We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
South Wales
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a week's holiday at the President in July, we had read previous reviews and were hoping for a high floor room with beach views from the balcony, so when we arrived and were given room 215, on the left hand side of the lift, which had no view when sitting down on the balcony, as the roof of each room is covered in grass and high palms etc, I was disappointed. But I soon realised how quiet and peaceful this end of the hotel was. I had the best 7 nights sleep that I have ever had in a hotel! Also when you stood up you had a lovely view of the Elphati Islands.
The hotel is about 4 miles away from the walled city of Dubrovnik, but this is no problem as the bus is just outside so you can have the best of both worlds. Relaxing, quiet area or vibrant city. We ate in the restaurant area on four evenings, the buffet style meal at 20 euros each was excellent, just the fact that there were hardly any people there made it seem flat with no atmosphere. There were 3 lady chefs there cooking fresh pasta, desserts, fish all to order, a shame that it's not used more, we assumed people were eating in the old town. Breakfast was quite the extreme. both inside and the balcony outside was full. Wonderful choice of hot and cold food and fruit piled high. Very pleasant staff too.
Another plus for the President is it's location onto it's own private beach. This, and it's views secured our choosing it as our choice of hotel. The sunbeds were of good quality and more plentiful than any hotel that I have ever stayed at, whatever time you arrived at the beach. The beach is made of pebbles and it's a bit rocky to get down into the sea so beach shoes are a must. The sea is clear and beautiful.
There is also an indoor pool and Jacuzzi with a sunbathing terrace on the 5th floor. We didn't use this as the weather was so good. All sunbeds and towels are free of charge. We were even allowed to take their towels on a 3 island cruise day when we were picked up outside the hotel jetty by an independent company!
The evening entertainment is virtually non existant, one evening a pianist in the lounge bar and on the last night a group of Croatian men singing on the lounge terrace, which we enjoyed. I know they said that they enjoyed a "quiet policy" there by 11pm, which is fine but we did think that if they supplied some tastefull entertainment every evening then it would stop the mass exodus down to the town after 6.30pm!
All in all, a lovely relaxing place today and we would return there.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so they are all sunny but left sided rooms are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    188
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
83
316
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Valamar Dubrovnik President for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We chose the hotel after a lot of research, based on the good reviews and the reputation of Valamar resorts in the area.

I will start by saying that we loved Dubrovnik and that we did have a wonderful honeymoon. The hotel has great transport links to the old town using the number 6 bus. The city itself has so much to offer. We would recommend the sunset kayaking trip, although it was hard work, and renting a small motor boat from nearby Cavat. We booked both through Adventure Dubrovnik prior to our trip. The views of the city from the sea are fantastic! We also loved to choice of bars and restaurants in the city and found the prices to be largely in line with British prices. All of the service that we received during our stay was good. We would recommend Dubrovnik to anyone and hope to return to Croatia again.

Our view of the hotel was less positive.

Rooms: Well kept and clean, but very small (infact our room reminded us of a cabin on a cruise ship). Good hanging space in the wardrobe and lots of local/hotel information provided. We are a young couple, both in our 20s, and found the shower/bath a concern. You had to climb into the high bath to shower and it was very difficult. For older customers this could be a problem. Lovely sea views from the spacious terrace.

Grounds: Again, amazing sea views - the main asset to this hotel. We used the beach area for relaxation. We loved the views and watching the coming and goings of boats to the harbour, but found the area to be littered with cigarette ends, the concrete on the ground to be broken and uneven, and the sunbeds to be very uncomfortable. We sunbathed near the harbour - not the most attractive area, just needs a bit of TLC to make the most of it.

Food: Excellent choice of food at breakfast time. Really one of the best international buffet breakfasts that we have experienced. Service of staff was very good. We ate in the a la carte restaurant one night as part of our package. The food and service here was good, but the choice was very limited. I don't think I would recommend eating here unless you have a meal included. We found the choice and value in the old town to be too good to miss, and of course the buzzing atmosphere is better than staying in the hotel which was quiet at night.

Spa: We had a couples massage as part of our package which was very nice. The spa felt high-end. A lovely place to relax if that is your thing.

Staff: We found the staff to be very helpful throughout the hotel .They seemed happy in their jobs which I feel says a lot. The reception and guest services staff were particularly helpful. We ordered taxis for our airport transfers through them prior to our stay, and they helped us during our stay in organising transport to nearby Cavat for our boat rental.

Overall: We understand that the hotel is due to have a renovation next year. We feel that this could solve many of the issues that we found during our stay. On balance our overall opinion of the hotel was that it is overpriced at present. For a 4* hotel at such a high price we would have expected some touches of luxury. The hotel was 'fine' but certainly not 'special' as we hoped for our honeymoon. We cannot help feeling disappointed. We have definitely stayed in better.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovation has been completed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel room was spacious and welcoming. The view from the balcony and living room was picturesque, how exciting to see the large cruise ships pass by. The staff were very pleasant as
we were greeted at breakfast and dinner. The buffet restaurant was well catered offering a great range to choose from. I liked how everything was cooked fresh and presentation was very appetizing and we were left to enjoy our meals without interruption. Lots of people were drawn to the beach with the clean and inviting water and plenty of lounges available to soak up the sun. It was very convenient to grab a clean fresh towel from down there and return when finished. The Manager-Belinda was pleasant and friendly ensuring we were comfortable and presented helpful ideas of what Dubrovnik has to offer to make our holiday complete. Anna at the hospitality desk always had a smile and was very informative on the attractions and transport. Jumping on a bus just outside the hotel made travelling easier. This was a stay to remember.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent here one week of our holidays and it was a great time! This hotel is very interesting and comfort. It has a unique location on the end of Babin Kuk peninsula with fantastic panoramic sea views. There is a lot of space for parking and the connection to the Old City with public transportation is also very good because the bus stop is located closely to the hotel.

Due to its location in the hillside, the hotel has two cabins instead of the classic elevators. The main problem is that these cabins are very slow and you will wait for quite a time. The better and faster possibility is to use the stairs (of course, if you have no mobility problems).

The hotel has its own beach and large swimming pool, both of them well maintained and very nice. Nevertheless, both of them are open to public, which is not very pleasant for the hotel guests. Especially young boys screaming and jumping into swimming pool (although such activities are prohibited) reliably chased away most of the guests looking forward to enjoy their relaxation here.

We have breakfasts only in the hotel because we prefer have the dinners in the Old City every day. The meals were very tasty but we lack the choice of vegetables: tomatos and cucumbers were the only available, nothing else. However, the sea views from the terrace during breakfast were fantastic and the staff was very helpful.

We ordered the "Romantic Package" including one bottle of sparkling wine, one breakfast served in the room and the rose petals on the bed at time of arrival. The room was spacious, elegant, with large terrace and very nice sea view. Wi-fi is available for free in the rooms but we noted some technical difficulties with the connection: you need to put the password again and again although your device didn’t leave the room.

And the most unpleasant aspect of our stay:
After returning from the Old City (usually about midnight), we hope to spend the time on the terrace, with a glass of wine... But the reality was shocking: every day, punctually at half past twelve, they started to sprinkle the flower patches on terraces. It was just like a rain and you simply must go away, into the room. Why the hell do they it so early? Why not at 4 or 5 AM, for example?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights and it was wonderful! The staff really made us feel like VIP guests. The hotel is ideally located on the adriatic sea and we had a room and balcony overlooking the pristine water. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant most nights and there was a large range of fresh dishes and fruits to choose from. The pool and jacuzzi were a great addition when we needed a break from the sun. The gym equipment was good with both cardio and a weights machine available. Overall a fantastic hotel, one I can not fault!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guests,

the pleasure was ours having you here and you choosing to stay with us for your holiday.
Thank you for finding the time to share your opinion with other reviewers and for giving Valamar Dubrovnik President such high scores.
I am glad you found everything to your liking and left us with only nice memories.
We hope you get the chance to visit us again one day.

Kindest regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel right on the beach is a very good place to stay. It sits right at the first bus stop to Old Town and is the last stop coming back, so no guessing. The rooms are larger then most European rooms at similar hotels and the services are good.
The staff is very aware of the area and can help on all aspects of local travel.

Room Tip: A very good place to stay when you want to be on the beach. They will be closing and upgrading to 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik.
The hotel is in a quiet area but very well connected by bus to the old town which all guests find convenient.
It is nice to hear you liked our spacious rooms and good service.
Hope you book our hotel again if coming to Europe and Dubrovnik.
Thank you for visiting us !

Kindest regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with this trip on our 6th wedding anniversary, and I must say he made the perfect choice! I meant, the hotel, besides me ;-) The Valamar is right by the tranquil Adriatic sea, and our big specious balcony was overlooking the vast blueness of it. Beautiful ships passed by and the sunsets were gorgeous. The beach-side is private to the hotel so it made it all the more enjoyable! The hotel also offered activities like para sailing, and we did that too. The bar and restaurant are good as well, as are the comfy big rooms. The restaurant had a live band playing every night. A bus stop right outside the hotel takes you to the center of Dubrovnik in less than 15 minutes, and you can take in views of beautiful buildings on one side and the sea on the other. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: A sea view room is the best choice here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guests,

I can only agree with you and thank your husband for choosing our hotel for your 6th wedding anniversary.
We all are so happy you found it excellent and enjoyed your stay with us so much.
I hope we managed to create some lasting memories which will be a reason for another visit in the future.
It would be great if spending your anniversaries with us would become a tradition.
The hotel staff wishes you many more years of happiness and love and hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.