We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at Dubrovnik President in June 2012. Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Great for location to old town centre as the bus stopped just outside of hotel. It was always packed but being one of the first on always got a seat. Although we had requested a high room we were given a room on the second floor. The couple we arrived with had not requested this but were given a room on the fifth floor, Don't know how they worked that one out. out. Our room had a problem with the air conditioning so we were given an upgrade a few days later. We had lovely sea views in both rooms . We were half board and could not recommend the food in the restaurant, I like to think that I am adventurous where trying new things out are concerned but there was never much of a selection. The restaurant had lovely views over the sea if you opted to dine on the terrace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and I am sorry if everything was not up to your taste.
It's nice to hear you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed the views from your room.

Hoping to see you again next season.

Kind regards from Dubrovnik,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    187
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
83
315
17
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toccoa, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is almost unfair to review this hotel due to the fact that it is closing for an much needed upgrade. Therefore my review will focus not on the rooms but the location and staff. This hotel is located with a marvelous view of the water and harbor. It is situated in a complex of hotels with meandering paths on the bluffs above the water. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel with buses leaving every 15-20 minutes. Therefore it is easy to go to the old town of Dubrovnik. In addition you can walk along the well tended paved paths hugging the cliffs to a modern shopping area with banks, clothing shops, grocery stores, restaurants, etc.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were friendly, spoke beautiful English, and addressed any concerns. Also try the restaurant as the selection of food is vast and well prepared.

Room Tip: The lower floors are further from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support.
I am more than happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and that you where so pleased with our staff and the food of course.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baranya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although I exchanged e-mails with the Valamar Reservation Center even in the last moments before departure (about the dinner options), they somehow "forgot" to notify me that the hotel would close a couple of days earlier than the end of the period I had booked for...
It only turned out at the reception desk when we arrived, and they said that we would have to move to another hotel some days later. It is not by chance that we wanted to stay at one place for a whole week. So we renounced for spending the two more days in another hotel.
But other problems occured during our stay as well.
A seemingly familiarly behaving stray cat was time to time entering into the lobby bar and even worse to the hotel's restaurant! That is not tolerable for several hygienic reasons and the place would be closed for not respecting sanitary prescriptions in any country with proper sanitary regulations. (I know tha there are too many stray cats in Dubrovnik, but the staff should be more careful about that.)
We booked at the reception desk a buffet dinner for the last evening and we have been waiting for the opening of the reastaurant at the lobby bar, but half an hour later than the normal opening time it was still closed, the thing became suspect, and only when we went to the reception desk that they told us that only the à la carte restaurant would work that evening...
At the first days of our arrival there were fontctioning showers on the beach, but when we went to the beach on the last day and we wanted to take a shower after swimming we saw that the showers and the ladder simply disappeared from the beach! (Several hotel guests were swimming, the sunchairs were there, the hotel's beach bar was open...)
I understand that the hotel prepares for the closure, but they should at least warn the guests _in time_ about the availability or inavailability of some features and not to let the guests discover them shocked on the spot!
I wrote a letter about this to the Valamar Center, but the did not even reply after almost two weeks, so I will not wait for their reply anymore (although I gave them a chance).
I have to tell also that the hotel staff was very kind and helpful, so these critics are concerning mostly the superiors and the Reservation Centre of the hotel chain.

Room Tip: Fifth floor, awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Deigo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Bad: Funicular/Elevator(s) do not work 50% of the time meaning a 5 flight walkup.
Air conditioning was turned off for the entire hotel during a warm and muggy October stay. Management refused to turn it back on, offering us fans which meant sleeping with the windows open and getting insect bites.
Manager kept coming up with lame excuses like I was the only one complaining when there were 30+ people in our group who voiced their complaints.
They are supposedly converting to a 5 star in 2014.
The company owns a better property across the street "Lacroma".

Good: Great public transportation to old city.
Nice beach location.
Excellent breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean less stairs if elevator/funicular not working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Your opinion is most important to us, so it makes us sad to hear about the technical problems you had.We have started with the planned investment, so this means completely new elevators and no further problems.
The air-conditioning system was turned off on the customers request, so this autumn period is difficult to please everyones taste. Once again we apologize you did not find the air temperature in the room to your liking.

Hoping this will not stop you from coming to enjoying our completely new product.

Kind regards,

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is not real 4 star hotel... too expensive. Room is large, but outdated... in bathroom there are lots of things to fix. There is large terrace in room, but without any privacy...

Staff were nice. Breakfast is rich.

But that is it. Hotel desperately need renovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jelena,

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet you expectations.
Let me inform you that the hotel is beeing renovated completely so I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us once more and I am sure you will not be dissapointed.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are just back from a holiday at the Valamar Dubrovnik Hotel celebrating our son's 21st birthday - October 2013. The hotel was lovely. We were in a seaview superior room and the hotel upgraded the other members of our family to two similar superior rooms as they had them available at that time.
We were half board, there was a wide selection of food in the buffet which catered for all tastes... The head Breakfast chef was always on hand to supply you with what you would like, always with a smile, as were the rest of his staff.
The views were magnificant from the balconies/rooms with beautiful sunsets..
The staff were all very friendly and approachable.
We planned a special day for our son's birthday and the reception staff went out of their way to help plan this, with nothing being too much effort.. We would like to give a special mention to Ana Pulic who assisted with all of the preparation of the plans for our son's birthday, she was amazing. Also Jegko Bjelobaba and John Danicic who also helped make our son's birthday an unforgetable experience. As a rule I do not normally go onto Trip adviser making comments however given the help and support from the staff at this hotel I felt it important that others know of our experience, and what to expect from the staff at the Hotel President Dubrovnik.

Sandy Grant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guests,
A big thank you for these kind words! I remember the staff telling me about your son's birthday and what they were doing to help you make your son's birthday an unforgetable experience.
I will pass on your thanks to Ana, Zeljko and John.
The fact that you normally do not go to Tripadvisor to make comments makes us even more happy and proud.
Hope you will come to celebrate your son's next birthday with us again!

Lots of greetings from all our staff!

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well where do i start, I found the receptionists very approachable when we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, very knowledgeable. Our room had a fantastic view of the sea and it was so quiet and peaceful. We had a superior room which was well cleaned and well set out. It had a mini bar which we didn't use, free use of safe and a massive bed. The only drawback of the room was the bathroom as it was a bit dated but there is a full upgrade of the hotel. The beach was stoney but the hotel had free sunbeds and towels and the sea is wonderful clear and warm. There is a beach bar but we never used. I loved the lift that has a sea view. The breakfast wasn't my cup of tea but there was plenty and a varied selection but not my selection. Had something to each during the day and found the food first class. The bar prices are not bad and i was expecting them to be far worse. The reception is on the 7th floor down to the beach on the 1st which i loved. Enjoyed sitting in the room and watching the sunsets. As i have said the hotel will be updated to 5* and i will probaley find out of my price bracket. There is the no.6 bus, outside the hotel, that takes you to the old town, anywhere else ask reception, so helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this lovely comment. It always makes us very happy to have such a satisfied customer.
I am happy to inform you that the bathrooms are beeing renovated as well as the rest of the hotel so I am sure that you will have an even more enjoyable holiday next time!

Best regards,

Belinda L. Bozanja
Valamar Dubrovnik President General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.