We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sprawling hotel with excellent rooms & Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Argosy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Valamar Argosy Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Argosy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sprawling hotel with excellent rooms & Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013. We emailed the sales department prior to arrival requesting Sea View room with balcony. Our room was on second floor with fantastic sea views of the island and beautiful sun sets. Exactly what we requested. Although it was quite a trek to the restaurant and reception, it was well worth it. As others have said, the food was good, staff very pleasant and helpful. House wine was good and cheap. Just outside No 5 bus takes you to the Cable Car. No 6 takes you to the old city entrance. if you want to walk the wall, purchase a Dubrovnik card. It includes bus travel, entrance to the wall and about 3 museums. Saves you quite a bit and can be obtained from reception. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request rooms with balcony & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're thanking you for your kind comment.

We were very happy to be able to offer you the sea view room and we're glad you appreciated the beautiful scenery. What makes us even more happy is that you noticed the efforts of our staff to meet all the expectations of our clients.

We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    255
    100
    24
    5
See reviews for
51
286
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of Riviera travel trip but disappointed. Hotel very impersonal and sprawling and felt rather dated. Our room on the 4th floor overlooked t2big airconditioning outlets but more importantly was completly overlooked by an open corridor leading to restaurant thus making it necessary to have the curtains pulled to stop people having a clear vision inside at all times but especially bad with the light on in the mornings or evenings! Needless to say no balcony or patio and furnishings looked tired. Hotel grounds looked bit sad too, not one of the best unfortunately. Food reasonable but again restaurant very impersonal and staff not as helpful as has been suggested! Bus to city good value!

Room Tip: If you get the one with the aircon and corridor views ask for a change of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for finding the time to write your impressions on Trip advisor.

I feel sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.
I am wondering if you did not like your room then why did you not ask for a room change. I am sure that our front office manager would be glad to help. If your room was without balcony or patio now I can only assume that was kind of room you booked.

I am very sorry you did not ask to see me personally, during your stay with us and thus give me a chance to resolve any issues to the mutual benefit and in a way to make your stay in Argosy comfortable and enjoyable.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A labyrinth of a place! Points to consider if you want accommodation here - a) Some rooms are a long way from reception, bar and restaurant, less able guests would struggle. B) The restaurant is more like a canteen where mayhem reigns. It was very noisy and frantic especially in the evenings. C)There were insufficient easy chairs unless you consider sitting in a downstairs area where it is gloomy, cold and unwelcoming. D)Hotel grounds and gardens were badly neglected and overgrown thus hiding the sea view and sunsets from ground floor rooms.E) There was a lack of privacy in ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us; it is appreciated.

I am really sad to see you rated us as a “poor choice” and I am very sorry if you did not find anything up to your expectations.

However, I hope that you spent nice vacation in Dubrovnik and also hope you will give us opportunity to host you again in future.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a sprawling hotel which exercises the legs and challenges your sense of direction and memory! The key to understanding this hotel is (a) that you reception and entrance are on level 2, and that the dining room is located BETWEEN levels 2 and 3. Following direction signs from reception to the dining room leads you along corridors then up a flight of stairs. Being on level 1 it was easier to take the lift to level 3, along corridor then down a flight!

Once you found the huge dining room you discover that it's split into several areas to test your memory as you try to trace your steps back to the table you've left your marker on.

There is a large range of excellent food; with "chefs" manning some of the serveries cooking in front of you. It can get very busy and the non-queuing manners of a few guests can be annoying - you can tell the foreigners from countries that don't place cricket!

The hotel is located a on a peninsula with several other hotels within a pleasant and well maintained park. There is also a small shopping centre with bars and touristy shops.

Close by is the terminus for the number 6 bus which goes down to the old town - buy your ticket from the hotel shop and save 2 kuna! Catching the bus back can be traumatic - it's those foreigners again who pretend to queue then mob the door of the bus when it arrives. The driver's rule of thumb is that the bus is not full until the doors attempt to amputate random limbs from the last few to get on.

The hotel had switched off the air conditioning, so although you could get the fan on your room's unit to run, it did did nothing to regulate the temperature, so even in September it was too warm at times.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a see view, and the ones on level 1 are too low to see the sea over the shrub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to share your impressions with us.

Although a bit challenging, I'm glad you found our hotel satisfying too.


We hope to welcome you again in Dubrovniki and in Hotel Argosy!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel feels like it is stuck in the 80's. The staff are helpful, but the housecleaning is not up too scratch. Sometimes your drinks aswell as the empty bottles are left from the night before.
I could hear the people in the rooms above through the ventilation unit and the staff are not so quite in the mornings.
The rooms however are quite sizeable, and have a decent size balcony. I do think there are rooms without balcony's though.
The hotel is situated close to the beach and only a 5-10 min drive to the old town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your most recent stay.. We do apologize if you were not impressed with the aesthetics of the room and all with mentioned in your review.
Please know we are currently in the stages of renovation and the rooms will be updated toghether with lobby, and pool area with brand new outdoor pool.
I am very glad you found most of our staff heplfull, and thank you for bringing everthing else to my attention.
We all truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was very much to our liking, in spite of its size and sprawling corridors. We were there end of September and the weather was just perfect which of course added to our good experience. Staff was correct and helfpul to all our needs, giving the right advice without trying to be "overly" nice. The room was facing the sea and this also added to good feeling since the view any time of day or night from the comfortable balcony was delightful (picture attached). Breakfast was plentiful and good. Given the fact that there are so many tourists, this good breakfast service must be remarked. Of course you have to know how to get your own coffee hot bottle and other small details, but travelers with a little bit of experince know all these details. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom too. The path around the hotel near the shore is lovely and it has a few restaurants you can try if you come late back from Dubrovnik and don't want to go back to the old town to eat. We came travelling by car thru the Dalmatian coast and we must reamrk the easy parking and the great bus number 6 that takes you right to the gate of the old city and back. Fantastic not to have to drive into the old city. The price is not cheap compared to other places in Croatia (and in absolute terms also), but all in all very recommendable, especially if you get a sea facing room and travel by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for a great review of Argosy hotel, as we are very happy to read that you had a great time in our hotel and that enjoyed our facilities as well as our services.

We hope to great you again in Argosy and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Best regards from Dubrovnik to Buenos Aires!

Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This sprawling hotel of the 1970's lies on a promontory 5 miles north of Dubrovnik. It has been largely modernised, leaving a spacious reception area and restaurant, but with the possibility of a long walk from reception to bedroom and from bedroom to bar or restaurant. The sunsets are magnificent if you have a room facing the sea for which there is an extra charge. Otherwise the hotel buildings obscure most of the view.The bedrooms are uniformly comfortable with a decent bathroom which includes a bath. Both our breakfasts and dinners were sumptuous with a wide choice at the buffet. Excellent strong coffee was served by staff at breakfast and at dinner the house wine was excellent and cheap. The bedrooms have WiFi and willing technical help from staff if needed.The hotel intends to provide a new swimming pool next year. It was easy to take the number 6 bus which ran every ten minutes into Dubrovnik though some heartier people were walking there and back along a costal track.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and, if you do not want to pay extra for a sea and sunset view, take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this comment and share your experience and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.
I am glad to hear you liked your stay with us, and especially the magnificent views and wide choice and quality of food in our restaurant.
Hope we will have a chance to have you again in our hotel and your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you in 2014 as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, brand new infinity pool and one more great novelty - wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Argosy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.