We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I spent 10 days here with my husband in July and the hotel
is excellent. We had a very comfortable sea view room with
balcony which had the most incredible view of Dubrovnik.
The hotel has a wonderful indoor pool and spa with sea bathing
outside no outdoor pool which is the hotels only drawback.
The buffett breakfast was wonderful everything you could want
and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. We ate at the Japenese
restaurant in the hotel on two nights delicious. It is walkable into the old town
I would say 10 to 15 minutes and in the heat of summer the return journey
which is uphill can be tiring. However overall this is a great hotel and I
would be happy to return

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview with balcony it is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    304
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
168
575
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior a solid 4 star hotel by European standards. The rooms were clean and of average size. The staff were quite helpful, but the view is what most recommends this hotel. Our balcony had exquisite views of the city and the bay. It was an easy 5 min walk into the walled city. We enjoyed our stay and just LOVED this city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a bigger trip, and very much enjoyed our time in the Excelsior. The hotel is in a prime location, only 5 minutes walk from the Old City but a comfortable distance away that you avoid the many, many tourist crowds - and the thump from the beach club down the road.

Our room was a good size with all the mod cons you'd expect of a 5-star. Including a fabulous balcony over looking the bay and part of the Old City.

Highlights for us we're the view of the bay; spa facilities and location. I wouldn't necessarily say it's worth paying the Friday and Saturday rate that this hotel commands - we stayed from a Sunday night. As it doesn't really bring anything hugely new or special to the mix. But all in all there's very little to fault with the Excelsior.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room view if you can. The land view is quite limited due to the geography of Dubro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very well positioned 5star hotel looking onto the old town and a short walk to the centre.
Rooms nicely appointed sky sports more channels would be nice.restaurant breakfast staff tops food quality really good. Bar service friendly ,professional
super indoor pool leading to outdoor sea swimming. Good inclusive sauna jacuzzi and steam room. Body treatments undersold staff not very good at promoting.
Reception never stopped being helpful and fair wit all recomendtions
We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had read mixed reviews of this hotel and so approached with caution but... We have been extremely happy with the whole experience. We have stayed in the hotel for a week and the staff have been extremely helpful and friendly at all times! The breakfast is delicious - there are choices of omelette, eggs Benedict and all sorts to choose from as well as the buffet menu. There are some nice touches such as a small chocolate in your room each night and although there is no tea making tray, you only have to ask! The spa facilities are excellent and the hotels proximity to the old city is perfect. Just near enough to walk in but far enough away not to get disturbed by any noise. The room is lovely - big and airy with lovely bathroom facilities. We had asked for a sea view room and had the picture postcard view every morning. Delightful! It was quiet at the start of the week but got busy in the hotel by the end of October- but it IS the end of the season. Would thoroughly recommend it and am already saving to come back!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights there last week. Our reception was not especially warm but was efficient if nothing else. The room was fantastic with stunning views and good facilities and very clean. The food was really good with lots of choice and we found the wait staff at breakfast to be excellent.

Overall a great choice of hotel and we would happily go back at any time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and had a truly wonderful stay. The staff were friendly and attentive. The views spectacular from the piano bar, breakfast restaurant and the main restaurant. The old town 5 mins walking distance with a beautiful beach 2 mins away. The hotel facilities were out of this world worthy of the 5 stars. A truly special place with amazing views, staff, rooms, hotel facilities and world class food will definitely be returning. Weather was also fantastic for this time if year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1913, the Excelsior has become an iconic landmark among the five-star hotels in Dubrovnik. This time-honoured building – a blend of old and new – is uniquely located on a cliffside, with magnificent views from every floor, over to the island of Lokrum in one direction and the Old Town in another. Recognised as one of the finest hotels in the Mediterranean by the UK’s Sunday Times newspaper, it is only when you visit that you can fully appreciate the spectacular setting: the tranquil gardens in which to stroll; four fine-dining restaurants, all offering panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea; a private beach, back-dropped by the UNESCO-protected Old Town. Among the luxury hotels in Dubrovnik, the Hotel Excelsior is the benchmark to which others aspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.