We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underaverage price-quality ratio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“underaverage price-quality ratio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in the Excelsoir for four nights, attending a conference. All in all the hotel was ok but the price was too high. To be honest a 3-star-rating would be much more realistic than a 5-star-rating. In detail:

room: my room was facing the waterfront and had a small (more tiny than small) balcony. It had a king-size bed which was so hard I could hardly sleep on. The furnishing was totally run down. The armchairs were scuffed and the chest of drawers had burn marks and were coverd with stains. Even though the bathroom looked pretty much ok, many trifles hindered me to feel comfortable (e.g. leaking shower, disgusting smell from the ventilation).
A really annoying fact is the "digital" display out of your room. Anyone passing the room can see wether you are in your room or not - this is indicated by a small signal light (due to the fact that you have to place your card in a certain slot if you want to have electricity in your room).

spa: well, the spa (mostly the sauna) was ok. Definitely it was not first class, but ok. The hall with the pool and the saunas was dark and hadn't had any charme. Only one of the four saunas wasactually working.

staff: Contrary to my expectations the staff was verf friendly and polite. They helped out wherever they could and tried to make things possible.

location: definitely the best part of the excelsior is it's location. Directly at the sea you can hear and see the ocean from almost any spot of the hotel. That is really lovely. In addition the old town is within five minute walking distance.

Room Tip: maybe in the lower floors the noise of the ocean is preventing you from falling asleep. if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    248
    53
    21
    15
See reviews for
132
476
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Won't mention the wonderful views or short walk to the old town

The hotel bedrooms are comfortable, very very clean and quiet. The breakfast is excellent, fantastic choice of food. The waiter service is first class. Cannot understand why some reviewers have complained about the breakfast.

The restaurant was very expensive and the food was not 5 star quality. This is probably why the restaurant was empty every night or it may just be that it was the end of October when we stayed.

Excellent indoor pool and spa area.

The only real complaint I have about the hotel is that we had to wait over 2 hours for our room when we arrived. Would not expect this from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The most unexeptional thing about this hotel was the sound of waves. The room was just above the see and we heard the sound at all times. We found it relaxing, but it is possible to find it disturbing,too.

Great location, 5 minutes to the old city. High standard room, although quite small in size. Free wifi and free parking. Luxorous warm buffert breakfast with a wide selection of fresh fruit and sparkling wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadviser pages. Thank you also for choosing our hotel for your holidays and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is big modern and somewhat confusingly laid out but the setting is superb and if there is a better sight in the Adriatic for watching the sunset I have yet to find it.
The staff were very helpful, rearranging a hire car pick up with no problems. The prices are what you would expect from a five star hotel but the food is good and the the facilities better than average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Super location. Great facilities. Really good choice for breakfast and if the weather is good it can be taken on the terrace over looking the old town.
Ther'e's a limited number of free parking spaces. Prices are a bit high though but if you want a great location, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are very pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding in Dubrovnik and had our wedding meal here. We cannot praise the hotel enough. The service was second to none, our room was amazing, the views, the facilities- two tvs, two bathrooms, jacuzzi bath, separate shower, living room, large balcony with two sunbeds and two chairs and a table. It was simply luxurious. The hotel itself has a fabulous spa, sushi restaurant, piano bar, gym, private beach- we were spoilt!! The attendance to our guests during the meal was wonderful. Service was quick and top up of drinks was regular but unintrusive. We were allowed to have one of our guests play the piano at the piano bar even.
The hotel was a five minute walk to the old town and taxis were available within a few minutes if required.
Oh and can't forget the little piece of chocolate left in our room each night:)
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Excelsior on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Excelsior . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a four night break at the end of October. The hotel is walking distance from the Old Town of Dubrovnik, and given how incredibly busy the town is (even in October) it is nice to walk a couple of hundred metres outside of the city walls into the calm and relaxed setting of the hotel. It is very modern, and the rooms with a balcony and sea view are well worth spending the extra for. Breakfasts are very extensive with a lot of choice, including champagne for those more focused on utter relaxation. We only had lunch in the hotel once, and did not eat any evening meals there. The spa was clean and comfortable, gym basic and machines not well serviced. If having a massage you might want to check the gender of the masseur as they have male and female masseurs. The pool and spa facilities otherwise good, and lovely to be able to swim in the Adriatic from the hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view is well worth it, and it is lovely to sit on the balcony in the evening and watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsior-dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor's pages. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience and I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Jasna Durkovic Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 12, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior And Spa
Excelsior Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.