We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
1 review
“We enjoyed :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice beach, good breakfast, excellent bus connection to the old town and the sea was so blue! We first got the room 411A with bad air-condition. Next room that we got, worked perfectly. Good jogging rounds really close to the hotel. Nice 3 days stay at the president.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you so much for coming to our hotel and for having such a good time. You said you enjoyed yourselves which is the most important for us.
I apologize about the technical problem in the first room and I am glad you found the next room perfect.
As you had such a good time, I sincerely hope to see you in 2014. enjoying all the lovely changes we are planning.

Until then all the very best from Dubrovnik and Valamar.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    195
    60
    17
    4
See reviews for
88
325
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Valamar President hotel in Dubrovnik. Very good 4-star hotel, with very nice modern rooms, although the shower/bath was extremely small and leaked all over floor. Huge balcony that was actually bigger than the room, and the room itself was a very good size. We opted for a romantic room, which basically meant a regular room but rose petals sprinkled on bed, a bottle of champagne and one breakfast served in room, which was a very nice touch.

Beach was good but pebbles, so strongly recommend beach shoes for swimming in.

Number 6 bus goes every 10 mins form right outside hotel to Pile gate of the old town. Takes 25-30 mins and costs 12 kuna per person (can get tickets from reception of hotel which makes life easier).

Breakfast very good buffet with lovely views over the sea/islands. Only ate evening meal in hotel one night and was an OK bufet, nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments on Trip advisor.
It is always useful to receive them as they help both, the hotel and the new guests while planning their trip.
I am glad you enjoyed the romantic room and all that goes with it and hopefully you'll be visiting us again.

Kind regards from President hotel.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We're just home from a week in thepresident and i cant speak highly enough about this hotel.
we took the coach from the airport to the old town, €5 / 35kuna each. we then took the no.6 bus across the road which stops right outside the hotel.
the hotel is on the babin kuk peninsula, and is away from the busier places like the old town and lapad. although we walked the prom one night and were in lapad in 15mins.
All the staff were very accomodating and speak perfect english, we even heard them chat in german, french and spanish!
Having informed the staff that I was planning a very speial week away with my new bride to be, we we're greeted by a room covered in rose petals and a bottle of bubbly!
the bed was massive! at least a super king and very comfortable.
there was a flat screen TV that was on for about 5 mins all week and a mini bar too.
The view from our room was exceptional with stunning sunsets every evening.
the first couple of nights we ate at the hotel buffet. €20 if yu bok before 7pm with reception, €25 thereafter.
There was a huge selection to choose from and all very tasty, great value too.
breakfast too was a buffet style and we really enjoyed the selection every morning.
the hotel has its own private beach, with access to diving, island hopping and paragliding to name but a few. it is stoney so bring some swim shoes. the water all along the coast is immaculate.
we rented a car from the receptio desk too, which was cheaper than if id done it from home, €60 for a corsa wth a/c.
all in all, id really recommend this hotel for couples and families alike looking for a relaxing holiday in a well located place but away from the noisy centres.
the staff are a credit to themselves and i personally want to thank them for making our stay a very memorable one!

Room Tip: all rooms here look out to sea and have a stunning view of the sunset every evening. 5th floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guests,

it was a pleasure indeed reading your review. I would like to thank you on behalf of all the President staff for staying with us and for all the kind words of support.
We are so glad you enjoyed the romantic room set up, the sunsets, the food and service.
If we managed to add at least a bit of surprise you wanted to achieve for your bride to be we are happy.
We wish you both heaps of love, happiness and understanding and hope you choose President hotel for your honeymoon or perhaps your wedding too.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cully, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'd agree with the last reviewer on all accounts but would add the following:

The hotel is going to have a massive renovation next year bringing it to a 5* rating. All elements that are now out of date (i.e. elevators, pools, lobby, etc.), will be, I'm confident very good for future guests.

We were with kids as well and were very fortunate to have decided to do a 4 day diving certification program. These guys don't waste anytime but get you right in the water and diving. For the brave hearted! It can be boring if you have no activity. The restaurant was nice and presented good food and a wonderful staff. Downside is little outdoor capacity during peak season.


I found the staff at the front desk to be extremely helpful and professional. They should be commended on how they service guests. We had special requests, transfers, etc. and each time it was handled smoothly, gracefully. Compliments to the young lady at the information booth as well as the all 3 young men at the front desk. You are certainly a very capable team!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is high up which allows a better view. The drawback is that you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for deciding to bring your family to Dubrovnik and President hotel.
It's nice to hear you are confident the planned investment will be a great plus and I am sure you and your family would enjoy it in every way. For sure the kids would have great fun in the new outdoor pool we will be having next season.
It's great you decided to go diving and explore all the interesting and clean underwater world we have.
All the staff and specially the reception and Ana from guest relation desk are proud and happy they could fulfill all your requests.
Thank you once again for the kind words and hope you visit us next summer.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently booked a couple of rooms in this hotel for our week in Dubrovnik. It’s a decent hotel with its biggest selling point being the great view of the Adriatic Sea and nearby islands you get from every room. The rooms are the size of a normal hotel room but they also have balconies to sit and drink some wine while watching the sunset. The décor was physically new but some things, such as the carpeting, seemed stuck in the 70s. We only had dinner at the hotel twice but the food was fine given the price of the hotel and the meal itself.

The beach was a typical Mediterranean pebble beach. I don’t really like these kinds of beaches but I don’t think there are many alternatives in Croatia unless you find a place where someone has dumped truckloads of sand onto the original beach. Anyway, we had a great time after we started wearing water shoes and sandals while swimming.

I think the biggest negative of the hotel is that it doesn’t have a proper swimming pool. This is very important for families with kids or for anyone when the sea water is too cold for enjoyable swimming. The hotel does have an indoor pool only accessible through the ‘wellness center’ but some of the hotel staff suck the fun out of the experience once you get there. We were using the pool one day, for example, and had our children as well as others’ reprimanded by an older staff member because they were jumping, not diving, but just jumping in from the side. You also can’t bring drinks or do the normal things you do when trying to relax poolside.

If you like diving, they have a dive shop conveniently located at the beach. The cost was only about 330 kuna or about $60 per dive. No reservations were required with a license. You just show up and go.

The fitness center had four treadmills or elliptical machines but only one weight machine so it was fine for people who like cardio stuff but not so great for weight training.

Overall, it’s a nice place but I think it’s probably better suited for retired people and couples but not for families with kids. My kids had fun times at the hotel but also got bored if we spent too much time there. I also think the price was a little high for what you get. We've stayed at a few places around the Adriatic/Aegean and have paid less for the same view and quality of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for writing this review and giving me the chance to answer a few details.
You are right about the beach and the fact that the Croatian coast is mainly rocks and pebbles and just a few natural sandy beaches.
But this is easily solved with rubber shoes, so people can enjoy the crystal clear sea with no problem.
I am sorry your children were asked not to jump in the pool but these are the pool rules made for all the guests to feel relaxed and comfortable. Jumping in the pool is not allowed for safety reasons and because most of the guests complain on this if they are in the pool at the same time.
The fitness is a cardio fitness and is not ideal for weight lifters but this will be changed next season as we are getting a larger fitness room which will allow us to add more equipment.
I do understand that kids can get bored sometimes as we don't have kids programs, but for families we have Valamar club Dubrovnik with daily and evening animation as well as a mini club for children.
Maybe you can try it out next time, the kids would love it.

Once again, thank you for visiting us and hope you do sometime in the future again.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a superior room. The hotel is in the Babin Kuk area built into the cliff. We had da rental car and the car park is next to the hotel, aided by young lads sat at a table hidden in the tress. Ask them for your own spot and you get a metal get to save your spot. People park tightly! The room was fine, superior with balcony and separate raised seated are with tv and DVD , bed and bathroom. The shower is in the bath and its quite a step in and slippy getting out! Air con was good
Breakfast was Buffett style- pay extra for fresh juices rather than the reconstituted juices which change strength daily. There are hot options cooked to order. The hotel organised a trip to the Elaphiti islands for us onvieniently from the towel pier which was excellent
Two small niggles: the lifts, there are two and they are more like cliff trains sliding up the hotel. Often one wouldn't be working or they were slow. Our room was quite a walk from the lift! Secondly, you old only get ice from the bar. Why don't they have ice machines on each floor?
But the staff were friendly. Catch the 6 bus to the old town , parking in Dubrovnik is a nightmare. Eat in the new port- Ottos and Almafi. Mostar in Zaton Velitti is good aswell

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for being our guests and for leaving your review on Trip advisor.
It's good to hear you were satisfied with your stay and service apart from a few technical details which will be solved through the planned investment this winter.
Hope you visit us next season and see for yourself.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We haven't stayed at the hotel but had a MAGNIFICENT dinner on the outdoor restaurant patio watching the sunset. What a treat! We had the white seafood risotto and rigatoni with vegetables for the kids. Amazing. Of course the white house wine - you can't get enough of that. The atmosphere was incredible, our waiter seemed slightly tipsy but we didn't care. We still got a great service. Coming back for more tonight!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guests,

what a shame you didn't stay in our hotel but I am glad you had dinner on the terrace.
It's great to hear it was magnificent and you enjoyed the food and wine as well as the sunset.
Thank you for sharing this experience with all Trip advisor readers and hope you get the chance to stay with us next time.

Best regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.