We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a sprawling maze of a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Argosy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Argosy Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Argosy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a sprawling maze of a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a sprawling hotel which exercises the legs and challenges your sense of direction and memory! The key to understanding this hotel is (a) that you reception and entrance are on level 2, and that the dining room is located BETWEEN levels 2 and 3. Following direction signs from reception to the dining room leads you along corridors then up a flight of stairs. Being on level 1 it was easier to take the lift to level 3, along corridor then down a flight!

Once you found the huge dining room you discover that it's split into several areas to test your memory as you try to trace your steps back to the table you've left your marker on.

There is a large range of excellent food; with "chefs" manning some of the serveries cooking in front of you. It can get very busy and the non-queuing manners of a few guests can be annoying - you can tell the foreigners from countries that don't place cricket!

The hotel is located a on a peninsula with several other hotels within a pleasant and well maintained park. There is also a small shopping centre with bars and touristy shops.

Close by is the terminus for the number 6 bus which goes down to the old town - buy your ticket from the hotel shop and save 2 kuna! Catching the bus back can be traumatic - it's those foreigners again who pretend to queue then mob the door of the bus when it arrives. The driver's rule of thumb is that the bus is not full until the doors attempt to amputate random limbs from the last few to get on.

The hotel had switched off the air conditioning, so although you could get the fan on your room's unit to run, it did did nothing to regulate the temperature, so even in September it was too warm at times.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a see view, and the ones on level 1 are too low to see the sea over the shrub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to share your impressions with us.

Although a bit challenging, I'm glad you found our hotel satisfying too.


We hope to welcome you again in Dubrovniki and in Hotel Argosy!

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    278
    103
    24
    5
See reviews for
55
314
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel feels like it is stuck in the 80's. The staff are helpful, but the housecleaning is not up too scratch. Sometimes your drinks aswell as the empty bottles are left from the night before.
I could hear the people in the rooms above through the ventilation unit and the staff are not so quite in the mornings.
The rooms however are quite sizeable, and have a decent size balcony. I do think there are rooms without balcony's though.
The hotel is situated close to the beach and only a 5-10 min drive to the old town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your most recent stay.. We do apologize if you were not impressed with the aesthetics of the room and all with mentioned in your review.
Please know we are currently in the stages of renovation and the rooms will be updated toghether with lobby, and pool area with brand new outdoor pool.
I am very glad you found most of our staff heplfull, and thank you for bringing everthing else to my attention.
We all truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was very much to our liking, in spite of its size and sprawling corridors. We were there end of September and the weather was just perfect which of course added to our good experience. Staff was correct and helfpul to all our needs, giving the right advice without trying to be "overly" nice. The room was facing the sea and this also added to good feeling since the view any time of day or night from the comfortable balcony was delightful (picture attached). Breakfast was plentiful and good. Given the fact that there are so many tourists, this good breakfast service must be remarked. Of course you have to know how to get your own coffee hot bottle and other small details, but travelers with a little bit of experince know all these details. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom too. The path around the hotel near the shore is lovely and it has a few restaurants you can try if you come late back from Dubrovnik and don't want to go back to the old town to eat. We came travelling by car thru the Dalmatian coast and we must reamrk the easy parking and the great bus number 6 that takes you right to the gate of the old city and back. Fantastic not to have to drive into the old city. The price is not cheap compared to other places in Croatia (and in absolute terms also), but all in all very recommendable, especially if you get a sea facing room and travel by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for a great review of Argosy hotel, as we are very happy to read that you had a great time in our hotel and that enjoyed our facilities as well as our services.

We hope to great you again in Argosy and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Best regards from Dubrovnik to Buenos Aires!

Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This sprawling hotel of the 1970's lies on a promontory 5 miles north of Dubrovnik. It has been largely modernised, leaving a spacious reception area and restaurant, but with the possibility of a long walk from reception to bedroom and from bedroom to bar or restaurant. The sunsets are magnificent if you have a room facing the sea for which there is an extra charge. Otherwise the hotel buildings obscure most of the view.The bedrooms are uniformly comfortable with a decent bathroom which includes a bath. Both our breakfasts and dinners were sumptuous with a wide choice at the buffet. Excellent strong coffee was served by staff at breakfast and at dinner the house wine was excellent and cheap. The bedrooms have WiFi and willing technical help from staff if needed.The hotel intends to provide a new swimming pool next year. It was easy to take the number 6 bus which ran every ten minutes into Dubrovnik though some heartier people were walking there and back along a costal track.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and, if you do not want to pay extra for a sea and sunset view, take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this comment and share your experience and I will make sure to share your comments with my staff.
I am glad to hear you liked your stay with us, and especially the magnificent views and wide choice and quality of food in our restaurant.
Hope we will have a chance to have you again in our hotel and your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely site and really good, friendly staff but poor food with a "canteen" feel. Dinner from 7 till 9.30 but unless you arrived early, lots of "nothing!" A 70s hotel which must raise its standards, especially as Croatia's main economy now depends on tourism!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or at least an outside facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. However I am glad you found our staff really good and friendly.
Thank you for your advice and I hope to see you again in our hotel if your travel plans brings you around.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great hotel for the price really good for getting out and about, we went on boat trip from the local beach,
No 6 bus made it so easy to get you to the city Walls. We got boat taxi to Cavat which was wonderful. Would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment posted here on Trip Advisor. It is pleasure to read you had a nice time in our hotel. Our final aim is to have every guest satified as you are.
There is no greater satisfaction to our team than to read that our guests would definitly return.

Many thanks once again for choosing our hotel for your vacation and we are looking forward to host you again.

Best regards,

Josip Konjevod-General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good value hotel and whilst a little out of town, an excellent bus service (no. 6) makes access easy. Food is plentiful with a huge choice, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff pleasant and helpful. Lovely views are available from the hotel grounds.

It would be a pleasure to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Argosy hotel with fellow travelers. It’s always pleasure to read recommendations from our guests.
I am glad the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay in Argosy and I also hope this will encourage you to visit us again soon.

Best wishes from Dubrovnik,
Josip Konjevod-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you in 2014 as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, brand new infinity pool and one more great novelty - wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Argosy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.