We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

fantastic hotel right on the beach. Lovely views from our balcony right across the bay. Buffet meals were very good. Only one thing I would wish to correct - the bathroom has a over the bath shower and the bath is very high. Not too good for someone who is disabled. We asked about it for my son and we were given a step so problem was solved but maybe something to think about when the President gets upgraded next year. Overall excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for coming to President hotel and I hope your son enjoyed it just as much as you did. It's good to hear the step helped him entering the bath.
Next year we are planning on doing new bathrooms and the bathtubs are going to be lower, so the access is easier. We'll have rooms with showers as well.
Thank you for the lovely review and for all the nice words of support. We are pleased we managed to make your holiday enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your visit ... hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    188
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
83
316
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel is the service. All the staff are very helpful and will go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is pleasant, in particular the hospitality desk, where we planned our excursions and trips each day with ease. The hotel is very clean and all the rooms have a great sea view. The breakfast was lovely and we ate once from the a la carte menu in the evening which was excellent. The cocktails at the bar are also very good! It is worth exploring the coastal walk in the evening as there are some nice restaurants down there, as well as catching the convenient bus into the old town. The swimming pool is great and a nice spot for relaxing and sunbathing as the beach can get quite busy.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
I am very glad you loved your holiday and enjoyed everything from the food, service, cleanliness, pool, cocktails ...
And of course, it's great to hear you would like to come back, which would be great.
So, hope you manage to do so.

Have a great rest of the summer and all the best from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights and would have stayed more if it hadn't been fully booked. It's not in walking distance from the old town, but the bus stop is directly outside the hotel and runs often. The staff was friendly, the room clean and spacious. We had a large private balcony with lounge chairs facing the ocean that was perfect for sunbathing, if you didn't want to go down to the beach.

The breakfast buffet had a wide choice and you can get fresh pressed juice for a small surcharge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday, coming from beautiful Switzerland.
I am very sorry in a way for being fully booked so you couldn't stay longer with us. On the other side it's good being so busy which means we must be doing a good job.
Switzerland is not to far away, so we hope you come again some time. I suggest you contact us before so we can make a booking and this way you won't have to be affraid we'll be fully booked.
Best regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Given that this does not have the intimacy of a boutique hotel, we appreciated the wonderful and seemingly underutilized pool, and the breathtaking views from so many vantage points including our spacious but private seaview balcony, the unique glassed-in (funicular) elevator, the outdoor swim deck and the outdoor dining area. Our deluxe twin room felt extra spacious with its sunken bedroom area and slightly elevated sitting area leading out to the balcony.
The #6 bus immediately in front of the hotel made for a very easy 20 min. ride into town and bus tickets were offered at a reduced rate at reception. As well, reception was most responsive with all of our requests including a kettle in our room, and terry cloth robes.
It was a bit of a hike to the room from the stairs or elevator but we didn't mind that at all, and found the nights to be wonderfully quiet.
Buffet dinner was not only scenic, especially with a nice sunset, but well worth the price, again, reduced if you pre-book through reception.
The architecture is interesting, mirroring elements I imagine (never having cruised) of a cruiseship.
At the risk of sounding spoiled, even though there was a vast choice at breakfast, I felt on the 4th day, some slight changes (eg. add muffins or some other baked good, local in season fruit like strawberries), would have enhanced the offerings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks a lot for all the lovely comments you have given us abou the room, the view, the food quality and service. Nice to hear you left satisfied.
Lovely photos by the way and what o coincidence you cought the same ship coming in to the harbour in the morning and again going out in the evening.

We all hope you return for another holiday very soon.

Best wishes from all the staff !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

At first glance this was a lovely way to end our stay in Croatia, attractive reception area with very clean, bright and comfortable lounge area. The rooms (when we got to them) were fine, small balcony overlooking the sea, large comfortable bed etc. However, such a long way from the main doors and the resturant. The funicular lift system was OK but it did not cope with a lot of people wanting to use it simutaniously, we went up and down about 4 times before getting to the correct floor. Once we left the lift and went to find our rooms it was quite a long walk away. This hotel would be a struggle for anyone with restricted mobility unless rooms nearer the lift were requested. This also applies to the bathroom which in our room could have done with an update. A very high bath with a 6" lip, and the shower was a fixed height with a droopy shower head! (Could do better). Food wise impression was mixed, lovely selection for the evening meal, freshly cooked sea bass was superb. so much choice you could dine here for weeks without ever repeating your meal. The one down side was the second day's breakfast which had cold bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs. May have been just a one off and there were other choices. Swimming pool was great good size and depth. Outside area was OK but it was the start of the season and the weather was not great, pity the outside bar closed at 6.0pm although the barman did serve late comers. It will be pleasant to sit there and look at the sea from ground level in the better weather. Easy access on local transport (the bus terminates at the hotel and at the city centre) to the centre of Dubrovnik, and its location was perfect for a quiet retreat from the Cruising Tourists.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the funicular if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write this review, specially the small issues you didn't find satisfactory. Some things we can react to immediatelly and some take time and investment which is planned for this winter.
Hope you come and see us after everything is done. I am sure you'll love it.
Thank you once again for staying at the President and hope to see you next season.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel recently for 3 nights. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We ate in the a la carte restaurant which was excellent and also the buffet restaurant in the evening which had great food and good value too. The hotel is built into a cliff and has amazing views of the sea and has its own private beach. There's lots of water sports available also including diving,jet ski etc. The bus stop to the old town is right outside the hotel and busses leave every 10 mins .

All in all great location,great staff and top quality food and drinks make this hotel a great choice for your stay in Dubrovnik.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guests,

We are so glad you had a great stay with us and found everything to your liking.
Thank you very much for recommending the hotel to others and we sincerely hope you'll have the chance to visit us again too.

Best regards from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel, built during Tito's time, is just perfect. It's lovely on the outside and the inside. Beautiful white marble greets you at the entrance. A lovely reception area: they speak many languages and are very helpful.

The rooms are tiered along the waterside, so you have a great view and balcony overlooking the fabulous Adriatic sea.

The beach is nice (amazingly comfortable chairs) and they have scuba diving on site, as well.

The bar/restaurant is great to eat in and hang out in! The chairs at the outside bar are more comfortable than my own, at home!

It's the kind of place to stay if you're going to be in town for multiple nights, and want a place that has a bus stop in front that takes you right to Old Town, but has a relaxing quiet atmosphere for when you're sick of tourists downtown! ;-)

I have already recommended it to others!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I like the view from higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

it's great to hear you had a lovely relaxing time and you love everything about the hotel. Thank you so very much for recommending the staff, the service, the location of the hotel and for giving us such high grades.
This is for sure additional wind in the back and a motivation for all of us to work even harder.
Once again thank you for staying with us and recommending to others to do the same.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.