We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best - Location, Service, Rooms and Views - Unbeatable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dubrovnik Deluxe
Ranked #10 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Camberley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best - Location, Service, Rooms and Views - Unbeatable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Originally booked the Bellvue but was told two weeks before travel that it was closed and would we accept their sister hotel 'The Excelsior'.
We were totally looked after like VIP's from the re-booking stage to when we left the hotel.
Having booked a deluxe room with sea view we were upgraded to a deluxe apartment with views to die for.
Having travelled all around the World, this hotel was up there with the very best.
Fantastic buffet breakfast, superb spa area, and the location was perfect, just five minute walk into the Old Town.
My wife was treated to cake and flowers in the room on hearing it was her birthday, nothing was too much for the staff - exceptional polite service at all times.
Maybe we could not afford to stay in the same room (list price was £1100 a night!!) again, but for we will certaintly be back one day.
Dubrovnik itself was idealic - one of the nicest Cities/Towns I have had the pleasure of visiting.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    227
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
116
417
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This Hotel is amazing and i think its the best in Dubrovnik. Its located across from the Old city with only 5 mintues walking distance. The rooms are amazing. Very clean, beautifully furnished and very friendly staff...
The Hotel is also located on the adriatic sea. As soon as you step out to the pool area on to the waterfront pavillon you can sit in your sunchair or simply take a dip into the Adriatic.. Its a beautiful location... I suggest to any couple to have a baffet dinner on the waterfront pavillon... Amazing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member Sylvia_85,

Thank you so much for the recommendation and this great review! On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to say how delighted we are to hear your kind words. We truly hope that you will have opportunity to visit Dubrovnik and our Excelsior Hotel & Spa again and enjoy in the unique location, views and services.

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Just like a design incentive trip. Great location, great hotel, great weather, great service.
I have comed from an incentive trip and I found the hotel excelsior a superb location to mix business and pleasure.

The SPA and indoor swimming pool are sublime, the views are fantastic and the food was good.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member Rickyspa1,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feelings regarding our hotel and staff. It's great to hear you rated everything so highly. We hope to have the chance to host you again!

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hotel was excellent. There was not many people at the hotel as it was off season. I was a little upset that they did not upgrade our room, be that the hotel was near empty.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member jelliot77,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you will have opportunity to visit our Hotel Excelsior and Dubrovnik again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel, stunning views, great breakfast, good location, could not fault it. We stayed here for our honeymoon and enjoyed the gorgeous pool and spa facilities. One of the best hotels we have stayed in in the world....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor members John_and_Denise,
Thank you for your sincere observations about your stay and best wishes for your new life together! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will give us opportunity to welcome you again in near future.

Kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The hotel is just outside the old town, literally only a 5-10 minute walk. Staff were all very helpful and all in all a very pleasant stay - the swimming pool and spa are great.
As the hotel claims 5 stars I will be picky and compare it to those standards - bath towels are very small and not very absorbent. My room had a broken shower and when I tried to use the bath instead I found it had several hairs from the last few occupant(s) in it. When I complained this was fixed immediately, but there was no apology for a rather shocking lapse. Did marr an otherwise very pleasant stay.
Free wifi throughout the hotel with no annoying registration was great as was the live piano music each evening in the bar

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor member MayesTripper,
Many thanks for your review. While we are glad you liked most of your stay with us, we are sorry that, in some aspects, hotel did not fulfill your expectations.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you had to endure during your stay with us.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your stay in Excelsior; we are always grateful to hear our guests’ opinion, because each one helps us give better service. We hope that you will give us opportunity to host you on your next visit to Dubrovnik.
Kind regards,

Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This hotel has only one minus ... little bit small rooms, but that's the only one negative. I really loved staying at this place & I really would love to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor member Weetek,
We would like to thank you for taking time to leave your comment. It is very important to us that our guests leave the hotel with good impressions and a desire to return. We hope to welcome you to Excelsior hotel & spa again in the near future!
Kind regards,

Jasna Durkovic
General Manager
Excelsior hotel & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.