We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value through Lastminute.com” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Suite Offer
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value through Lastminute.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked two rooms with breakfast in this hotel via the Mystery Hotel feature of Lastminute.com and as a result got the rooms at a bargain price. The hotel is in a great location by the sea and 5 - 10 mins walk from Dubrovnik old town.

The rooms were excellent and clean. The choice at breakfast could hardly have been bettered - a very wide range of food for all tastes and of very good quality. Champagne was available alongside the fruit juice and additional breakfast dishes could be ordered on request such as porridge or eggs benedict among others.

We also had use of an indoor pool and spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    246
    53
    21
    15
See reviews for
132
472
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June 2012. Dubrovnik itself in a beautiful place and Hotel Excelsior is the perfect hotel to stay in.

Hotel: The hotel has been visited by a variety of dignitaries and celebrities over the years and is very classy. Staff all friendly and the piano bar was great to have a drink at night while looking out over the bay. Doesn't have a beach but can sunbath comfortably in area by the waters edge. Also has nice spa facilities which come in handy after a day out sightseeing. When we were there had a continental mixture of guests and to be honest the only ones who were slightly irritating were the British ones there for a wedding!

Room: Upgraded for a Sea View and got a great room on same floor as piano var with lovely view and balcony. Very quiet which is one of my key requirements.

Food: We only had breakfast in hotel and this was of decent quality. Had a bit too much champagne one morning but why not when on holiday. Was nice to eat outside enjoying the spectacular views.

Location: Is only a 5 minute downhill walk to Dubrovnik old town. This was a huge plus as most other hotels required a taxi or bus to the old town. If planning to go to Dubrovnik and cannot decide between hotels this is a major reason for choosing Hotel Excelsior.

Overall: If I was ever going back to Dubrovnik would once again stay at Hotel Excelsior. Great Hotel, Great City and Great Country!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in the Excelsoir for four nights, attending a conference. All in all the hotel was ok but the price was too high. To be honest a 3-star-rating would be much more realistic than a 5-star-rating. In detail:

room: my room was facing the waterfront and had a small (more tiny than small) balcony. It had a king-size bed which was so hard I could hardly sleep on. The furnishing was totally run down. The armchairs were scuffed and the chest of drawers had burn marks and were coverd with stains. Even though the bathroom looked pretty much ok, many trifles hindered me to feel comfortable (e.g. leaking shower, disgusting smell from the ventilation).
A really annoying fact is the "digital" display out of your room. Anyone passing the room can see wether you are in your room or not - this is indicated by a small signal light (due to the fact that you have to place your card in a certain slot if you want to have electricity in your room).

spa: well, the spa (mostly the sauna) was ok. Definitely it was not first class, but ok. The hall with the pool and the saunas was dark and hadn't had any charme. Only one of the four saunas wasactually working.

staff: Contrary to my expectations the staff was verf friendly and polite. They helped out wherever they could and tried to make things possible.

location: definitely the best part of the excelsior is it's location. Directly at the sea you can hear and see the ocean from almost any spot of the hotel. That is really lovely. In addition the old town is within five minute walking distance.

Room Tip: maybe in the lower floors the noise of the ocean is preventing you from falling asleep. if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Won't mention the wonderful views or short walk to the old town

The hotel bedrooms are comfortable, very very clean and quiet. The breakfast is excellent, fantastic choice of food. The waiter service is first class. Cannot understand why some reviewers have complained about the breakfast.

The restaurant was very expensive and the food was not 5 star quality. This is probably why the restaurant was empty every night or it may just be that it was the end of October when we stayed.

Excellent indoor pool and spa area.

The only real complaint I have about the hotel is that we had to wait over 2 hours for our room when we arrived. Would not expect this from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The most unexeptional thing about this hotel was the sound of waves. The room was just above the see and we heard the sound at all times. We found it relaxing, but it is possible to find it disturbing,too.

Great location, 5 minutes to the old city. High standard room, although quite small in size. Free wifi and free parking. Luxorous warm buffert breakfast with a wide selection of fresh fruit and sparkling wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadviser pages. Thank you also for choosing our hotel for your holidays and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is big modern and somewhat confusingly laid out but the setting is superb and if there is a better sight in the Adriatic for watching the sunset I have yet to find it.
The staff were very helpful, rearranging a hire car pick up with no problems. The prices are what you would expect from a five star hotel but the food is good and the the facilities better than average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Super location. Great facilities. Really good choice for breakfast and if the weather is good it can be taken on the terrace over looking the old town.
Ther'e's a limited number of free parking spaces. Prices are a bit high though but if you want a great location, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are very pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.