We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Service in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked the Presidential Suite for a week at the end of July. My husband and two children were certainly wowed by the suite which contained two beautiful bedrooms, guest baths, kitchen, bar, dining room and our own personal sauna room! The quality if the furnishings were very high as was the comfort of the overall suite. It had a huge balcony that simply planted you on top of the Adriatic. Although the room was stunning, it does not surpass the level of service from every member if this hotel! The concierge staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were some if the best in the world! The staff go out if their way to ensure your needs are met as well as your comfort. There are so many examples of how the staff exceeded our expectations that I cannot list them. The grounds are lovely although when you first arrive the hotel, the front entrance will not overall impress. The beauty lies inside and beyond to the rear if the hotel which sits in the Adriatic. There are a family of hotels here with a few restaurants on the premises. The Royal Princess is said to be the finest of them. Although we enjoyed a dinner at one of the restaurants, we mostly ate in the Old Town for lunch and dinner. Breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and varied. The service was outstanding. A true gem on Lapad and in Dubrovnik!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
69
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were upgraded from Hotel Neptune to the Royal Princess, one of four hotels grouped together, sharing management and facilities at Babin Kuk, 4km from Old Town , Dubrovnik. The facilities and service were excellent including the welcome champagne on the deck, multiple pools, restaurant options, gym etc. It is a 15 min bus ride into Dubrovnik - not really a problem if you are looking more for a resort holiday than a bustling town experience. Hint-request a sea view room as the alternative is a service road partially obscured by bushes.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had spent some considerable time choosing this hotel and we required two rooms ideally adjacent to each other on high floors. We did book six months in advance with the hotel but on our arrival this did not materialise. That said we did end up on the same floor (3 rd I think) quite close to each other. We arrived at reception and I think the five of us were a little disappointed with the layout as it did not have the usual 5 star feel.
Our rooms however did, the interiors and view were fantastic. That is where the 5 star rating ended for us unfortunately! On the first day I took my five year old daughter to the children's pool which is shared by the other hotels in the chain. The pool was very crowded, sun loungers were definitely not 5 star and the pool area had a feel of being dirty. So that was it for us going there. There is a small pool at the royal princess with an equally small area that some loungers have been crammed into. The overall feel is quite nice though but there aren't enough. I don't suppose this area was initially intended for children but understandably as it was a fresh water pool, they gravitated towards it and some guests I don't think appreciated that.
I found the idea of having to exchange towel cards for towels and then return them each afternoon inconsistent for a hotel with a 5 star rating and the external doors all required key card access.
Service around the pool was initially none existent ie get your own umbrellas, put them up yourself and collect your own drinks. The umbrella fell onto my wife one day, knocking over several drinks and my wife had to find a member of staff to re order her drinks, no apology for the umbrella and duly presented her with another bill!
Food in the hotel was nice and we ate at both Zoe's and la Castile with both being very nice but devoid of atmosphere hence eating out in the Old town was preferred. We often enjoy a drink in the hotel bar prior to going out/ dining but this was not possible on one occasion with no staff being present culminating in a wait of 15 minutes and then someone who wasn't sure what drinks they had on their drinks list and worst still, had to smell the contents of them prior to delivering them to us. 5 star ?????? That put an end to drinks in the hotel too.
Service did improve after my wife spoke to a lady she met in the lift who turned out to be part of the management team- tatijana who appeared to act on my wife's suggestions. We received excellent service from the maid Gordana, waitress Tonka, waiters Danijel and Mario to name but a few. Would we go back, probably not. We may try the Villamar Dubrovnik President next time as we did have a look around and the service appeared excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Royal Princess for four nights in June. We had an ocean front room on the fourth floor. I think it may have been the most beautiful room in the hotel. The suite included two full bathrooms, a small kitchen, a large sitting area and a balcony. We had considered staying in a sobe in the old town but realized there are none with views of the water so we were very happy with our decision. We spent a lot of mornings and evenings on the balcony. We woke up each morning with a stunning view of the Adriatic. You can buy bus tickets at reception and it is just a short walk up the hill to the bus stop. The busses can get very crowded but it is only a 15 minute ride to the old town. Breakfast was plentiful and filled us up until dinner. The food in Croatia is just ok so we chose dinner places with beautiful views - this hotel has several located on the water. The hotel can arrange airport pickup and drop off so you can get by without a car. We hired a private driver one day to drive us in to Mostar in Bosnia and felt it was the most exotic option for a day trip. We stopped in the beautiful village of Pocitelj and then spent the rest of the day in Mostar. Our driver was Pepo Klaic (pepoklaic@yahoo.com)(recommended in Rick Steves guide) and Pepo did a great job explaining the war and the tensions that still exist in the area today. We saw several mosques, the famous Mostar bridge, and a great town bazar that made us feel like we were in Turkey. (200 Euros - 8 hours).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We originally had booked at the Ariston which is one of a row of three hotels owned by the same management. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to this hotel. From reading other reviews this seems to happen a lot, I guess to keep numbers evenly spread across each hotel/restaurant. We did not complain as the Princess is a fantastic hotel.

The room was spacious, with a living room with two singles for the kids, and a great room with en suite for us. The view from the long balcony was breathtaking. Room was modern, not five star, but clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor and was very good. Usual buffet style, with heaps of choice, and even champagne. Kids loved going up over and over again. Eggs we made to order by the friendly, efficient staff. Only downside are the stray cats that hover around the outdoor tables.

We spent even time around the indoor, outdoor and ocean pools, all were great. Staff throughout the complex were very good.

Location is perfect, right on the rocky coastline, with a private swimming area that you enter by swimming or jumping off the rocks - it's very safe.

We took the local bus to the old town every night which we loved.

All in all a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Insist on sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic stay at the Royal Princess. It's located well away from any hustle and bustle but within easy bus ride (flat rate £1.20 and you can buy tickets at the reception) from the Old Town. Rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. Some prefer the rooms with sea views (which will be spectacular) but be advised that they may be directly above the bar/restaurant, though this is by no means particularly noisy at any time of day or night. Our room faced inland and was very quiet.

The staff are polite, helpful and unobtrusive (as well as hard working). Facilities in the hotel are excellent: great breakfast buffet, decent wifi, nice outdoor sun bathing area and outdoor pool and an in-house spa. All well tended and clean.

The hotel also owns several restaurants and a very rocky demarcated 'beach' area just along the promenade which is meant to be exclusively for guests. This area was pretty lively when we visited and access was not monitored so I suspect a few non-resident interlopers made up the numbers. We ate at a couple of the hotel's own restaurants and, though there are better menus and venues to be enjoyed within a short walk and, of course, within the Old Town, if you want to stay and eat at the hotel then it's perfectly fine and reasonably priced.

If I had to pick fault would be the pool in the spa; this is supposed to be a 'wellness retreat', a place of relaxation and escape...but then parents allowed their children into the spa pool (indeed some parents dumped their kids here while they went to the gym) and the staff did little to prevent this. As I've said, there is a perfectly good pool outside for kids but allowing them into the spa made the indoor pool a complete waste of time for those trying to enjoy the peace and quiet it was intended for.

Other than that it's a solid 4/5 and the bottom line is that I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We occupied Deluxe Suite Balcony Sea View and got very positive impression of the room’s lay-out, equipment and design.
There is really quite suitable apartment for the family which provides 2 rooms, 2 separate bathrooms and kitchen facilities. We got the positive surprise to find in reality exactly the same what we have seen on web site. The balcony connects the both rooms of apartment with armchairs and small table enough for 2 persons.
The main attraction is the real sea view. Hotel situated in 20-30 meters from shoreline ( 10-15 meters of the pines, few meters of the walking alley and 10 meters of SPA and restaurant terrace ).
There is not any sandy beach nearby hotel. However, there are many small terraces on the rock with sufficient number of umbrellas and chaise longue. There are 2 pools with sea water, also. There is two more pools with fresh water inside and outside SPA area. You have to use ladders to go at sea. But, you have chance to enjoy by the really clean Adriatic sea.
The hotel is very clean, well maintained with careful and cooperative staff.
We got a lot of pleasure walking nearby the hotel. There is very nice alley passed from the hotel to the city. There is approx 20 min walking distance above the rocks full of flavor of the sea, flowers and trees. There are a few nice restaurants on this alley with some recreation area in the end of it.
So, Royal Princes is well organized hotel situated in right place.

Room Tip: do not use garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;