We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Argosy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Argosy Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Argosy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Nottingham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Another good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We came to Dubrovnik from Omis, with our group with Riviera Travel, to the Argosy, a large hotel. The area where the hotel is built is on Babin Cuk Peninsula; a 15 min bus ride from the Old town of Dubrovnik. Bus stop for the No. 6 is outside hotel and takes you into town. Very pleased with the room, which had a sea view and balcony which was kept spotlessly clean. Food is buffet style and plentiful, lots of choice and tasty. However it is very touristy, compared with our previous hotel. It is a little old fashioned..but it is Croatia!! We had no trouble with noise.The pool is fairly large,clean and has sun loungers around it. Towels are available with no charge. Short walk to beach and views are stunning. A marvellous spot to see the sunset, and to have breakfast and/or dinner on the terrace. We thought it good value for money when we looked at the tariff (as we were on a touring group holiday). There is a (sterile) sort of shopping mall between this hotel and it's sister hotel with bars, shops, and cafes. Would we recommend it to friends? Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. If you are a light sleeper ask to be away from the lift which started moving about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear guest,

We have had a lot of guests with Riviera Travel this year and I'm glad you were one of them. It's wonderful to hear you loved your stay and found just about everything enjoyable.
I hope this means you'll be thinking of coming back and giving us the pleasure of being your hosts once again.

Until then, take care and best regards from everyone in Argosy hotel!

Belinda L Božanja - Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    270
    100
    24
    5
See reviews for
52
302
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Perhaps built in communist days this hotel is very tired in certain aspects: ground floor decor & carpeting awful and rooms which need a refurb. But decent sized rooms & (after managing to get a change) ours with ground-floor outside terrace with v. good sea views. Air con in the rooms v. good. Good breakfast (egg chef) and slightly better than average half-board buffet dinner (spoilt by the vast canteen-style dining room, but better tables available outside with sea views). Pleasant outside bar terrace & good live music every night. Good pool. Decent service. Major downside: distance to city centre: Bus service (about £5 per couple return) every half hour or so but a real pain betweem 2 & 3 pm - hopelessly crowded & unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for finding the time to write your impressions on Trip advisor. Just to let you know the hotel was built in 1976. and has been fully refurbished a few times until now. The last refurbishment of the rooms and the restaurant was 5 years ago and is planned to be done in the near future again.
Thank you for complementing the food and service and I'm glad you enjoyed the views and the live music every night.
The buses can be crowded at times but they do run every 15 minutes with a very popular price.
Hope overall you found your trip to Dubrovnik interesting but I'm sure there are things you didn't get around seeing, so this will be a reason to visit us again.
All the best from Argosy!

Belinda L. Božanja – Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and I was very impressed. The staff were very friendly and they couldn't do enough to help with anything we needed. The views from the hotel are breath taking and there is a lovely clean beach only a short walk from the hotel. Breakfast Buffett was very nice and so much choice it's hard to decide what to eat. Rooms were clean and even on days when we had a do no disturb on the door because we were lying in, staff came back later once we were awake to service our room. The old town is a short bus ride away from outside the hotel and they run so frequently there was always one outside when we needed it. You don't need the correct change as detailed below in a previous review and the drivers were always happy to point us in the right direction and the cost for mini bar is in the information folder. The pool was nice and clean and very quiet. It was a nice touch that they provided clean towels by pool which is something you would not expect from a three star hotel. Very pleased we decided to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear guests,

I'm so happy you chose Argosy hotel for your holiday and we're all delighted you loved every aspect of it.
Specially I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff, as reviews like this motivate them even more.
Hoping to see you again next year, we wish you all the best from Dubrovnik.
Once again thank you for this terrific review.

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a fabulous holiday at the Argosy in Debrovnik. It is difficult to think it is classified as a 3 star hotel and anyone with a reasonable outlook would have to say the hotel excels in its formal ranking.  As others say it is more like a 4 star. The are few hotels in the old city and none would compare with this for space, comfort and value. It would be incredibly noisy and busy to stay there so far more prefable to stay a few minutes away in peace and space with fantastic scenery.  The buses are great and we used them instead of our rental car as it makes the trip to the Old town so easy.  A single is a few pence over a pound and when you arrive at the old town a booth right by the bus stop sells them about 20 pence cheaper. In fact the cost of parking near the old part far exceeds the bus fares £2 per hour and the hassle of finding a safe space is just not worth it. The journey takes about 10 to 15 mins depending on traffic but the bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you to the front of the wall in the old part.  I didn't expect wifi in my room in a 3 star hotel but was amazed to find it is available in the lobby and is
absolutely free.  I have never stayed in an hotel with friendlier staff and they did everything in their control to make our stay so good.  The pool is clean, large and doesn't smell of chemicals. In fact it reminded us of Disney pools. Large towels are freely
provided. There is also a fantastic beach very close by. It has clear water, jet skis and boats for hire with more bars and other places to eat. The sea is so clear and calm we felt safe rowing out to two nearby Islands. 4 hours of work but absolutely brilliant and perfectly safe for children. No large waves. Just like Greece without the distance. We took a short walk on arrival and found a low level shopping complex. Supermarkets, cafes, places to eat and shops a few minutes from the hotel. We didn't want for anything. The room was great with vey quiet airconditioning tv and a free large room safe. Unlike so many other hotels the Argosy is not cashing on on providing extras. The bath
towels were perfectly good and replaced whenever we placed them near the bath.  For trips try the large shop closest to the hotel entrance. The lady there with a giant personality was so frank and told us exactly what we shouldn't spend money on as well as what we should. The food was unbelievable. Too much for greedy people like us I think we made ourselves ill. They put different things on each night and instead of normal buffet food cooked steaks freshly as well as kebabs on a charcol grill with lots of different dishes. I will Recommend this hotel to all friends and offer them a personal refund if they don't like it. Please
read all the other reviews and accept from me that you will be very unlikely to find a superior
hotel in a better location at this cost.  I rarely return to the same place but would be very much like to explore more of this Fabulous country from this First rate hotel. Friendly and helpful
staff with first rate facilities and fantastic views of the sea.  Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay such a great one.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear guest,

what a lovely morning start ... reading such an inspiring review. Thanks a million for taking the time to go into so many details and pointing out all the major as well as maybe sometimes less important things that nevertheles make a holiday worth it or can easily ruin it.
Anyone reading your review can get a clear picture of what to expect here, as you really covered all aspects in the hotel and outside of it.
Argosy team is sending you a big 'thank you' and hoping to see you here next year as well.
I hope your great comments will make some of your friends visit us and we'll do our best to make them as happy and satisfied as you , so you don't get into the situation of paying them any refunds as you very generously offered.

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

This is a top hotel.  We just got back from a fabulous time this summer 2011.  The facilities are excellent, the staff the most helpful anywhere and the food first rate.  Buffet breakfast and dinner offers not only huge variety but very good quality indeed.  The location is great.  Beaches, shopping and more restaurants and bars very close.  A bus takes you direct to the old town in minutes.  We hired kyacks and explored islands nearby from the beach by the hotel.  All you need from a sun holiday.  I can't praise the staff enough for their unstinting help and friendliness.  I am normally disappointed in hotels and locations but this did not do that.  Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear guests,

it was our pleasure to have you with us and I would like to thank you for choosing Argosy hotel for your holiday being a bit sceptic due to a few non-promising reviews.
Thank you for giving us the chance to prove them wrong.
I can see you made the best of your holidays, enjoying everything in the hotel as well as the beach, the islands, the old town etc.
We hope this will not be your only visit and you'll get the chance to come again soon.
Thank you once again for all the kind words of support.

Best wishes from all of Argosy staff and myself.

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed with my young son for 8 days. It included his 15th birthday and the hotel kindly provided a bottle of champagne! We drank it as bucks fizz (due to his age). The hotel is part of a massive chain who own adjacent hotels on the same peninsula. There are over 300 rooms in the Argosy and it was fully booked during the time we were there.

Plus points - we got a good deal for a twin bedded room through Monarch Holidays in UK although its worth checking the Valmar Hotels website as they profess to match prices from certain other sources. The hotel is a perfectly acceptable 3 star hotel - the staff were extremely friendly and professional and the room was basic but clean. The breakfast (approx £10 each) was included in our rate. The No 6 bus runs every 10 minutes during the day and will get you to the Old Town in less than 15 mins (£1.50 each way). A/C quiet and could only hear muffled sound from adjacent rooms etc.

Downsides: the table tennis and tennis are extra and not actually a part of the Argosy Hotel. In fact the table tennis (£5 for an hour) is paid to a person in an adjacent park using a permanent concrete table !! The pools are small. You have to pay extra for wifi access (only available downstairs in lobby and not rooms) or a computer desk. This was disappointing as my 15 year old needs his computer fix and we ended paying something like £3 per hour wifi access and had to go to the lobby to get it. I always judge the quality of a hotel by size of bath towels - these were postage stamp size (presumably to stop them being taken out of the hotel room and used on the beach or pool side (large towels were available at the pools. Unlike many bespoke hotels no room service for food.

The biggest downside is that the evening buffet costs about £20 each (7pm onwards). Good quality/ quantity but not what we wanted. On a Wednesday there is also the opportunity to partake (with tickets) in a BBQ in an adjacent Valamar hotel. In the immediate locale there is a small shopping centre with some very basic eateries (not very appealling) and a fish restaurant in the adjacent park. The best eateries (pot luck really) are in the Old Town. There are 3 beaches withing walking distance of the hotel (massively over crowded in August). These are close to the main port and according to the Footprint guide etc the quality of the water is not blue flag (at two). We found the best swimming spots on islands accessed by ferries.

Overall a hotel which did exactly what it says on the tin (i.e before we arrived). Front desk staff were excellent. However its not more than a 3 star (as some previous reviewers believe).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear guests,

thank you very much for putting so much effort into your detailled review and for pointing out everything you liked and also the things you found that didn't meet your expectation. Some of the things you saw as our week points we've already been working on for a while, specially the internet access. It's planned to have it free of charge in the lobby area and hopefully not long after that in the rooms as well.
I hope you and your son had a great holiday after all and I hope he had a memorable birthday too.
All the best to you both and hope you get the chance to visit us again.

Regards from Dubrovnik and Argosy !

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the end of a tour in Croatia and we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel since we were told it had only 3 stars.
It is well located, near the end stop of bus number 6 to the old city of Dubrovnik. Runs every 15 minutes. Very convenient.
Room was fine, simple furniture but adequate and comfortable. Clean. Good working Airco. Polite and friendly staff. Restaurant with enough seating. Large buffet, with several islands making fresh food. Good quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babinkuk, General Manager at Valamar Argosy Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Dear guests,

I'm glad you were surprised on the level of quality our hotel offers being only a 3 star. We appreciate it even more knowing this review is coming from someone travelling so frequently as you do.
Hoping to meet you if next time Argosy finds itself on your travelling schedule.

All the best from Dubrovnik.

Belinda L. Božanja - Argosy general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Argosy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Argosy Hotel

Address: Iva Dulcica 140 | Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Argosy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque and peaceful Babin Kuk peninsula, the Valamar Argosy Hotel welcomes you in 2014 as a newly refurbished and upgraded 4* hotel. Its stunning landscaped gardens, stylish rooms, brand new infinity pool and one more great novelty - wellbeing area, all set the scene for an ideal relaxing and romantic getaway. With the old town of Dubrovnik just minutes away and a selection of beaches at your fingertips, you can mix and match the activities you love to create your own unforgettable Croatian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Argosy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Hotel Dubrovnik
Argosy Dubrovnik
Hotel Argosy Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Argosy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.