so never used it. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days in late October. The room was clean and quiet (looking away from the sea.) The food was good (breakfast and dinner) but as they cater for large tour groups, it is buffet style. The evening drinks are extra and rather expensive.
In addition to what others have written, the hotel provided a candlelit meal with a male trio singing traditional Croatian songs.
The hotel is next to the walkway from the main road to the beach where tour operators offer trips in the region.
We hired a car and enjoyed trips to Kotor and Mostar. It was disappointing that Sveti Stefan in Montenegro is now privately owned and cannot be visited.
We found Cavtat a delightful place to visit on way to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

4th visit to Croatia. Having just returned from a week at The Grand I felt things could of been a little better. The Hotel and room were generallly clean to begin with but the bathroom shelf and drinks tumblers wern't cleaned all week and neither were the communal stairs and landing mats washed or hoovered all week. The same spillage stains on the third to second flight were still there when we left and the mats on the landings needed a good hoover. The twin rooms were spacious enough but there were no drawers and only 1 small wardrobe which is ok for 1 or 2 nights but not a week, beds and pillows very comfortable though. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is so outdated nor iron available but the bathroom has a proper nozzled hairdryer and good make up mirror.
We had maintenance problems 3 times in the room and the chap that attended was extreamly quick and efficient. The shower cubicle had small black mould stains in places that had been painted over, the rubbish bin was rusty and the walls in the room are ready for a lick of paint. The reception/bar had tree and rose art works on the wall of which 3 had broken bits on, the staff in both were polite and friendly enough.
2 of the 5 machines in the gym and jacuzzi were broken and no attempt made to fix them, the swimming pool is salt water and was freezing.
The buffet style meals were adequate but could of been hotter with more variety and less grease, it seemed to be a 4 day menu cycle but its fair to say we didnt starve and the staff looked after us very well. Half board or not there are no drinks with the evening meal you have to pay for bottled water as they dont give you tap water or tea and coffee.
The lifts are pathetic for a hotel of this size, there are 2 which only fit 4 people in without luggage we used the stairs most days.
All rooms with balconies DO NOT have a sea view, we over looked the car park which is noisy at night if you want to sleep with the door open rather than have the air con on.
A lady played the piano on Saturday only and there was no other entertainment.
The beach at the bottom of the garden was very disapointing for Croatia, on the day we took a stroll down it had broken glass on the sea front, dogs poo and several used sanitary products in the bathing area. The guys who were there to take your money to hire chairs should be looking after the area better. Needless to say we didnt stay which is a shame as Croatia's beaches elsewhere are beautiful.
The 4 of us hired a car for the week all inc for £160 and it paid for it paid for itself twice over, driving is easy as there is 1 main road going north or south and sign posts are adequate. We picked it up at the airport and didnt have to do the multiple drops to get to our hotel which is the first advantage. The trip to Mostar ( a must by the way and the best ) is 240 kn and takes about 2 hours but you have much more freedom to look around and see other little nooks and crannies as you go. Dubrovnic old town is about 6km away and we took 2 days to look around it all properly and its fantastic, the cable car ride for the panoramic view is 87kn for a 2 min trip but a drive to the top is much more exciting. A trip to montenegro ( Kotar) is 320 kn so just on trips alone we saved £120 and saw so much more. Parking is 5kn ph wherever you go. Another place of note is Cavtat about 16 km outside Lapad, its a quaint harbour village with 2 churches and a mausoleum well worth visiting. We went out every day and made the most of the good weather 25-21 degrees which was good for this time of year because when the rain hit on the 6th day we knew about it and it didnt stop all night, terrific lightening show over the surrounding hills.
All in all we had a good value holiday because we made the most of what was on offer but I would,nt use this hotel again. The little things mean a lot !

Room Tip: It seems family rooms have drawers and consider paying more for a sea view even though you have alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Croatia and we wasn't disappointed. The Grand Hotel Park was an excellent choice as is provided the perfect base base to explore the local region. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious, make sure you book a sea-view room, my wife was speechless when she first saw the view. The meals are buffet style and there is an excellent range to suit all tastes. There are two swimming pools with plenty of sun loungers. Only criticism was that there was no evening entertainment, except a lady playing the piano a couple of times a week. If you are looking for a hotel in this area then Check It Out.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, food great, rooms clean, friendly staff and happy hour in the bar between 6 - 7pm.

Only negatives are that the Jacuzzi was not working and we received no apology and the indoor pool was not heated. I am a regular swimmer and this pool was freezing so I was disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.