We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelsior excels!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dubrovnik Deluxe
Ranked #10 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excelsior excels!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Here at present for a week with my parents for mum's birthday (May 2013). We have visited Dubrovnik before two years ago and stayed at their sister hotel, the Bellevue.

Positives: fab location from walled old city (literally a 5/10 min walk); good sized room (535) and seating area esp for 3 (3rd bed is double bed sofabed but absolutely fine) and separate shower which is excellent; great balcony with beautiful sea view; room cleaned well etc with lovely touches: l'occitane products, chocs at night, robe and slippers (ps hotel: robe belt loops broken which is annoying); staff most attentive and friendly; breakfast superb inc choice of freshly prepared hot breakfasts eg omelette, eggs benedict; spa very impressive (I would say much better than most spa hotels I've been to): large sauna and steam room, jacuzzi and great sized pool (much larger than Bellevue). It was raining and hotel gave us umbrellas. In hotel there are two good shops, ladies designer boutique with very helpful lady and also villebrequin shop. Lovely bar area with excellent cocktails and piano! Still to try sushi restaurant but looks good.

Big plus: on mums bday, choc cake was waiting in room for our return. I can only think they knew from passport which was a nice touch.

Negatives: our room wasn't ready when we arrived after midday and wasn't ready until after 2, I didn't find the lady at reception particularly helpful, and was shocked to find our luggage still sitting where we left it in reception (it would have been safer I think for it to be stored) but glad to say staff since have been lovely.

The hotel does well with the sea area which I imagine must be difficult to work with and there are sun loungers and the Beach restaurant is very good. It is perhaps missing a beach bar /cafe though along the lines of the Bellevue (you could order drinks or coffee at your lounger or sit and have just drink in their beach restaurant area).

Overall great choice of hotel and extremely close to all the Dubrovnik attractions!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive recomendation. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel" Excelsior." I am looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik!
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    229
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
118
423
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As you will have heard from the other reviews this hotel has the perfect location to visit the old town of Dubrovnik and see the sea. The other real selling point for me was the sun terrace with steps into the sea and a outdoor pool with sea water. It also has a big indoor pool with some hot tubs. The gym was small with just a few pieces of equipment but will do for a quick workout if you must.

Staying at this hotel without a balcony is like driving an Aston Martin with ear plugs in and completely missing the point.
It's a small point but i loved the l'occitane room products, good choice and big thumbs up from me.

The only things which stops this hotel being great for me were the staff and food. Staff were ok and friendly-ish but not what you would expect from a top hotel. Your only greeted occasionally and they never smile. It's one of those things which make a real difference to making you feel welcome. Food was ok but nothing special. Just what i would expect in a four star chain hotel. Having said that they did offer a sparkling white wine with the breakfast buffet so got a few brownie points back.

I'd say its worth a visit purely for an unbeatable location with good swim facilities and view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you for nice review ! Hope to welcome you very soon again in our hotel. Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel ~1330, and had no trouble getting into room. We had a balcony with sea view and superb view of Dubrovnik old city. Room had lots of space and storage. The bathroom had a walk-in shower plus a shower over the bath. Lighting in the bathroom and room were excellent. The bed was enormous, almost got lost on it! The balcony had 2 chairs & 2 loungers with covers kept inside the room when not in use.

Toiletries in the bathroom were L'Occitane. There were also slippers and bathrobes. Hot water was always available, though the towels seemed a little thin.

The room had a safe, a mini-bar, 2 easy chairs and a table.

Breakfast was buffet, plenty of hot and cold choices, plus an excellent range of breads. Coffee and tea at breakfast were never very hot, as if they did not use boiling water or the pots were not warmed beforehand.

Each night we had two chocolates.

The hotel had lots of photos of famous people who had stayed at the hotel, including Queen Elizabeth II.

The old city was an easy 5-10 minutes walk.

One down point was that the hotel hosts weddings, which in itself is no problem. However, there are sometimes discos held afterwards. On the Friday night we were there, there was a particularly loud disco. I complained and got the response that it was only one night and it might go on until 1, 2 or 3 o'clock in the morning! We were not amused and complained strongly. Our room was one of the nearest rooms to the disco. To the hotel's credit they allowed us to move from room 14 to 304, which was much quieter. There was a function the following evening. This time the hotel warned us in advance and gave us a 3-course complimentary dinner in their bar restaurant. The disco that evening was held in a different room and caused no problems.

Generally I try to avoid any hotel that I know hosts wedding celebrations etc because of noise problems, though I can understand they need to offer them to stay in business. However, I do expect 5 star hotels to consider carefully any impact on its other guests and avoid any noise problems. That said, the hotel did make amends.

The room we had, 14, was better than 304 - which had no loungers and had a smaller balcony area.
The windows in 14 were double glazed - those in 304 were not.

Coffee and tea making facilities were available on request but we did not confirm this.

Lokrum is great, an oasis of quiet away from the hurly burly of Dubrovnik old city. Note the ferries do not sail when the seas are too rough. We spent 4 hours there and could have spent longer. There are lots of walking trails and trees to provide shade. The ferry starts at 1000 from the port inside the old city.

The cable car does not run when it is too windy. It is also possible to get to the top by a number 17 bus. These leave outside the Pile gate on the side of the road opposite to that where there is a bus ticket booth. The bus is run by Libertas and is a minibus. The ride costs 12k each way and takes 20-25 minutes. At the top there is a 20 minute easy walk up to the cable car terminus and Fort Imperial. The views over Dubrovnik are stunning. Apart from a few taxis and private/hire cars, it was uncrowded.

Transfer between the hotel and the airport were easy, but don't use the hotel service. It costs 45 Euros - we used the Dubrovniktax.net service which cost 37 Euros and was excellent. Very knowledgeable and helpful driver who even provided a map.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Excelsior could not be more perfectly located for a visit in Dubrovnik. It's an easy downhill walk of 5 minutes to the entrance of Old Town. Situated right on the sea, it's worth it to splurge for the sea view room. The view is stunning. To the right is Old Town, and across the sea is a lovely island.

The room was of decent size and had a nice balcony that took advantage of the view. The room was a tad bit tight, and could do without the extra chair and table that were in the way. The bed and pillows was comfortable.
And the bathroom was spacious and very well equipped.

The breakfast buffet was quite decent, and in a lovely location, again taking advantage of the view.

And thank goodness, they had parking at the hotel! After driving from Split (where parking was non-existent), the last thing we wanted to deal with was finding a spot.

This is a must stay when in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the sea view. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you for nice review ! Hope to welcome you very soon again in our hotel. Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel excelsior doesn't hold 5 stars for nothing. Totally amazing place, starting with the staff.
Nothing is too much trouble and very polite, the rooms are cleaned daily,fresh towels and your bed is turned down in the evening ready for your return. The food is second to none. The is a nice choice at the buffet breakfast. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from the old town (walled city).
Dubrovnik is beautiful so much history and the scenery is totally stunning. There are no traces of the war in this beautiful little place only people that have come out stronger from it. If you fancy a swim in the hotel there is a beautiful pool and spa on the ground floor but if you prefer to swim in the sea go out of the rear of the hotel and you can dive straight in from the walkway. They have proper steps for you to get back out too. The rooms in the excelsior are very comfortable we had a huge double bed and huge big comfy pillows, very comfortable nights sleep. There is a safe in each room and laundry and ironing service if you require it. The view from our room (206) was amazing looking out to see and the harbour and walled city. There are a couple of restaurants and bars on the lower floors and the views from these too are spectacular. If I had to rate the hotel I'd give it 11 out of 10 and Dubrovnik well that is the icing on the cake totally beautiful. Take a boat trip to lopud island and spend the day there. Just jaw droppingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick room 206 or around that the view alone is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at "Excelsior" hotel. Should you return to Dubrovnik again it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Amazing views, extremely convenient for Old Town - 5* Service - nothing too much trouble for any of the staff.
Very helpful reception, bar and waiting staff who all appear to be extremely proud to be working at the hotel, helped make this a memorable and wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking The Adriatic have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for writing such a positive review of the hotel "Excelsior". Hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights as part of our Croatian honeymoon. We requested a sea view and got a room that overlooked some sort of roof looking up toward the road. It was also pretty small, i've stayed in rooms twice the size in the centre of London. However, the rest of the hotel was beautiful, so no need to spend much time in the room. Breakfast was excellent, served on a terrace with a magnificent view. The "beach" was great for a spot of sunbathing and cooling down in the sea. Staff were excellent. Location was perfect. Would highly recommend, just don't expect fantastic rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for writing such a positive review of the hotel "Excelsior". Hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours, Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.