We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peacefull and leisurly holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
San Gwann, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful peacefull and leisurly holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, room with large terrace overlooking the sea, we could see cruisers coming and going, and the marvelous sun rise and sunset. Food is very good and quite a varied buffet. Staff quite help full and room is clean.
We were given a free upgrade to a honeymoon suite as we were celebrating our anniversary.
We had our own car, with free parking, but the bus terminus is at the hotel's door step and leaves every 10 to 15minutes to the old city, a very short ride.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room overlooking the sea. For honeymooners they have honeymoon suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much once again for choosing our hotel for your anniversary and I am very glad you had a good time with us and were satisfied with everything.
I good point for us and our guests of course is that all the rooms have a sea view but they can pick between standard and superior or romantic if desire.
Happy anniversary once again from all the staff and we're waiting for you to return and enjoy our services once again.
Until then we wish you all the very best.

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    188
    58
    17
    4
See reviews for
83
316
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day trip to Croatia. We stayed at the Valamar Dubrovnik President. What an excellent hotel in the most wonderful setting. The staff are all extremely friendly and the food is varied and plentiful. The beds are the most comfortable we have ever experienced at a hotel. The hotel allowed us a late check out without charge which made our last day a much more relaxed experience. The weather was hot and sunny during our stay. Overall an excellent short break and one we would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room directly overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Geraldine,
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and were pleased with everything. All the staff does it's best to try and be on top all the time, so it's a great motivation for them when the guests recognize this.
Another great thing was the lovely weather you experienced, which I am sure made your holiday even better.
Once again thank you on behalf of all the staff for your lovely review and all the best until your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was fine. Not much of a view but that's ok. Service was average as well.
My father and I ate dinner ate the hotel one night as there are only hotels in this area. It was buffet style and the food was good. I was by far the youngest person in the large dining hall and my father, who is 58, was probably second youngest. Everyone else seemed to be part of a seniors bus tour. The combination of the large number of elderly people, the lack of table service, and the huge number of tables crammed together, caused us to eat somewhere else the next night. Breakfast was good but the coffee was poor. The staff was helpful in fetching espresso style coffee from the bar upstairs (at added cost).
There is an excellent public bus running every 15 to 20 minutes into the old town, even on Sundays, and they sell tickets in the gift shop.
The bar by the pool was closed for the season which was too bad as the weather was great and there about 20 of us out there. Both the indoor and outdoor areas were quite clean and looked well maintained.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Jessica,
thank you very much for choosing Valamar hotels for your vacation and I am sorry you didin't find any youngsters your age. Usually younger people come during high season, so you would have found it much more interesting in that period.
Hope you still enjoyed the days in Dubrovnik you spent with your dad and that we'll see you again one day.

All the best to both of you from Valamar Dubrovnik President !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent a week at the Dubrovnik President Hotel recently as part of a Sky2 holiday. Overall, the hotel provided excellent service and the third floor room offered superb westerly views over the islands where the sun set each evening. Breakfast and evening meals were well prepared with a wide range of dishes available. My wife does not eat meat but was pleased with the wide range of vegetarian and fish choices available. The position of the hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday, having its own beach (pebbles) leading down to the crystal blue sea at what must be the best part of the Mediterranean. The local bus, number 6 stops just outside the hotel leaves every ten to twelve minutes from 5.30 a.m. to 1.30 a.m. at a cost of only 12 kuna with tickets purchased at the hotel shop or reception. The room was clean and well furnished with daily change of towels. Wi-fi was available with the local hotel code.
We have used Valamar hotels in the past and would have no hesitation using them again.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 3 and 4 have better views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for giving us such high grades. I am very glad you enjoyed yourselves and found everything satisfactory which really is a pleasure.
You said you've been to Valamar hotels before, so I sincerely hope you'll come again soon.

All the very best from all the President staff !

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The resort is a little far from downtown, but there's a bus that stops right in front of it. Breakfast is very good and all the staff very gentle.
The view from the room is great. Food is good and there's also a small shopping very near with nice options of restaurants.
Two things that aren't good: the shower is inside the bathtub, and it's very high (old people can find it difficult to get inside); and there are only two very slow elevators. Despite these two things, I surely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time and sharing your opinion with all of us. The good things are always a flatter to hear, but the downsides are the things we give more attention to as they help us understand better what guests prefer and like and what not.
We are aware the tubs may be a problem for elderly people and the fact the elevators are a bit slow, so all of this will be solved next winter when we are planning a big investment.
I hope you get the chance to come and visit us and see all the lovely changes we're planning on doing.

Thank you once again on your recommendation.

Yours sincerely,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosyth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Taxi stops on the upper level, and nothing tells you what you will see next.
You enter - and there it goes, an oasis of calm.
Even for one who knows this venue from 80ies, the impression is always fresh and fascinating.
Superb facilities with gourmet cuisine. For sunsets... you know, you don't get even a glimpse of
such a stunning view, from opposite site of Adriatic.
First class, fine wines, a heaven of panoramas.
Love this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Vadim,
thank you very much for being our returning guest which is a special plesure for us. It's nice to hear you enjoyed yourself, so I hope you can come again, sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine and enjoy the spectacular sunsets.
Until them, all the very best !

Belinda L Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel in Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik.
We were really looking forward to our holiday, especially after reading some of the comments on Tripadvisor. Our expectations were completely exceeded. We had a wonderful room, described as superior, which it certainly was. The beds are very comfortable. The balcony/sun terrace was extremely roomy. The sea views were excellent and as stated by other visitors we watched cruise ships enter and leave Gruz harbour on a daily basis. The sunsets were beautiful. The food was delicious and there was plenty of variety to cater for all tastes and nationalities. The staff were friendly and professional, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The staff in the restuarant were efficient and helpful. The Chef serving breakfast in the morning was always cheerful, he spoke many languages and always made time for a chat whilst preparing food. There was always plenty of food no matter what time you arrived in the restaurant.
The hotel was always extremely clean and tidy. Our room (332) was kept to the same standard throughout the holiday. Bedding and towels were changed on a regular basis.
We cannot recommend this Hotel enough and will return at some stage in the future.
It is ideally suited for a holiday which allows you to relax and experience all the culture of this wonderful Croatian city.
Although this hotel is outside Dubrovnik the travelling is really easy as there is a bus stop (terminus) just across the road from the hotel and buses run every 10 - 15 minutes.There are also some wonderful walks around the area, with a park which runs alongside the hotel and throughout the local area. There is a shopping complex close by with restaurants and other facilities.
We couldn't get over how clean and tidy Dubrovnik is. Our sincere thanks go to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valamar_President, General Manager at Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guests,

what a superb review I must say .... thanks a million from all the staff members.
What specially made me happy was the fact you said we exceeded your expectations which is not an easy task. We all always do our best to fulfill our guests expectations but when we manage to exceed them then we know our job was done perfectly.

Once again thank you very much for the lovely words of support and are looking forward to having you here with us soon enough.

Take care,

Belinda L. Božanja - Valamar Dubrovnik President general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 142 | Babin kuk Complex, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite hotel has undergone an extensive renovation to provide you with the ultimate Dubrovnik experience. Unique beachfront location on the tip of the green Babin Kuk peninsula, only few minutes from the enchanting Old Town of Dubrovnik, provides its guests not only with spectacular views, but also with an unparalleled feeling of unity with nature and the crystal blue sea from every corner of the hotel. Whether you're looking for a romantic retreat or a place for true indulgence, you'll love the brand new look and feel great in Valamar's first five star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Escapio, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik President
Dubrovnik Hotel President
Hotel President Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.